We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Vacation - Again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluefields Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluefields
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluefields Bay Villas
Save
You added Bluefields Bay Villas to your Saves list
Bluefields Bay, Bluefields, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sandy Hook, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Vacation - Again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Jamaica since the early '70s. We have visited most of the island and have many wonderful experiences. About 10 years ago, we "discovered" Bluefields Bay Villas. We have been back to Bluefields for all subsequent vacations. Our staff this year was as accommodating and sensitive of our needs and wants as all the staff members we have had in the past. Our thanks go to Carmen, Sara, Anna-Kay, Kevin, Neville, and the rest. The food is wonderful. The service impeccable. We relish our privacy and if you want the same, this is the resort for you. The only changes for our comfort over the past decade have been for the better. Lastly, I want to thank Deb and Braxton most of all. Their desire, hard work and foresight have made Bluefields what it is today. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: Cottonwood Villa is wonderful but the seclusion and privacy of Providence House has won us over as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
98
84
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family just return from an awesome stay at the Bluefield Villas. It was pure heaven, lots of relaxation time, great scenery and beaches. There were activities for all family members and time for "bonding". We are planning on making a yearly vacation, that's how much we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to travel all over the world and stay at some of the finest resorts around. However, I have never had the level of service that is supplied by the staff @ Bluefields Bay Villas. They are simply the best!!! First, they truly try to get to know you. Then, they simply anticipate your every need! It all starts resort-wise with Alfred, Carmen and Vaniesha. They manage the place. Then, for us, it was the individual staff at Cottonwood Villa. Dwight, Shaki, Tamara, Aldean, Richard and Sharon took care of all of our needs and every request. At don't let me forget Percy. He did everything, including driving us around the island and explained all things Jamaican. They are truly proud of their island. If you want a great place to stay and want to be pampered, go to Bluefields. You will not be disappointed, I promise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited Bluefields in April 2013 and stayed at Providence House. All I can say is that is was the most wonderful vacation I've ever experienced. Went with my husband, mum and sister. Perfect for families. The staff definitely go above and beyond anything we expected. Typically we do resorts with butler service. It won't be the same after the amazing service we got at Bluefields. We are already planning our next trip back. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica, and to Bluefields Bay Villas. A friend has been telling me for years to bring my family there, as he has taken his family there for 10 years. I took my four kids (ages 24, 22, 20, 18) and two of their significant others, and we stayed at San Michele. Though we rented a car for excursions, we only took one day trip, to the YS Falls and Black River. We really didn't need to go anywhere as the property was so magnificent. Three delicious meals a day, delicious tropical drinks, 7 sea kayaks for us to paddle about the bay, fun games in the back yard. My kids and I had the best time together. And the staff were so friendly, laid back, yet didn't want us to do anything but enjoy!!! The sound system in the house, with speakers at the pool and the private "island" was perfect for my daughter's ipod, where she made hours of playlists for us. I've been to other Caribbean islands and 5 star resorts, and this villa topped them all. The privacy, the beauty, the friendliness of the staff, all right there at our villa! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had such a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We stayed at the Hermitage for the majority of our stay, and moved to Providence for the last part. Both properties were beautiful. Importantly, the staff were excellent and friendly, providing the highest level of service without being stuffy or intrusive, anticipating our every need sometimes before we even knew that we would need something. The meals, appetizers and cocktails were amazing (with extremely generous portions). We had sent a list ahead of time of all the local cuisine we wanted to have while we were there, and the cooks obliged happily, even sharing some recipes with us.

The beach was a short walk from the Hermitage, and an easy kayak ride from Providence. The water was calm and the beach staff were attentive but not intrusive. We even had lunch on the beach one day. There was some snorkeling right near the shore by the villas, but we also went out by boat for a snorkeling excursion. We also went on a hike in the local hills with Marvin, our head butler at Hermitage, as well as an excursion to YS Falls (and ziplined, which was an extra charge) with Marvin, who arranged for Ninja to guide us through the area.

From the pick-up at the airport, to our arrival, excursions, move from one house to the other, and our reluctant departure, we never had to concern ourselves with any details or decisions. Out of all the private villas we've stayed in over the years, we can truly say that this was our best vacation. We cannot say enough positive things about our time here. We look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Mullion Cove last week. The villa had a quaint, colonial feel inside and the outside is a true paradise - pool overlooking the ocean, lush landscape, a few steps to a private gazebo on the water and a few more steps to a basically private beach.

While an ideal setting, the staff really set this apart from any other experience. We had three-four staff at the house at all times, except one overnight. They all were fantastic at what they did, and did so with genuine hospitality. And, supporting staff - whether on the grounds or true beach or driving us to and fro - we equally kind and helpful.

We got out of the villa a few times. Once for a happy hour at a nearby villa and once for a jerk chicken lunch at yet another vacant villa - weekly occurrences that were a nice touch by Bluefields. We also did hiking with a Bluefields guide and got out to Negril for scuba diving. All highly recommended!

The only critique of the whole experience I would have is that the brick around the pool gets slippery when wet, as does the hallway connecting the bedrooms and the outdoor patio, so we treaded carefully with an infant in tow. Really minor, but figured I should note something!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluefields Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefields Bay Villas

Address: Bluefields Bay, Bluefields, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Bluefields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bluefields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, privacy, and luxury combine for a distinctive blend of all-inclusive Caribbean waterfront travel. Bluefields Bay offers the ultimate in personalized service at its six luxurious waterfront villas, each with a private pool and expertly-trained staff. Enjoy gourmet meals and tropical drinks as you vacation in natural settings beyond compare.The six secluded seafront villas are perched on the Caribbean Sea with dazzling views of crystal-clear sparkling blue calm waters perfect for snorkeling and sea-kayaking. Relish spectacular sunsets from this southwestern Jamaican fishing and farming village called Bluefields after an invigorating hike up the untouched mountain right behind the homes. This South Coast of Jamaica is unspoiled by commercialism, and so this is a place where visitors can interact easily with local residents who welcome them heartily.The private and luxurious villas offer gourmet meals prepared by your own chef to your personal specifications. Each house has a “headman” (Jamaican concierge) who serves meals, clarifies preferences on food and drink, and helps your experience unfold like the tropical foliage. Housekeepers not only keep rooms sparkling, but also send guests home with suitcases of clean clothes at no extra charge. And, if people bring children, devoted and caring nannies are provided. Each staff is rounded-out with a waterfront attendant, gardener, night porter for after-hours service, and driver when needed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefields Bay Villas Hotel Bluefields

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluefields Bay Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.