We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay with wonderful Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Save
You added Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea to your Saves list
Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Witless Bay B&B and Inns
BERMUDA
1 review
“Outstanding Stay with wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed with Elaine & Danny in August 2012 for 4 nights travelling as 2 couples. Our experience was second to none in Newfoundland. We stayed in 10 other places in our month travels around the eastern part of the province so we can honestly attest to the fact that this was one of the very best. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless; the communal areas were welcoming and comfortable for chatting with others, checking e-mail or relaxing. The breakfast was great too. Our hosts and their house-helper Cheryl were so friendly, welcoming and helpful as were the younger members of their family! We would highly recommend this place to anyone. The views are stunning and the property beautifully maintained. The Zodiac Tour was also well worth the trip and the reason for taking a Zodiac is so the viewers can appreciate the bird colonies at a much closer range than if one used O'Briens!! Hope to be back some day. Thanks for all you did for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Elaine has created a perfect getaway in beautiful Witless Bay. From the homemade blueberry muffins and bakeapple jam (eggs cooked as we requested) in her gorgeous breakfast room overlooking the bay, to the clean, cozy rooms, we loved this place. Elaine made us feel comfortable and even prepared a large fire for us in her backyard firepit, so we could sit and relax. We stayed here on our first night in nfld and it was a lovely introduction to the newfie hospitality. We´ve stayed at many B&Bs before and my boyfriend has never really liked them.... but he loved staying here, which says a lot !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munfordville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This bed and breakfast is wonderful. It is located on Witless Bay. The view from our bedroom was wonderful. There is a separate sitting room for guests and the views there are grand too. Elaine and Danny are friendly and accommodating. There was a coffee/tea machine for anytime use.
Elaine served a hearty and delicious breakfast each morning. She fixed us an early breakfast on the day we left for the airport.
You can enjoy the lounge chairs on the lawn if you choose.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Never felt at home at Elaine's B and B. On arrival we were shown to our room and wished to relax there but the heat in the room was unbearable. No ceiling fan or portable fan to cool the room down. It was a hot week and any other B and B we visited that week offered us cold bottled water immediately on our arrival. The individual greeting us was preoccupied with watching TV , not taking the time to make us feel at home or suggesting to us what the area might have to offer. There was no outside lock on the door to our room so that we could lock our room when we left . After spending the following day travelling around we returned and found the bed not made up, no fresh towels for the following morning and then were greeted with a cold shower the next day. Breakfast and a decent view were the only saving factors that salvaged our two day stay there. Two many rooms in this house and noise from the kitchen was distracting. Left disapppointed and not impressed at all !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Elaine's B&B was the highlight of our trip. Beautiful accommodations with views of the ocean. Very quiet. Huge breakfasts. Warm and inviting hosts. Clean rooms and cozy beds. Huge home all with views of the ocean. Muffins at breakfast were to die for. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This B&B offers 5 beautiful rooms, very clean, private baths, all wih views of the ocean. The sitting room, TV room, and breakfast room all have large windows with gorgeous views of the ocean. Just in front, they've set up chairs where you can lounge by the sea with a glass of wine, or by the fire. It's 5 minutes away from the boat tours to view the puffin colony and whale watching. Only about 30 min south of St. John's. Elaine's breakfast was the best we've seen: fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins, country eggs with bacon or ham, toast, coffee and juice. Everything fresh and delicious! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Elaine's Bed and Breakfast was the hightlight of our trip.
Our room was spotless and the bed so comfortable and very well appointed (at least til my husband broke the matching soap dish to the shower curtain) Elaine was more then gracious about this. Thank you Elaine.
Huge windows for a big ocean view.
Elaine will help with any itinerary planning you may need.
She is welcoming with a warm and friendly personality which is very important when you are staying a one's private home.
Lots of variety for breakfast including, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade muffins, eggs (any style),toast, bacon,coffee, plenty of teas, juice. Does anyone eat this much at home?
Very centrally located for day trips.
Hope to return.
Thank you Elaine. Hugs.

Room Tip: All rooms a more then well appointed, all with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

Address: Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Witless Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed And Breakfast By The Sea Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.