We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Papette area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tahitien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Tahitien to your Saves list
Royal Tahitien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pirae, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value in Papette area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The best customer service ever! Yasmin is amazing, friendly, real and helpful. The rooms are a bit dated but I hope they never update or else they will raise the prices. It is extremely peaceful, the grounds are lovely and being just a sprawling two story building you don't have the feel of a huge resort. Each room has a lovely patio with nice furniture. The short stroll to the restaurant/bar is beautiful amidst the flowering trees and shrubs. My favorite breakfast in the world: coffee at their restaurant overlooking Moorea with wonderful chocolate croissants. Evenings are perfect with a drink at sunset on their waterfront bar. I have stayed at other more expensive places but even though the rooms are flashier the atmosphere here is truly island relaxed. No matter what time I have arrived the service has always been great. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning is usually adequate, making it ok for sleeping. For a taste of real Tahiti stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    8
    11
    11
See reviews for
5
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We originally planned a four night stay at this hotel and ended up staying six. The garden was beautiful and by Tahitian standards the restaurant was economical with a good menu. The adjacent bar had good sunset views overlooking the black sand beach.
The single most significant plus of this hotel was Yasmina at reception. The assistance she provided us was EXCEPTIONAL. She had good advice and solutions for everything with a smile and genuine willingness to help.
We stayed our first and last nights in Papeete at another hotel, rented a house on Moorea, and stayed three nights on Bora Bora. Although everyone we met was friendly and helpful there was no one with the knowledge, and patience, of Yasmina.
E-mail the hotel directly for the best rate: ---
Although there's a bus stop nearby I would suggest renting a car if staying for any length of time at this hotel. The bus service is cheap but erratic. And Le Truck? They must be invisible! I saw only three and only one was stopping for passengers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

The rooms are pretty old, however the pool and garden are beautiful. There is a black sand beach in front that is good for swimming as well. The restaurant is pretty good and quite popular with locals. The staff is extremely helpful and they even got us free tickets to the Heiva dance festival. For inexpensive meals ask the staff where the "roulottes" can be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed the last night of our vacation at Royal Tahitian and loved everything about this hotel. We thought the service was exceptional! Yasmina (the front desk manager) was a joy to deal with! We arrived in the morning (around 9:30 am) and she allowed us to check in early. When we entered into our room it was like walking into the 1960's. (Think Mad Men) This was part of the charm of the hotel. We had a nice view of the grounds which were landscaped beautifully. This hotel is on a black sand beach with good views from the restaurant/bar. The location is a few miles away from Papeete, but close to the bus stop. We took Le Truck into Papeete to shop. The night we stayed was a Friday which was fun because they had a local Tahitian band playing in the bar. Many locals go there for dinner and dancing. We enjoyed the sunset drinks and dinner (food was good, not great). The next day our plane did not leave until 10:00 pm and Yasmina allowed us to check out late. She found us a good deal on a rental car for a day and we toured the island. I would consider this a 3 star hotel and a great value. We paid around $150 a night. When we return to Tahiti we again would choose Royal Tahitian.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Arrived late at night after searching for two hours....no one in town could direct us even the local police. while asking a gas attendant for the location we heard a dog being slaughtered...as per attendant and local man's comments. horrifying. NOT a good first impression.

Checked in, carried our own bags upstairs, opened the door and dropped our jaws. Room was right out of 1965. shoddy decor, 13" b/w tv with four channels (three the same), nice fridge, Ac worthless. Bed was futon pad...dirty underwear underneath. No washclothes on premises. had to buy our own. Musty smell never left after 6 days.

Internet service not working properly.

Maids did leave lovely floral arrangements each morn. kudos to them. the one bright spot.

Pool was in poor repair. beach filthy with dog poop. open drain from restaurant onto beach. Restaurant staff very stuffy. food mediocre

Ate at local roulettes...thank heavens we had our Hep A shots as dishes were cleaned by hose on fence. Restaurants were outrageous for what you were served. thank heavens tipping is not customary...it shows in the service..

People think where I live, Hawaii, is expensive. HA Hawaii looks like walmart pricing in comparison. Plus our island beauty is cleaner and nicer. And our people a whole lot friendlier (the local tahitians were kind when you dealt one on one with them)

We were there on business and I plan on never, ever returning.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pirae hotels

Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Probably the best kept secret on Tahiti, best value for the money. An excellent out-of-the-way,location, but only 3 miles from downtown very busy Papeete, easily accessible with the affordable public transit system. Excellent service, nice large rooms, all with garden view. Beautifully landscaped grounds, great for sun tanning and walks. Outstanding restaurant, another great value for the budget minded traveler. Safe, almost private beach access.
Pictures and more info here: http://www.hotelroyaltahitien.com/en/contact.html

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Decor was outdated but rooms were comfortable. Good deal for the price. The staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — Affordable, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms were "no frills" and decor was outdated
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Tahitien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tahitien

Address: Pirae, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Pirae
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Tahitien 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Tahitien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tahitien Hotel Pirae
Royal Tahitien Hotel Papeete
Royal Tahitien Papeete
Royal Tahitien Tahiti/Pirae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tahitien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.