We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food, good location, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Liman Restaurant and Bar

Liman Restaurant and Bar
Harbour, Akbuk, Didim, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Akbuk
Cuisines: Turkish, International
Restaurant details
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bland food, good location, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Food was very boring, seems to have been created for british people, which would still be fine if the food was nice.
Prices were average, service very slow although friendly

Wouldn't bother visiting again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice location shame about trying to rip you off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a pleasant stroll along the harbour front we happened across the Liman Bar. We needed to access our e mails awaiting an important message. Having confirmed that they had free Wi fi we sat down for a drink.

We ordered a beer and a wine. On heading to the toilet asked for the bill and handed over a 50 lira bill. On returning to my seat was given my change which seemed short. Bill should have been 15 lira but instead charged us 19 lira, over an extra pound on a £4 bill.

When I asked clarification I was given a menacing look and aggressively challenged by the more senior bar person/manager. I should point there was around 3/4 males sitting around him at the time undeterred I calmly explained the prices and then showed him the menu with the prices clearly stated.

Realising this he then claimed that the prices in the menu were wrong! We checked some of the other menus and they all displayed the same price. He however reluctantly refunded us.

While I fully understand mistakes can be made it was the aggressive and almost nasty tone that was the concern.


On that basis I would recommend avoiding this establishment

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't leave children in charge of your restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant appeared to be run by a teenager on the night we visited. The service was atrocious and the food only marginally better. It was a pleasure to leave. With so few restaurants in akbuk it would seem this one can afford to be less than average and still stay afloat which is a pity.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Been coming to Akbuk for 6 years now and have used the Liman Restaurant many times. The food is excellent, Izzy, the chef, makes sure there is salmon when I am there, as I don't eat red meat and it is always cooked beautifully. My husband loves the 'Izzy special" which is a fillet steak with a mild curry sauce and all the trimmings. All very reasonably priced! The location is perfect just at the start of the harbour, lovely to watch the sun go down. The owners and staff are very friendly and we always feel very comfortable and happy dining there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Food was same as all the other restaurants. Taste and quality was average. Service was slow. Location is pleasant as it located over looking the small marina in Akbuk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liman Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Liman Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liman Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.