We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco to your Saves list
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7801-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Vienna
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The building alone is worth the visit: if this would not be a hotel, one would pay for the entrance!
Perfect historic atmosphere matches with very friendly service, a good restaurant (try the local black porc!), beautyful, quiet rooms and a charming garden.
A must!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
86
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the pousada on a 'Golden Oldies' rate, which made our superior room fairly affordable. It was large and very well equipped, although the seating area was a bit cold and did not have enough light for reading. A lovely huge bathroom. Comfortable, huge beds.
The building is lovely, as with many Portuguese pousadas, but must be a nightmare to heat. Our room was warm but the public spaces were quite chilly.
Breakfast was a large buffet spread and on the second morning (Monday) there were hardly any guests, so the cooked food was being done to order, which was definitely an improvement over the ham and scrambled eggs on offer the first morning.
WiFi was available in the bar but not in any other public areas that we could find and we had quite a lot of trouble connecting - but that may be because we were using Nexuses, not iPads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Algarve
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for Valentines night on a package. Check in was smooth and friendly, room was spacious and extremely clean. The bed had been decorated with rose petals, sparkling wine and strawberries had been provided which was a great touch. Bathroom was well supplied with toiletries and hot water. There is a minibar and a room safe. Although the building was quite chilly the room was adequately heated and provided with shutters to keep out the light/noise from the street. I had expected a lot of street noise as there were roadworks (did not start again until 7.30am) and a Police Station right across the way. However there was none and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Wifi is provided in the rooms at an extortionate 18 euros a day which is a joke.

The restaurant provided a lovely dinner in a baronial hall and breakfast was good. Thankfully they had abandoned the usual hot breakfast under lights for one cooked to order and this was very nice. The croissants, cereals, juices etc were help yourself and plentiful. The waiter brought the coffee or tea to order. As usual with Pousadas they were very understaffed but also they were under occupied with guests. Hopefully more staff are on hand if it gets busy.

Beja is quite a pleasant town and a bonus was a chocolate fair which was being held in the main square.. The castle is worth a visit, but the nearby cathedral was closed and info on opening hours varied from who you asked.

Overall I would highly recommend this pousada, but Beja only for a night or two at the most.

Room Tip: Paying for a room upgrade gives you a much bigger room but no other noticeables benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for a few days in early january 2013 at this pousada. We have stayed a few times at Pousadas before and enjoy the combination of tranquility, history that goes with such places , quality of services and hospitality of staff . Pousada de Beja was no exception ! As you can expect at that time of the year we were one of the few guests and not all services were yet "turned" on like for example the buffet breakfast, but staff more than made up for this with their service and creativity ! Limited availability of wireless Internet has been mentoned by guests before and still is an area in need of attention by management. As is may be the heating which worked well in the room but the remainder of the building was quite chilly - however for such a majestic building is also to be expected. All in all our stay fully lived up to our expectations !!

Room Tip: The Suite isn't that much more expensive but offers a wealth of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here in Aug, 2012. It is a great place to stay & explore the old town on foot. It is an old, beautiful building. The rooms are lovely. The breakfast was wonderful. We ate at the Pousada's restaurant in the evening and had a very nice dinner. I've attached some photos of the room and the gardens. Wifi is available in designated lounge areas in the Pousada. It is a unique place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a marvelous stay in Pousada de Beja recently. Before the trip, we felt pretty excited about staying in such a historical building - a 13th c. convent! And once we arrived there we were not disappointed at all. The building is magnificient and invites the guest (or shouldI say the visitor) to walk around and dive into history. I would say that you actually forget that you are in a hotel (which is always a good thing when travelling) and feel more like you are exploring an interesting place full of pleasant spots and art pieces. We even went up the bell tower to enjoy the old city and plateau views. Then you remember that you are actually in a hotel and the rooms, customer service and breakfast were also clearly of very high standards. I had to use internet and had to take my laptop to common areas, but even that was a straightforward and probably my partner appreciated me not using the laptop in the room anyway. All in all, I found the Pousada highly recommendable, and a good combination with a nice drive around that beautiful area in Portugal which is the Baixo Alentejo.

Room Tip: Our room had an archway which was a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talloires
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was wonderful to stay in this beautifully converted and historic 13th century Franciscan convent. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable,and quiet and overlooked the gardens and pool. The breakfast and dinner were excellent, and the location is right in the centre of Beja with plenty of secure parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Address: Largo D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7801-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.