We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and fun Alentejo food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Almedina

Restaurante Almedina
Travessa de Santa Marta 5, Evora, Portugal (Formerly Restaurante Taverna)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 149 Restaurants in Evora
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun Alentejo food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent local dishes with a flair. I never knew Portuguese food would be so good (this is our first trip to Portugal).Casual, comfortable, warm and enjoyable atmosphere. The owners Armando and Joana take great pride in their establishment. Armando speaks fluent English and is a great and welcoming host. Take the dinner recommendations of the waitstaff. Try the house wine, the local custard cake (Toucinho do Ceu I think) and definitely try the Gypsy Cake- chocolatey and good. We tried the lamb dish and a pork dish. Yumm. We were very pleased with everything-service, fresh food, price and wine. We enjoyed our conversation with with Armando and hope to return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food and service!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We had diner here in octobre. It was very good!!!! We had the lamb and pork with tomatobread. As dessert the waitress (probably the owner) showed us various tradional homemade cakes. They smelled all delicious! The one we chooses tasted also delicious. Service was very friendly. In conclusion it was a great dinner experience, wich you have to try when you're in Evora!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty, filling food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Although it took us two tries to find this restaurant, it was worth it. At first, the menu was confusing, with some soup-like dishes costing €9 or so but the very helpful waitress explained that there were main courses; we could split one if we liked but one was too big for one person's starter. (Always nice to be stopped from over-ordering in a restaurant, I think - profits aren't everything). We asked her for a recommendation and both of us ended up getting variations of lamb, one a stew and the other a roast lamb on fried potatoes. Both were delicious and filling and, with the bread cheese and olives to start, we were very replete after the meal. We asked the waitress if there was a local digestif we could try and she obliged, producing a luminous yellow liqueur made from water mint, the name I can't remember but it was very nice indeed. There were a few tables in there when we arrived and there only seemed to be one cook and one waitress, so they were busy but the service was very good. Also liked the location away from the main tourist-trap square in Evora, where I suspect one might be overcharged for worse food! Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, simple and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Nice restaurant that we choose from recommendation.
Simple traditional but good food. We had the Bacalhau Divino which was very nice and the best Bacalhau dish we have ever tasted. The local white wine was simple but nice to the Bacalhau
The service was good but not great. You have to remember that this is a simple local restaurant.
We normally eat at better restaurants when in Evora (Luar d'Janeiro being our favourite) but it is nice to sometimes skip the heavy black pork meat and the nice red wines and clean the palate with something lighter.
We wil be back the next time we are in Evora.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Simple, but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Friendly service, good english, slightly difficult to find location. Good food, fish & meat, housewine just fine, good prices. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Almedina also viewed

Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Restaurante Almedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Almedina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.