We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Save
You added Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea to your Saves list
Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Witless Bay B&B and Inns
Renews, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Welcome and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Elaine's B&B is a great place: a very warm welcome when you arrive, a very clean and cozy bedroom and a fantastic location right on the shore of Witless Bay. And if you want to go whale watching, this is the place because Elaine's husband runs a whale watching business just a few minutes walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Elaine's is a pristine home in a stunning location with expansive views of the bay from nearly every part of the house. We saw tonnes of whales from our room at all times of the day. There is a beautiful seating area on the lawn overlooking the bay, where we met several passers-by who wished they were staying there! Breakfast is excellent, and Bosco the dog provides entertaining companionship. The zodiac tour, even though it was more costly than advertised, was a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the money. It is worth the trip to Witless Bay just to stay at Elaine's.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a beautiful view of the bay from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Newfoundland, and staying at Elain's was a really good choice. She and Danny are warm, inviting and most informative. The place was spotless, the food was wonderful, the vew is spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Thanks Elaine and Danny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, VT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

During our recent 2 week visit to NL we had the pleasure of staying at Elaine's B&B. This lodging was absolutely the best B&B we stayed on the whole trip. The home is beautiful, the water views are great, the breakfast was top notch and Elaine's hospitality was warm and welcoming. In short, we'd return in a heartbeat if our travels took us in the Witless Bay area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room upstairs which is a little more isolated and quiet and would again although al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose Elaine's after finding it on Trip Advisor, so thought we'd add to the glowing reviews on this site to help others decide. Keeping it short...

- Breakfast - fantastic. Delicious bacon, home made blueberry muffins, and an amazing view looking out to sea, whale spotting with the other guests.
- Room - light, spacious, the most comfortable bed and again the most amazing views. We spotted humpback and minke whales every morning and evening of our stay.
- Hospitality - Elaine was a lovely, genuine host - even at 6 in the morning when my wife headed down to make tea! Overall, very relaxed and informal.
- Location - incredibly quiet, and simply the best views from any B and B we've ever stayed in.

There aren't too many local restaurants. The Captain's Table (not mentioned on Trip Advisor) is just down the road, and pretty good. The Irish Loop down in Ferryland to be avoided. Finally, the zodiac trip, which can be booked by Elaine, is well worth the money. A bit more expensive than your usual boat trip, but a lot more fun! And you're pretty much guaranteed to get up close and personal with the humpbacks.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the most fantastic views. We just sat and stared out to sea, spotting Humpbacks and Minke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molena, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Elaine's B anb B is in a perfect location for seeing the sites, is in a gorgeous setting on Witless Bay, the home is neat, clean, well-organized, and beautiful, the food is good and most importantly, Danny and Elaine are perfect host and hostess! They are warm, welcoming, friendly, and eager to help in every way possible. We stayed five nights with them, and we look forward to seeing them again. Most definitely we would stay at Elaine's B and B again.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, and the view was gorgeous. All the rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The setting of Elaines's B&B is truely stunning - right on the waterfront with far reaching views out to the Witless Wildlife Reserve Islands.
Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the roaring fire in the Lounge very welcome after a day out attempting to sightsee in the dense fog and cold weather conditions!!
The breakfast was superb and Elaine made us feel welcome and at ease instantly.
A superb place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

Address: Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Witless Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed And Breakfast By The Sea Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.