We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arlequin - CLOSED

Arlequin
Avenida el Emigrante 14, 38687 Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
922134179
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Chilean, Spanish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Arlequin specializes on Spanish and chilean food, promoting and improving the mediterrnean diet by using fresh and local products. On their menu you will find tapas, fresh fish and shell fish, salads and desserts along with cocktails and many suggestions.The owners, Juan Carlos and Veronica, are professional licensed cooks, whose experience shows trough every detail in the attention and presentation of their menu.In a very intimate and warm enviroment, where you can eat without worrying for the prices, you will have a great meal assured.
N. E. England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ate here twice and enjoyed both occasions. The owner/hostess was charming and the food presented in a modern way while retaining traditional ingredients, Wine mainland Torres at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“The Locals Say It´s Only For Foreign Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have a holiday home in Playa San Juan, so know the town and its restaurants quite well. One big advantage of Arlequin is that the proprietoress´ English is excellent. Originally from Chile, she spent several years in Florida. Yes, she can be "sullen", but I think it´s a stress issue. Many of the secret gems in the town, not listed on TA, require some knowledge of Spanish, so Arlequin is a safe haven for speakers of English. I have only been there once and we had tapas, which were fine. However, these do not require a high level of culinary skill, so I can´t really judge the quality of the food in general. Next time, I´ll try something else and report again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from our holiday in Tenerife and was delighted to find this lovely restaurant in Playa San Juan.Whether you want tapas or something more, the food is equally great.Will definately visit on our next trip.Good luck to the husband and wife team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not always 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

With a holiday apartment in Playa san Juan, we are frequent visitors to all the restaurants. Arlequin, in our experience, is very variable. Their paella, pre-ordered for 8 people, was very disappointing, and although there are some interesting things on their menu the selection if not wide enough for our taste. The lady who serves is quite sullen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss Arlequin in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

we read the recommendations in Tripadvisor and went to test this place. It did not look that attractive from outside, but the way in which Veronica greeted us and what then followed in terms of the quality of the food prepared by Juan Carlos and the service provided impressed us so much that we went back two more times. Just so delicious food and the attitude of really wanting to please the customers made us to decide to go back to Arlequin whenever we visit Tenerife again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlequin also viewed

Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora
Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora
 
Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlequin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.