We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de D. Diniz, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Estremoz
Ille-sur-Têt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After staying at Pousada Santa Maria do Marvão, in Marvão, near the Spanish border, a lovely place and lovely small town, where we had the help of Senhor José, a extremely nice gentleman, we departed to Estremoz. it is the fourth time we stayed there and it is always a pleasure to be in such a wonderful place. The service, the antiquities an the cozyness of this old mediaval castle are fantastic. Also it is woth going to São Rosas restaurant, the best in town, just around the corner.
To end our trip, we also stayed at Nossa Senhora da Assunção, in Arraiolos, a most fantastic Pousada de Portugal, extremely well designed an converted into a wonderful modern place. Do not forget to take a look at the Baroque chapel, its tiles and wood carvings are extremelly wonderful and fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just happened upon this Pousada while we were travelling by car . The expense was not in our budget, but we decided that sleeping in a castle with such a rich history could not be passed up!
We even went up to the top of the tower at midnight in case any of the residents who lost their lives there showed up! Allw e saw were the brilliant stars and the warm breeze blowing over portugal.
The staff were very good, polite and friendly to help with anything. Breakfast which was included was an excellent buffet. The town was fun to walk around and explore little side streets and little cafes eveywhere were a pleasure, even with our limited portuguese, smiles go a long way!
A place not to miss!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Pousada for two nights in early October and staying in the castle was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Perched atop a small town in the Alentejo, the Pousada is an impressive sight, especially at night. When we walked through the corridors and explored the grounds it felt like we had been transported back in time. Make sure you climb up the old tower and ask to see the private chapel.

Make sure you get directions from the hotel before driving into town! We did not and relied on our GPS for directions, which resulted in some very challenging driving through narrow cobblestone roads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time to Portugal and our first time in a Pousada, and it did not disappoint. We attempted to find the hotel using our GPS, but the coordinates that were set for it did not coincide with its actual location. Once we checked the confirmation, we found it with no difficulty once we followed the signs for the castillo. We splurged for a superior room and loved the view from our elongated windows overlooking the pool terrace and the quiet surrondings of town and the region. One evening had fog roll into the town and blanket the region, which added to the ambiance and sense of mystique. Though the hallways on the second floor had a slightly musty, carpet freshener smell, our room itself was impeccably clean with furnishings that oozed character. The hotel staff were courteous and attentive when we posed questions to them, and called one of the nearby adegas (Seis Reis) for us to arrange our own private wine tour one afternoon. It is well worth to climb the tower steps for a superlative view of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Maravilhoso. Wonderful stay. Nice atmosphere and well kept castle. Stayed um the special suite and it was nice. The people are friendly and i have no observation to make as we were very well treated. To go back for another stay soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Pousada is a wonderful palace, with many antiques, lovely furnishings and is full of character. There is even a castle tower that you can climb to the top for excellent views of the town and further afield – we did this before breakfast which was a lovely way to start the day! The reception staff were efficient, thoughtful and friendly. The dining room was impressive and we enjoyed our breakfast sitting in very regal surroundings. The pool is located within the castle walls and it is fun swimming while looking at the battlements. The only negative was our bathroom which was looking a little tired. The pousada is within short walking distance of the town (downhill) and there is a good selection of reasonably priced restaurants to choose from. Overall an excellent place to stay within easy reach of many attractions, including crossing into Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as some rooms look onto an internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were on the mood to repeat last year’s excellent experience in Vila Viçosa. So we went to try a new pousada, in a nearby town.

Estremoz is a charming and typical sunny Alentejo city. With lots of places to have really great meals. (see my other reviews) Specially if you love egg deserts.

The Pousada is located inside the historical castle, on the top of the hill, with a magnificent view to the city and Alentejo plains. We enjoyed very much our stay, despite 1 or 2 small details, like:

I found the decorations a bit to royal for my taste, specially the dinning room. But the rooms were ok, except for that hard selling technique of the 26EUR Wine bottle. I don’t expect this from the Pousadas of Portugal.

Alentejo is known for its slow passed philosophy, but waiting almost one hour for a club sandwich and a burger by the pool, (and there wasn’t anybody else) was a bit too much and made us regret not going into the city for a bite.

Breakfast was kinda old-fashioned too. If you know what I mean.

But, a big applause for the Free wifi in the lobby. And the nice pool too.

If you’re passing by and you love a wonderful piece of Portuguese history, come and meet Raínha D. Isabel and it’s roses tale.

Room Tip: Room 203 was comfy but had some noise from the kitchen ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Address: Largo de D. Diniz, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Estremoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada of Estremoz is situated in a privileged place, as is the Castle Estremoz. It is an authentic museum which has a range of antic furniture, wall tapestries, iron decorative pieces and porcelain from other times. D. Dinis ordered the construction of this building for his wife the queen Santa Isabel, which has given its name to the Pousada. Placed in the old city, this was the stage of battles, love and treason. This luxury hotel in Estremoz offers from its gardens and pool, a magnificent panoramic view of Estremoz and the Alentejo plain. Guests can enjoy a glass of regional wine in the castle's spacious dining room or enjoy a game of pool in the Pousada de Estremoz' games room. Nearby activities include fishing, guided countryside treks and bicycle rides. The Pousada de Estremoz has free local parking, at 1.2 Km from the Estremoz railway station and 17.3 Km from the Evora Monte Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel Hotel Estremoz
Pousada De Hotel Estremoz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.