We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestyle Portuguese Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipica Quarta-Feira

Tipica Quarta-Feira
Rua do Inverno 18, Evora 7000-585, Portugal
266707530
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 139 Restaurants in Evora
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rotonda West, FL, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Homestyle Portuguese Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a prix-fixe dinner with the chef's selection served. Breads, cheeses, sausages, olives for starters. Soft, juicy and flavorful black pork roast served with potatoes and vegetables. A mellow local wines served in copious amounts. Several varieties of sweets for dessert, topped off with a marvelous tawny port. Chef, Ze, frequently visited each table to be sure everything was to our satisfaction. A classically Portuguese meal served with all of the warmth and verve that typify the Portuguese. (OK, I admit that I am Portuguese-American, but that also qualifies me as a discerning diner of this cuisine.)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    79
    21
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unbeatable and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

No good for veggies, otherwise definitely highly rated. Family cooking, small restaurant, fixed meal that is served, house wine etc and completely delicious. Best black pork you will find anywhere. Not to mention the cheese and mushroom starters. All for 25 euros per person. Great value for a full night out.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchique, Portugal
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good if you don't mind paying tourist prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The concept of meal with no choice is not unique in Portugal, and the black pork was good, coming in huge portions. The owner was very friendly and is proud of his wine. We just thought it was overpriced compared to what you get in other places in Portugal - even compared to the pricey Algarve. The entire experience was average, and you pay a premium for being in a touristy place such as Evora.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Fun experience if you go with the flow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Trip we were well prepared for our evening at this restaurant. The food was good, particularly the black pork, meltingly slow-cooked. We also enjoyed the starters and pudding. The concept of a one-price dinner with no choice is great. I think the owner likes to pretend you have to finish everything, but he eased off after the starters. Still feeling very full!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The fix was in. No choices to be made. Dinner price (25 euros pp) wine, appetizer, entree, desert and port selected by the owner. It is justifiably renowned for the black pork entree. Owner/chef was a delight, posing with us for pictures.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipica Quarta-Feira also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Tipica Quarta-Feira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipica Quarta-Feira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.