We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawk's Tour Zipline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline

Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline
2058 Skyland Dr, Seven Devils, NC 28604
+1 828-963-6561
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Snowboarding, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized for having the largest Snow Tubing Park on the East Coast, we've added the longest Zip line Tour as well. We are featuring two tours to choose from. Our Hawk tour is a 11 cables 1.5 miles of ziplines. Our new Eagle tour is 9 cables of almost 3 miles of zipline tour. Gliding through the air with ease is trouble-free. Zippers--ages five and up--enjoy the exhilarations of speeding treetop high over valleys having expansive views and threading through the forest canopy over creeks, wild turkeys, deer, groundhogs and the occasional bear. In winter, zippers can yell to their snow tubing friends from way above as they begin their journey. Our 20+ Lane Snow Tubing Park has four different areas to snow tube; lanes are 400 - 1000 feet long. Our 2 conveyor lifts take our snow tubers back to the top for more rides. Hawksnest has 100% snow making and lighting on all lanes to provide the best possible conditions and fun for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Goose Creek, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hawk's Tour Zipline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went on a Monday, and had a great time. The company was busy and slow to be able to answer phones. Had to call back several times to get through to get a reservation vice getting an answering machine. You need to arrive early to get fitted for your harness and don't try to show up last minute and flow right through. Being a first timmer, the instructors/guides gave a very good brief of how to zip line. They would send one guide over to receive the customers and one to make sure they are sent off properly and safely. You get one zip line that is short to decide if this is right for you and then you are off. This short zip is pretty good photo opportunity as well. It takes a while to get the group down the hill as you are going one at a time in a group of about 10. One of the cables was over 1800 feet and you could get up some speed. The guides were really good (work to get tips), so TIP ACCORDINGLY. Restrooms were clean, Staff were nice, Area was being maintained. No parking Fee was charged. Waiting area was o.k. but the metal chairs left rust marks on clothes (could use a coat of paint).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    43
    17
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The need a flip! but fund for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Prices were in line, but the place needs some TLC to bring it back it could use some leadership apparently everyone very young and 1st day of the season not prepared for the crowds! We did have fun and I even bussed some tables! Bought cute extra long sleeve hoodies, hats and goggles for the girls, they had never seen snow from FL on their first trip to any mountain of any sort. So we did enjoy them being open on Christmas day with Snow! It felt vintage so I kinda dig that..:)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Zipline Good but Owner/Manager Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The zipline course was extremely fun! Most of the guides were good and gave worthwhile instruction. I would suggest arriving early and watching groups go out paying particular attention to the instructors and their interaction with the group. We had a great time with an experienced instructor. Otherwise it was just ok. Also, had a couple issues that involved money, discounts, and the like... Employees were not empowered to make decisions based on good judgement - definitely fearful of the owner/manager. Owner /manager was definitely money hungry and not interested in customer relations. The building is definitely not bright and cheery.... Needed maintenance and cleaning however bathroom was pretty clean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley_atHawksnest, Manager at Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize you ran into some frustrations concerning discounts and payment during your visit.

Hawksnest does have a discount coupon in some local advertisement literature for area. We also have group rates available for special groups and parties of 10 or more people, as well as a $5 off military discount. And as an annual event, we offer free ziplining to a large majority of local tourism businesses in our off season.

As with any business, we do operate under set policy and procedure, which our employees are expected to operate within at all times.

Glad to hear you do enjoy our zipline course and guide staff, hope you will return to zipline with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was our very first time doing zip line.
Our kids 8 and 12 were a bit nervous as expected but with the help of the excellent tour guides were so helpful and calm.
It is a unique experience, very safe and enjoying.

We would love zipping again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley_atHawksnest, General Manager at Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for zipping with us at Hawksnest, glad you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Staff can make or break an experience like ziplining, therefore we strive for friendly, outgoing, and most importantly SAFE zipline guides!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, any and all feedback is much appreciated. Hope you guys can come back and zip with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Time Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This review is a little late but I have to share how much fun we had!! I have read mixed reviews but I don't understand why the negatives...if people are upset about weather, they cant control that!!

We visited 2 days after Christmas and even up til that morning was not sure if sessions would go, first variable was would there be snow and was it cold enough, and also some wind issues. The staff was very honest and open every time I called and I can say I called numerous times asking and never felt I was getting ripped off.

The first session was not able to open but we were able to go for the noon session and it was great!!! I spoke with the Manager there and he was super friendly and we really appreciate all he did for us and making sure we had a great time!!

Being from Florida, we were nervous driving up the hill with temperatures around 32-34 at the base of the mountain and dropped to 22 at the top. Just took our time. If someone who can handle driving in ice and snow wants to go faster then me, why not let them go ahead of you rather then complain??? Also, as we pulled through the parking lot we thought we were back in Florida, I would say over 3/4 of the car tags were from Florida. This probably had to do with the fact it was the week after Christmas so lots of people on vacation.

We reserved our tickets in advance, picked them up at will call and then headed to the shop to rent bibs. make sure when you change into them you are careful not to put your feet with socks on the WET floor as you are changing. People are coming in and out of here all day with snow and we didn't think of this and our kids learned the hard way.

They have two different sections you can go down, one is longer then the other but both are great! They also have lifts to pull you back up which we were very thankful for!! Each side has 4-6 runs and the lines go quickly. There are plenty of tubes to use and the staff was great in helping you push off. We went with our boys, ages 10 and 13 and they had a blast also.

Due to high winds, we could not do zip lining but considering how cold it was, I don't think flying through the air would be that much fun. We plan on going back in the fall when the leaves are changing to do the zipline.

For other southerners looking for fun places to tube in this area, this by far was the best and highly recommended. just keep in mind they cant control the weather. While in Ashville we also went to Tonys tube world in Maggie Valley and Moonshine mountain, just south of Ashville and this was the best. If we hadn't paid already at the other places we would have gone here a second day. The other places just don't compare!!!! This was THE BEST!!

Another tip for southerners if this is your first "snow trip" You can buy plenty of cold weather gear at a local walmart once you arrive. Including masks, gloves and hot hands. We put these in our gloves and kept us warm. You can also buy these items at Hawksnest too and the prices were reasonable. We ended up buying goggles there to shield our eyes. We tried using sunglasses but they kept fogging up with the face mask on so these worked out great.

Hawksnest also has a nice balcony area to sit and watch the other tubers. We bought hot chocolate afterwards to relax and enjoyed watching other people have fun. They also have a cool webcam on their website. We called some friends from home and they were able to log in and see us, very cool!

They also have people who will take pictures of you which is great so you don't have to worry about breaking your own. They take a lot and will also walk around and take pictures for you. We did a little of both. I took some and also bought some. I think it was 4-5 pictures for $20 which wasn't bad. They will also email you the pictures so we could share them with friends right away!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley_atHawksnest, General Manager at Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Better late than never! Thanks so much for putting the time and effort in to writing such a detailed and helpful review. Always appreciate customer feedback, and so happy to hear you had such a positive experience visiting with us at Hawksnest!

Relying the on weather can be a rough gig! We have such little control on what Mother Nature offers, we try to just go with the flow and keep visitors as informed as possible.

Again, thanks for the great review! Hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.