We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline

Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline
2058 Skyland Dr, Seven Devils, NC 28604
+1 828-963-6561
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Snowboarding, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized for having the largest Snow Tubing Park on the East Coast, we've added the longest Zip line Tour as well. We are featuring two tours to choose from. Our Hawk tour is a 11 cables 1.5 miles of ziplines. Our new Eagle tour is 9 cables of almost 3 miles of zipline tour. Gliding through the air with ease is trouble-free. Zippers--ages five and up--enjoy the exhilarations of speeding treetop high over valleys having expansive views and threading through the forest canopy over creeks, wild turkeys, deer, groundhogs and the occasional bear. In winter, zippers can yell to their snow tubing friends from way above as they begin their journey. Our 20+ Lane Snow Tubing Park has four different areas to snow tube; lanes are 400 - 1000 feet long. Our 2 conveyor lifts take our snow tubers back to the top for more rides. Hawksnest has 100% snow making and lighting on all lanes to provide the best possible conditions and fun for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been spending part of our summer vacation for the past 6 years in the Boone area. This year my grandchildren were old enough to want to zipline, a frightening idea to me, but my husband and daughter thought it was a great one. The ride to Hawk's Nest in Seven Devils is in itself quite an experience. The mountain road is one S curve after another. The views are spectacular. We had made reservations a few days earlier which is advisable. It is advised to arrive half an hour ahead of your time. I was assured by the staff that they check the equipment carefully and have never had a casualty. This attraction is not cheap-$75 a person for the shorter trail of 11 different lines. Though I did not go, I was assured by my family that it was worth every penny. They soared over lakes and through trees. The staff gave great directions and were very kind to my grandchildren who are 9 and 12. They felt very safe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    43
    17
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome first zip experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had never done this and were eager to try it and this could not have been a better place to do it.
The staff was incredibly friendly from the first phone call to get information and make the reservations to the actual experience.

Our guides - Chuck and Loretta - were the nicest and friendliest, making us feel like we had known them for years and were just going on a trip with friends.

Our group had 7 people including a 7 year old, 2 10 year olds, a 19 year old and 3 other adults. As you can imagine, finding an activity that can satisfy such a wide range of ages in the group is very challenging. This, however, accomplished that.

My 19 year old wanted to do more and repeatedly acknowledged how much fun he had, to kids could not stop talking about it, and as far the rest of us adults, the experience was just as great.

We all want to do it again!

Thanks a for a great memory. We will be back!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun on the Zipline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I used to ski at Seven Devils years ago, and had a lot of fun sliding down the slopes there. The ski lifts are now closed and they call it Hawksnest these days, and the zip lines are up and running. What a fun way to spend an afternoon!
This was my first time riding a zip line, and the guides were very helpful and patient with everyone in the group. There are two different courses, and I chose the Eagle course, consisting of 9 cables. The first cable is fairly short and helps you get used to the experience. After that, the lines get much longer and faster . . . . and more fun! The fastest leg supposedly gets up to about 50 mph, and several of the legs are quite lengthy. The final 3 cables are the most scenic, traveling through the woods and above streams, etc. The entire course took about an hour and a half to complete, and once at the bottom there was a van waiting to take us back to the top of the course.
I found the experience to be exciting and exhilarating, but with plenty of safety features so it did not feel dangerous at all.
I called ahead the day before to reserve a spot, which I would recommend to make sure you get a spot on the course and at the time you desire.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Zipping on your 55th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hawksnest staff are thorough and provide a safe first time experience even for the older, out of shape adventurer. WARNING: if you do not have arm or upper body strength, do listen to the staff about using your one dominant hand as the brake but if you are just not slowing down, use BOTH hands and pull down hard. Coming in hard and fast is dangerous for the zippee and the staff- "catcher". The scenery is gorgeous. Three of us joined with others to form a group of about 11. There was no crowd when we went in July.....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a group of 7 - 4 of us had never zip lined before and it was a blast for everyone. These were the highest, longest, most exciting zips I've ever been on and I've done this 3 times myself. Awesome. Great great guides. Very cautious and careful. Also, no hard selling of tee shirts and other stuff though it is available. Just an overall great experience with incredible mountain views. Do it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.