We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinho e Noz

Vinho e Noz
Rua Ramalho Ortigao, 12, Evora, Portugal
266747310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in Evora
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food - Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was just lovely. Friendly staff and the food was really good. The steak you can grill yourself. I had rice with cream sauce and prawns. This definately was a treat. Tip: Make a reservation before you go,

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    92
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner, traditional Portuguese fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Overall a very nice experience.

The dinner consisted of traditional Portuguese fare with an old twist and most of the staff was very friendly.

I had the wild boar with chest nuts and my fiancée had the veal on a spit. Both tasty, but did not move the earth for us as other reviewers seem to have had the experience of the food from Vinho e Noz did for them.

Our son of 17 months was welcomed, but he is well behaved considering his age. The Prices are roughly the same as in any other middle fare Portuguese restaurant, but the ambiance is much better and the feel is that of a upper scale restaurant.

Go there and be treated to a treat!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Steak on a stone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had planned on visiting this restaurant based on the reviews here and was pleased that our hotel also recommended it and made our reservations. There are about 20 seats, so during the season reservations are a must. We had a few starters, olives, local melted cheese and breads, then I had the lamb chops and my husband had the steak on a stone. I got a lovely fresh green salad, 6 chops and hand cut fried potatoes. He got fresh fruit, fried potatoes and the steak comes raw on a HOT piece of marble. It cooks at the table and you eat it from the stone or take it off when it is cooked to your preference. We shared a bottle of wine, split a dessert and with coffee the bill was 55 euro. Very good meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lived up to billing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Based on other reviews we were looking forward to dining at this apparent trouvaille, found just outside the walls. Simply put: excellent. Local lamb was very tasty and well prepared. The steak on a stone is awesome. Extensive wine list offers a bewildering selection, so we asked for a recommendation. We were suggested one that was moderately priced and outstanding. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Intimate family restaurant. Mom cooks and son waits tables. Truly awesome food. Some of the best food we had on our travels!
Highlights include linguica appetizer, braised wild boar with chestnuts, and chicken cooked in it's own blood might be the best chicken we have ever had. Desserts were great too.
Really recommend this place

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinho e Noz also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Vinho e Noz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinho e Noz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.