We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting & excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco to your Saves list
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7801-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Malaga, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing setting & excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a marvelous stay in Pousada de Beja recently. Before the trip, we felt pretty excited about staying in such a historical building - a 13th c. convent! And once we arrived there we were not disappointed at all. The building is magnificient and invites the guest (or shouldI say the visitor) to walk around and dive into history. I would say that you actually forget that you are in a hotel (which is always a good thing when travelling) and feel more like you are exploring an interesting place full of pleasant spots and art pieces. We even went up the bell tower to enjoy the old city and plateau views. Then you remember that you are actually in a hotel and the rooms, customer service and breakfast were also clearly of very high standards. I had to use internet and had to take my laptop to common areas, but even that was a straightforward and probably my partner appreciated me not using the laptop in the room anyway. All in all, I found the Pousada highly recommendable, and a good combination with a nice drive around that beautiful area in Portugal which is the Baixo Alentejo.

Room Tip: Our room had an archway which was a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
85
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
talloires
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was wonderful to stay in this beautifully converted and historic 13th century Franciscan convent. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable,and quiet and overlooked the gardens and pool. The breakfast and dinner were excellent, and the location is right in the centre of Beja with plenty of secure parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having over the years stayed in most (if not ALL!!) of the "historic" Paradors in Spain and either stayed or taken a meal in several of the "historic" Pousadas in Portugal, one has a fairly good vantage point from which to judge this Pousada.

All in all, given the parameters of the Parador/Pousada experience one has had, I would judge the Pousada de Beja to be fairly "on top of things". Staff here we found to be not only polite and etc., etc., but those with whom we interacted were kindly, friendly and intelligently "on the ball", as it were!

We had a "superior" garden/pool-view room (107) for three nights, which was kept spotless, being re-made AFTER we had gone out each day (AND, I found that whoever made up the room had even kindly washed out and nicely re-arranged the mugs I had brought from home ---I had, as I always do, brought along my own kettle, mugs and coffee supplies, these only sporadically being supplied even in 4 and 5* establishments---). Toiletries were GENEROUSLY re-supplied each day.

Breakfasts were on a par with all other "Pousada breakfasts": good queijo fresco, good presumpto ham, etc. , delicious fresh fruit, bacon/scrambled eggs in one of those "silver" heated things, juices/cereals etc., the usual selection of freshly-made local cakes/pastries, etc. and truely deliciious (and fresh!!) crusty breads. Breakfast is served at the "garden end" of the Monk's refectory/ dining hall (with convenient doors through which to "escape" for a cigarette and with one's coffee to poolside tables if it is not raining--but there is no awning if it is raining and smokers need to bring an umbrella with them if it is).

This Pousada has the usual complement of "architecturally -interesting/ important" and "monumental" rooms for which one chooses to stay in a Pousada or Parador and the grounds are charming. The swimming pool is vast (with an intelligently-planned and safe children's pool area) and they have thoughtfully incorportated a quite nice children's play area into the garden, too.

p.s. We stayed here in early November, and, although I do not know much about ant bahaviour vis-a-vis the different seasons, the Pousada seems to have eradicated their former "black ant issues" , as the only black ants to be seen here on this occasion were definitely OUTSIDE of the building!! My only quibble is that, in these (for me, bleak!) days of "non-smoking political correctness", I dearly wished that someone had erected an AWNING of some sort over one of the doors to the garden so that ( in extremis) one hadn't needed to carry about a large umbrella with one all the time! Also, as my husband and I have now become oldies (or as the kind receptionist at the Pousada put it , "Not Old, but rather, Gold!"), combining the Pousada's "early booking" plus their "Golden Age" discounts made a lovely stay here VERY AFFORDABLE and great value!!

In re: Beja--there is far MORE of interest in the town than many tourists seem to realize! Besides the wonderfullly-interesting Dona Leonor Regional Museum in the Convent of Nossa Senhora da Conceicao, there is a brilliant archaeological dig presenting pre-historic and Roman ruins under a glass floor in a purpose-build muceum next to the Theatre Pax-Julia and several churches have brilliant 17th-18th azulejos (tiles) and etc. etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in a superior room, a nice room at the end of a corridor. In a superior room one expects two armchairs, but there was only one.
The building is beautiful.
A part of the pastries/coffee rolls/buns at the breakfast buffet was not fresh
The staff is friendly, the receptionist Luisa did her best and was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beja was by far the most difficult town we had to navigate and we got lost several times finding this pousada, but it was worth it! Very beautiful building and grounds, great breakfast, peaceful and calming respite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Outstanding service from the moment we arrived. Lovely rooms, first class food. So peaceful we were amazed to find the hotel was full. The the town and area is also peaceful, try the local food and wine. We will return.

Room Tip: Overlooking gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was a delightful experience staying in this Franciscan convent. Just wandering around such a magnificent building was a real pleasure. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and overlooked the gardens and pool. The bathroom was very large and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and as the weather was warm we were able to sit outside. The swimming pool was good for all ages with plenty of shade and there was a children’s playground. The car park was secure with the entrance at the side. Beja is a small town and the Pousada is at the edge of the old town which means restaurants and shops are very nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Address: Largo D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7801-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.