We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decently priced ok restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom Luis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dom Luis to your Saves list
Hotel Dom Luis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de Badajoz s/n, Elvas 7350 903, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Elvas
Lisbon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Decently priced ok restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Rooms are a bit dated but can have a nice view to aqueduct. No wifi in rooms. We were just two people but there was a third bed assembled in the middle of the room. The breakfast was good and the room nice. The hotel has a swimming pool and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    18
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This was always going to be a bit of a gamble; thought Elvas would be an interesting, un-touristy sort of place. Actually it was more than expected. OK, so it's a 3 star, there is no minibar fridge, no wifi. But despite a lot of re-development work going on in the first floor (which was boarded up and a lot of pneumatic drills being used during the day) at night it was peaceful. There is a school nearby, so a bit of noise and the school bells marking the end of classes seemed to go on quite late. Bed comfortable, breakfast OK and lots of it. They also have a swimming pool which they seemed to take great care over hoseing it down regularly despite the heavy rainfall... Car parked adjacent to the hotel which was free. Nice staff who will happily provide a map of the city and point out the local hostelery. Price wise, really excellent value.

Room Tip: Have a room on the floor that isn't being re-developed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Dom Luis as it is very convenient for the birder to Spain. It is in the beautiful town of Elvas and faces the aqueduct. The room was very basic but the beds were comfortable although the bedding was tired.the bathroom which at first glance looked nice was a nightmare as using either the wash hand basin or the shower resulted in the floor flooding and water spilling out into the bedroom, because the plumbing is so poorly aligned.
The room had a nice view of the aqueduct and the hotel was quiet. The staff were helpful.
The breakfast was really poor mainly due to poor quality food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the aquaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have nothing but praise for this little hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great and the included breakfast perfectly acceptable for the price we paid. The pool was fine for a hotel of this size.It was well situated, being 10 minutes walk from the centre. It is a bit of a struggle up the hill for the less fit but a taxi cost only €3.25.The restaurant they recommended for the evening was great and I will review that separately. The were some reform works going on but they seemed to have screened this off ok although they could have vacuumed the dust on the stairs. Wifi only in reception which is disappointing these days but it did function ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Dom Luis Hotel is a place to stay if you are on a budget and only staying one or two nights. It appeared clean, the reception staff could have been a little more friendly but were certainly not unpleasant. They directed me to the Tif-Taf restaurant down the road for a meal - it was appalling. They couldn't speak English, my wife ordered fish and got a tough half cooked steak - don't go there for more than a drink.
The room was a good size, make sure you ask for a room looking out on the aqueduct which is spectacular. The bus back to Elvas stops outside the hotel - the staff could have told me that rather than order me a taxi to the bus terminal! The dining room was good as was the breakfast - but it is what it is!

Room Tip: View of aqueduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester U.K
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first night crossing over from Spain into Portugal and this hotel was a stopover on the way to the Algarve. It was clean and comfortable. The pool area was a nice surprise and the setting was great. It is well placed for the old town and the views of the Roman aqueduct at night are gorgeous.
However, the lady on the desk was rude. I booked all of our stopovers en-route, once we liked the look of a place or got tired of driving. We arrived in Elvas at 2:00pm having just booked through Booking.com. The receptionist/manager seemed very put out that we had not booked with direct with the hotel and made a point of the 'special price' we had paid. She recorded both of our passports and swiped my credit card ' for security'. She then told us we were too early to check in -the cleaner saw what was happening and intervened telling us that a room was ready.
Other than this it was a decent stopover

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This Modern hotel is well situated just outside the old city walls. It overlooks the aqueduct and within walking distance (uphill) to the centre. The hotel has good accommodation, a swimming pool and serves a decent breakfast. Overall a good place to stay when visiting Elvas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dom Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Luis

Address: Av. de Badajoz s/n, Elvas 7350 903, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Elvas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Elvas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dom Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dom Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dom Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.