We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very different in San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Creativo

San Juan Creativo
Plaza de la Iglisia, 38687 Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
650609791
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Danish, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Something very different in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Eva (Canarian) and Klaus (Danish) have created something quite exceptional in the church square in Playa San Juan. Creativo is a small restaurant which serves up the best food in the town. Everything is fresh, local and made on the premises - and served up beautifully, whether it is a small tapas plate or a main course dinner. It is a "fine dining" experience from Klaus' kitchen and Eva provides a really friendly front of house. The prices are a little high but you do get good value.
Creativo is a really good addition to the San Juan restaurant scene.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Ate several times after being recommended and we were not disappointed.Fresh Sea Bass was very good and the Tapas the Danish Owner prepares are excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great addition to our favourite town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been visiting Playa san Juan for several years and love its naturalness and simplicity of a proper Canarian working town and fishing port. A brief visit to the commercialised Playa Arena to watch the football convinced us it is still the right choice , although the proposed building of the first two hotels in this town , even though they will be five-star, and the motorway extension and ferry port, will ,I suspect, change the ambience forever.
Meanwhile , after observing numerous changes of ownership of retaurants and bars over the years, I can heartily endorse all the positive comments about "Creativo ".
This is a great addition to the catering options...fabulous food and service...it deserves to succeed. From what I observed during our week in October the word is spreading.

I would also recommend another bar/cafe which has recently changed hands.
On the corner opposite Creativo and the church you will find "Tasca Canaria ", which used to be a bit of a dive, but is now a small cosy Argentine tapas bar, great for a drink and the owners take on tapas. I particularly liked his take on chips and the Venezuelan hot dog..

Both of these will be on our calling list when we next get back to this jewel of a town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in town by country mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a revelation to find this superb restaurant in san juan. and creativo it most certainly is. daily changing plates of tapas which all taste sensationally good. so good you could eat them all again! food allergies are catered for with a smile and don't detract from the range available. had fantastically creamy chicken pasta dish with mushrooms and satisfying crunch of almonds. a steak cooked medium rare that really was medium rare and mouthwateringly tender. It is a cool and funky place and is next to a cafe where local people gather and the kids run around - in a beautiful square next to the church. Apart from the fab food have to say the service was the best here too. Lovely, helpful and relaxed. special mention to Jess! and thanks to all of you Klaus and Eva! lizzie

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What's find in San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of our party had read a review in the paper. We were attracted by the tapas of goats cheese and marmalade advertised outside so thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed.the owners change the menu daily as to what fresh food is available. Three of us had the boned leg of lamb with beautifully presented vegetables and mashed potato. All very nicely presented. My husband had the filleted sea bream,again with vegetables and potato . Two shared a platter of tapas, imaginative and varied and delicious. There are pasta dishes at -8 euros. The main courses were 14-15 but well worth it. We had a delicious chocolate brownie and a pear tart for dessert. The house red rose and white is 11 euros, I had the red and it was delicious. A cut above mediocre dining.We will return.a breath of fresh air. We sat inside but there is outside seating in this Spanish little square.i hope it's open by day as a tapas plate and glass of wine at lunch would be perfect

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Creativo also viewed

Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora
Playa San Juan, Guia de Isora
 
Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Been to San Juan Creativo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Creativo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.