We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de D. Diniz, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Estremoz
Haymarket, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was one of three Pousadas my wife and I stayed in during our recent two-week trip through Portugal. I had debated on whether or not to stay in this property or the pousada in Evora, but decided on this one because it seemed more of a unique experience. After touring both properties, I believe we made the correct decision. The pousada was very beautiful, as advertised, rich with "museum quality" relics throughout the property. The staff was expectional and the accomodations were very comfortable. There is not much to see in Estremoz itself, however, but the relatively close proximity to Evora (~45 minutes) made the latter a very enjoyable daytrip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the best of the five pousadas we enjoyed. Impressive interior furnishings, soaring ceilings, art, and more to make you feel like you are in a palace, which you are. Nice room. But beds in all the Pousadas seemed hard to us.

Dining room is gigantic but nearly empty. I told my lady of 50 years that I rented the entire room for her! It was our anniversary. Good food, expertly served. Not cheap, but considering that the substantial taxes are already included in the menu price and that service tips are generally 5 to 10%, I think the bottom line total is about equal to what we would pay in USA for fine dining, maybe less.

Parking was right at the door. Village right there, inside the ancient walls.

Don't hesitate to drive a rental car in Portugal. GPS is essential in Lisbon, but signage is quite good in the country. Also, pay for the automated toll payment system for your rental car. Country roads are very good and scenery is beautiful. Traffic is sane and very light outside of the greater Lisbon area. We stayed off the Autostrada (toll roads) as much as we could. We drove about 500 miles in five days, staying at a different Pousada each night. I recommend that if you like to travel on your own pace and don't mind the adventure of finding your way. A capable map reader/navigator in the right seat is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in February so it was very quiet. The staff was excellent and the room was very comfortable, we stayed in a suite. Great view from the bedroom window. We had dinner in the restaurant and the two waiters did an excellent job on service. Breakfast wasn't anything special. The quiche was ice cold and the girls working weren't really friendly. The fruits were really low and we really couldn't get their attention to ask if they would bring some more out. But that doesn't change my rating on excellent, it was a special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent service from the staff and were very helpful with any questions. Great price at 65 euros/nt with breakfast and I think it was an upgraded room with a city view. The 18th century furnishings were interesting although a bit on the dark side - both literally and subject wise.

The room was nicely done and of good size. A nice view was to be had but the dogs barking just below were quite a nuisance as it went on from 5p to check-out. I know this isn't the pousada's fault but certainly Estremoz could have a quiet law or something to promote a little peace. Although, with all the dog poop in the sidewalks, it appears the citizens aren't too concerned about their neighbors.

I thought the city was fair with limited activities and sites but worth some time to visit.

Given the noise distraction, I'd pass on a return but it is a nice place.

Room Tip: Inside room if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful castle with great history. The rooms are well appointed and the dining room is equally sumptuous. The town of Estromoz is delightful to explore as well. Treat yourselves to a once in a life time experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estremoz
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I got a reservation in Pousada Estremoz for 3 nights through easytobook.com. Actually, when I tried to reserve a room directly in the Pousada it was fully booked, so I took that offer thinking it was a special deal with the agency. The morning before our arrival I received a phone call from someone of a travel agency with the news that our reservation had been cancelled, but they offered me a better acommodation in a 5 star hotel in the area. Obviously, they never had that room reserved.

This is one of the worst experiences that I've had with a travel agency, so my recomendation is never to use easytobook.com

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ille-sur-Têt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After staying at Pousada Santa Maria do Marvão, in Marvão, near the Spanish border, a lovely place and lovely small town, where we had the help of Senhor José, a extremely nice gentleman, we departed to Estremoz. it is the fourth time we stayed there and it is always a pleasure to be in such a wonderful place. The service, the antiquities an the cozyness of this old mediaval castle are fantastic. Also it is woth going to São Rosas restaurant, the best in town, just around the corner.
To end our trip, we also stayed at Nossa Senhora da Assunção, in Arraiolos, a most fantastic Pousada de Portugal, extremely well designed an converted into a wonderful modern place. Do not forget to take a look at the Baroque chapel, its tiles and wood carvings are extremelly wonderful and fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Address: Largo de D. Diniz, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Estremoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada of Estremoz is situated in a privileged place, as is the Castle Estremoz. It is an authentic museum which has a range of antic furniture, wall tapestries, iron decorative pieces and porcelain from other times. D. Dinis ordered the construction of this building for his wife the queen Santa Isabel, which has given its name to the Pousada. Placed in the old city, this was the stage of battles, love and treason. This luxury hotel in Estremoz offers from its gardens and pool, a magnificent panoramic view of Estremoz and the Alentejo plain. Guests can enjoy a glass of regional wine in the castle's spacious dining room or enjoy a game of pool in the Pousada de Estremoz' games room. Nearby activities include fishing, guided countryside treks and bicycle rides. The Pousada de Estremoz has free local parking, at 1.2 Km from the Estremoz railway station and 17.3 Km from the Evora Monte Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel Hotel Estremoz
Pousada De Hotel Estremoz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.