We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not highly recommended! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tahitien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Tahitien to your Saves list
Royal Tahitien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , Pirae, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not highly recommended! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. This hotel was appealing to us because of the price, however once checked in, we were very disappointed.
Negatives -
We were given a room with two single beds and told they would move us to a room with a double bed the next night. In the morning when we enquired about this move we were told it was too late and would have to wait another night.
There are renovations taking place at the hotel at that moment as well. This initially didn't bother us until they started jackhammering on our roof!! We insisted they move us or refund our money... They moved us.
Our next room was ok, it had a full kitchen which was handy for the baby. The airconditioning leaked water all over the power point to the fridge, therefore the fridge was out of use!
It is difficult to access the beach and the pool is used for children's parties over the weekend.
Positives - The staff were friendly and helpful, and this hotel is close to the hospital. Our baby was admitted to hospital for 2 nights and the royal tahitien proved to be a good choice after all, due to it's location!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anything more than an overnight stop over.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    15
    15
    14
See reviews for
12
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I can't say enough about the friendly, courteous and efficient staff at the Royal Tahitian. They gave great service helping us with emails, copying, contacts with service providers, taxi, etc. Their help and friendliness made our trip so much more pleasant. And it was all in English even though we were in French Polynesia.
We needed to be by the local/regional hospital and the hotel was only a 2 block easy walk to the hospital. It was less than 30 minutes to the airport by taxi and no more than 15 minutes to the port. About 3 blocks away, there was some outdoor portable eateries if you wanted something very casual other than the beautiful adjoining hotel restaurant. Our second floor room looked out over a manicured grounds of grass, trees and flowers with a flowing stream. It did not have an elevator, but we had assistance with our bags and the front desk staff made sure our taxi driver would carry our bags down the outside stairs for us as we left.
The beach was not large, but the narrow sand beach extended along most of the property. People also enjoyed walking along the beach. The bay we looked at in the outdoor seating of the restaurant was peaceful and not too busy. Teams of rowers in double canoes entertained us with their practice one day as we ate lunch. Some rooms have a water view, but we were happy with our balcony garden view.
The tropical décor added much to the south sea atmosphere. The ceilings in the reception and the restaurant was an actual weave of grassy like material in a beautiful woven basket weave.
The adjoining restaurant had many choices of local foods. I especially enjoyed the local vegetables including bread fruit, taro, sweet potatoes, etc. The fish was fresh and delicious. We had the delicious and generous mahi mahi sandwich for lunch. And of course, always fresh French bread and butter. Being able to dine outside on the covered porch overlooking the beach and the bay was perfect. One evening a brief intense rain made all of the porch outside diners scramble along with the staff to the inside seating. The transition was done with ease but I felt sorry for the laundry staff as all of the white table cloths on the porch got wet. We were fortunate to be at the restaurant for the first Sunday of the month when the restaurant has a live band play and sing for hours. You could hear and enjoy them on the grounds even if you did not eat at the restaurant.
If ever again I am in Tahiti, I would stay at the Royal Tahitian.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if you want one, but the garden views are good too. Second floor rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here one day as a last resort as everything was booked. We pretty much used this hotel for a long wait for our flight that nite @11:50 p.m. Yes as in other reviews the property is beautiful but the rooms are very dated. Bedspreads worn and faded, cobwebs, musty smell etc. It really wouldn't take that much to make this a great place to stay. Also beware....on weekends they rent out the pool area for birthday parties. So pool was invaded with 7 year olds the whole day. I usually plan ahead with booking these things but the cruise line changed their policy of disembarking from 3 pm to 8 am at the last minute. Beach is accessible thru a gate which is locked after 4 pm. Beach here is black sand but littered and mostly locals use it. My suggestion if you can't book anywhere else...book here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

It is in the suburbs of Papeete and not near anything (restaurant, Shops etc.) the grounds are beautiful but the accommodation is horrid. Curtain roads hanging down, shower not functioning. Absolutely no toiletries. No hair dryer. It smelled moldy. AND it was very expensive. $200.00 for the 8 hours we spend there waiting for our flight. The Hotel dining room was very nice with friendly staff. The so called public black sand beach was not accessable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped here on our way back from Raitea for a morning flight to Auckland. We are not strangers to the South-Pacific, and having travelled to over 60 countries are neither expensive nor "spoilt" as many reviewers seem to be. Check-in great, staff lovely, room dated but hey that wasnt a surprise. What was is that they make the maximum use of the outdoor function facilities at the loudest possible volume. From our arrival at 2pm until late, one party of about 300 were getting the 90-decibel treatment about 50 metres from us, but when they stopped, the bash they have every Friday night carried on just as loud (they were competing with each other to see who could be loudest). When I went to complain, the Bar Manager had to lead me through two rooms and shut all the doors because she couldn't hear me! I expect this from teenagers in a garage, not a respectable hotel. No chance we will be going back there..

Room Tip: Dont get one then you might get some sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Flew in from New Zealand where we were for 3weeks. On our way home to San Diego, California. This was our last week of vacation. We arrived at this hotel late at nite, and we really enjoyed being picked up from the airport from the hotel. Received shell leis and a warm welcome by the staff!!!!! We experienced a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful, and the beach is right there. We relaxed by the pool, and enjoyed great cocktails and food!!! Our room was spacious, great bed, and amenities!!!!!! Thankyou for a well rested time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and enjoyed the spacious room and well-equipped kitchenette. The hotel was built in the sixties at which time it must have been an excellent hotel but it now is very dated. Rooms are large but rather impersonal. The grounds are good but the tiny black sand beach accessible by a heavily locked gate isn't inviting. Swimming-pool is tiny. Reception was unfriendly and disinterested. The location of the hotel would have been good in the past but the urban sprawl of Pape'ete has overtaken it and it's across from the major hospital and next to car dealerships etc. which doesn't make it a very attractive location for a tropical holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirae
6.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Relais de la Maroto
Relais de la Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
17.2 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tahitien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tahitien

Address: , Pirae, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Pirae
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Tahitien 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Tahitien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tahitien Hotel Pirae
Royal Tahitien Hotel Papeete
Royal Tahitien Papeete
Royal Tahitien Tahiti/Pirae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tahitien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.