We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baxters Home Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baxters Home Farm
Next to M90 j4, Kelty, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Kelty
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Situated on the B914, just next to junction 4 of the M90.Postcode: KY4 0JR
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Familiar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Yes drove bye this place many times up or down motorway but very familiar with baxter name and their famous soups since i was a boy which was not yesterday,so not much doing last sunday we decided to pop up and give it a go as we had said evertime we past cut-off yes like others looks like back of a farm on arrival but car park had cars there even on not so nice day. Two members of staff in archway greeted us with friendly hello good start we decided to tour shop first before bite to eat nice laid out shop cafe ideally suited to disabled our able bodied through out more friendly staff but not intrusive,christmas stuff food and household items all good value and quality so very nice after some things purchased a bit of lite lunch was needed so out and over courtyard clean and ideally laid out for farm yard.Barn like food halls yeh being a farm you guessed your in a former barn very clean and tidy and spaced out food had home cooked taste and home baking as you would expect also disabled fiendly and suit all ages outside seating for better weather and some animals to see all in all nice place friendly staffed promised another visit for some more christmas goodie's good few hours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    5
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

At the invitation of the new manager after registering a pretty negative review, we visited for afternoon tea, which was sumptuous, and was served efficiently by friendly and helpful staff. The whole place has a far more welcoming feel, and much less of a run down appearance than it had last time. Definitely moving in right direction and will try it again in the hope that improvement trend continues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dismal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the other reviewer who noted the place looks like it has closed down as you drive up. It is a very depressing place to stop for lunch - bare walls, totally lacking in ambience. The staff were quite alright and the baked potato I ordered for lunch was very good but the surroundings are dismal. Needs a makeover and a ton of capital invested to reinvigorate. Stay on the motorway, turn off at Kinross and follow the signs for Loch Leven's Larder - I visited there the next day and was blown away.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tired, dismal, depressing...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we drove into the car park the question in our minds was 'has this place closed down?' unkempt grass and the sign to the coffee shop hanging off its hinges and pointing vertically downwards. No one at the counter to serve us, no customer connection when she did arrive, no cherries in the cherry scones, I could go on.. Just drive past, I'm ashamed to be Scottish when I see this level of mediocrity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food OK - but not a place I would re-visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Passed by Baxters Cafe on the way to Knockhill Racing Circuit. Decided to stop there on the way home. We were seated promptly & the staff were friendly enough. However the place completely lacked atmosphere even though there were a few people in. The room seemed a bit too large & too empty in terms of furniture & decoration. The menu was fine & the food tasty enough. I had a brie & cranberry sandwich & Baxter's were very generous with the brie. Others in my party had soup & toasties and no complaints re. quality or taste. It was OK for a quick snack but not somewhere I would go back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baxters Home Farm also viewed

Blackford, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Baxters Home Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baxters Home Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.