We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paige Pond Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Paige Pond Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paige Pond Country Inn
Paige Pond Development | Buckleys Village, All Saints, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Barbados
1 review
“A Lovely Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent 6 days here and I was impressed with the level of comfort that I had. The studio room was very spacious. The kitchenette very convenient with all utensils and crockery. The fridge was full-sized. It had its own en-suite bathroom and lovely A/C. The area was quiet and relaxing and the staff very friendly and helpful. Thanks Janice and Iyana! There are also shops nearby and a well-stocked supermarket about 5 minutes drive away in Liberta. And there is parking available. I will definitely stay there again. The wi-fi is always on with a very strong signal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigePondInn, General Manager at Paige Pond Country Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was our pleasure serving you and we look forward to serving you on your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff is very helpful and friendly, the room was simple, quite comfortable and very clean. Overall, the value is high (we paid about $ 55 per night for a studio apartment for two people) because the prices, in general, are quite high. Certainly you need to rent a car because being inland is convenient and inconvenient for everything. The inland of Antigua isn't so beautiful and to move around by car is not so easy because there are no signals. The only decent supermarket is located on the road between St. John and Dickenson bay ("1st choice"), about half an hour from Paige Poind. For me, the most beautiful beach are Valley Church and Dickenson bay. The nearest restaurants are located near English Harbour or not far from Valley Church (I recommended "OJ's Restaurant" - excellent seafood at a good price). When you are choosing the room ask with mosquito nets: the air conditioning is not needed and it is wonderful to sleep with the windows open and it was almost cold. Recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigePondInn, Manager at Paige Pond Country Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing us!! We the management and staff of PPCI are happy to have had you stay with us and look forward to see you again.

Just to clarify, we have a number of fully stocked supermarkets on island; a couple of which are the Bargain Center Supermarket on Tyrells Main Road (3 minutes drive) and the Epicurean Supermarket on Friars Hill Road (15 minutes drive).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great, self-catering hotel if you have a rental car and intend to stay for a few days. It is in a residential location so there are absolutely no amenities nearby. This of course means it is very quiet but without transportation it will be tricky to get around. It is on a bus line and it's easy to get into Antigua but not so easy to get to the airport without a car and a taxi is USD22. The hotel is great about picking people up from the airport and the staff is friendly and helpful. If you don't like air conditioning, ensure you ask for a room that has screens on all of the windows. The appliances are in great working order and the rooms are extremely clean. This is a homey, locally-run hotel for those who like travelling off of the grid and staying away from the sprawling, expensive hotels of Antigua. Thanks to Julie and Janice for great clients services.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with screens on the windows. Room #14 is the best for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigePondInn, General Manager at Paige Pond Country Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was indeed a pleasure serving you. It is because of guests like you that we do what we do and want to do more. Thank you again for having us serve you and we look forward to your return.

God bless and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This Inn is a great hideaway away from the hustle of city life where you can truly unwind,

Whilst enjoying the comfy and clean surroundings you have the added bonus of a spectacular view. I visited by myself and felt extremely safe but intend to visit again with friends to share the experience.

The town is just a short and refreshing bus drive away and although there is no written timetable you soon get the hang of what time they come and go...that's all part of the fun of being on vacation "no rush".

The locals are very welcoming so you never feel like a visitor more like a family friend.

I would recommend Buckley Villages to anyone visiting Antigua.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigePondInn, General Manager at Paige Pond Country Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for your most wonderful remarks, we are always thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas,NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This little Inn gave us the chance to experience the "real" Antigua. It was not close to anything, so a car was important. Shopping for water and food and supplies was important as there were no stores or restaurants near by. Ask for a coffeepot - there was a tea pot in the room. Antigua is small enough that you can get anywhere fairly fast and then return to your AIR-CONDITIONED room. Coming from Las Vegas, the humidity would have gotten us without the air-conditioning. Lovely owners, and if you don't want to drive on the wrong side of the road, make arrangements with your taxi driver to show you the island for a minimal charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This Inn was clean, the staff were polite and helpful, when asked. Basic amenities, but everything worked. It is owned and operated by a local family. You would have to rent a car to get around, although I requested, and received a ride from the airport to the Inn, by the dignified, and charming owner. My friends who arrived very late at night had to get their own taxi. It was very quiet, and peaceful. Lovely views of the many hills that make up the island. It helped to stop at a grocery for bottled water, and some basic food, before arriving there. Great way to begin seeing the 'real' Antigua. I would return to stay there.

Room Tip: Second floor might have better chance of catching the breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for a few weeks while doing my research as it offered a rate I could afford long term.
Pros
- Very clean
- Efficient service from the housekeeper
- Relatively stable and fast wi-fi
- Electricity backup in case there is a power cut
- Water backup
- Spacious
- Safe
- Quiet
- Affordable especially for students

Cons
- In the middle of the Island, very rural, hence no social amenities like supermarkets ( I had to go to either Friars Hill or Jolly Harbour)
- Public transportation irregular and nothing on Sundays
- Nothing much to do out there, Buckelys Village ( if you are the city and social kind of person then this is not for you)
- You definitely need a rental car if you would like to be more flexible
- I had to buy quite a few things for the kitchen so as to be comfortable.

I was pleased with my stay here but if I had to do it all over again, I would choose a more vibrant and accessible location like Jolly Harbour , Friars Hill , Cobbs Cross but definitely not St. John's.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not directly facing the afternoon sun. It gets dangerously warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCInn, Manager at Paige Pond Country Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you and we look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paige Pond Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paige Pond Country Inn

Also Known As:
Antigua Country Inn
Address: Paige Pond Development | Buckleys Village, All Saints, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > All Saints
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in All Saints
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paige Pond Country Inn is situated in one of Antigua's most Eco-friendly locations; awakening your senses to clean, fresh country air, sounds of chirping birds, the sight of lush greenery and the taste of lemon grass tea."A COUNTRIFIED STAY AWAITS YOU" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paige Pond Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paige Pond Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.