We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two night before going on to bora bora. Nice hotel with black sand beach, restaurant served good food. Happy hour should be tried if you enjoy cocktails!! Great place to stopover for onward travel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your kind review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your comments to the staff regarding your experiences overall including the bar/restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to both Tahiti and The Radisson Plaza Resort.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    281
    182
    88
    56
See reviews for
85
515
33
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson for one night when heading off to Bora Bora the next day but after 7 days we planned to ome back for another two nights before heading back to Australia. When we arrived back for the two nights we arrived at 3pm and they had to check if our room was ready which is ridiculous as any room should be ready after 2pm. It was lucky the room was ready. Also the hotel is about 25 minutes from the airport so a bit of a travel.
There is no wifi available in the room so we had to keep going down to reception. The furniture in the rooms is very outdated all dark large furniture. Once again the only english tv channel was CNN and there were no movies to buy. We spent the first afternoon by the pool which we quickly learnt was nothing like Bora Bora with kids running and screaming. I was laying on a deck chair and kids would constanly run splashing water up on you or just splash hitting you with water and the parents did nothing. They really needed something for the adults. The beach was not pleasant compared to just coming from a lovely beach in Bora Bora. We had dinner on Thursday night and had the performance. The restaurant food took so long to come out. At happy hour they forgot our drinks twice. We were then told to go to Moorea on the last day and rent a car when we got there. We arranged a taxi through the hotel which never turned up and we had to ask them to call again. We went to the island and surpirise surprise all cars were pre booked. We had to pay about $210 Australian to hire this buggy for four hours as we couldn't walk the island. Overall the stay was very basic and unless you were just stying overight it isn;t worth a holiday unless you hve a family.

Room Tip: I saw the breakfast was pretty expensive even for just a basic breakfast. I would try to include thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Ia Orana,

I regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we fully appreciate your notes on the areas needing improvement. Your opinion counts indeed. We will be addressing all issues you outlined by sharing these with our different departments managers so as this in turn may be brought to the staff’s attention.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The pool was great and the beach was really nice. Food was really expensive-if we had stayed longer we would have needed to visit a grocery store. The staff was friendly. Only disappointing thing was our flight was late the night we left and the hotel stated that we could hang out on the property until we had to leave for the airport-then they ended up charging us an extra amt. per person in resort use fee even though we didn't use showers or anything else except sitting by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive review. I also found it positive to read that you did enjoy the facilities on offer and that the staffs’ approach to service was very high. It is unfortunate to hear of your flight delay. In justification of the resort fee, this inclusion is to cover services such as internet, towel usage, free shuttle to town as well as the activities program in place for the enjoyment of the clientele.
I hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and wish you warmest Tahitian greetings.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here on our first two nights in Tahiti. Arrived late and were given a room with a spa with a sea view (as booked) - however, it was Saturday night and the room was very close to the restaurant and pool where they had a wedding function going on; it was very loud so I asked to be moved further away. The front desk management claimed they had nothing except a 'suite' at the other end of the complex -sounded good to us but it was right next to the carpark and the service lift which became very noisy at about 5.00am. It was a bad start to our holiday but it was all put right for a second night by Natalie, the day manager, who without prompting checked up on how our stay was going - when I said 'not good' she moved us to a suite (room 2406, building 2, 4th floor, room 6). It was fantastic!! A beautiful view, a quiet, very well appointed,comfortable room. Thank you Natalie - you are very kind and considerate. Generally the hotel is quite good, the breakfast was substantial though just medium quality, the pool area is good and the location right on the beach front is great. It's a black sand beach, open to the ocean so no good for swimming if you aren't confident in the water and the waves. It's quite far from the town center - we tried walking to it but it was too hot and humid to go very far - there are a few little grocery shops and food places about 2km away. Relative to other hotels in the world, accommodation in Tahiti is not good value - it is overpriced for what you get. My ratings below are based on our second night - at least half of the rooms I'd rate lower.

Room Tip: Get a suite on a higher floor in building 2 - it's well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We apologise for the inconvience that occurred to due to the close proximity to the Wedding function; as we try to monitor noise levels for other guests whilst large functions are on. We are sorry that this assistance did not positively affect your stay with us. Thank you for comments regarding service and we will transfer your comments to Natalie. These positive reviews help us to maintain a high level of service and we hope that you may return to our resort in the future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night here but wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed everything this resort could offer.

It's located on a long and wide black sand beach away from Papeete city center. The distance was not an issue because we had a rental car. We checked in late in the evening and got our ocean view room with a jacuzzi. We liked the elegant decor, comfortable bedding materials, free in-room wifi, and the beautiful view from our 4th floor balcony.

We checked out the next afternoon but our flight was not until midnight. We were allowed to use the spa to take a shower and hang around in the lounge to use wi-fi before heading to the airport. That was very nice of them. It was a Friday night so there was an island warrior dance performance at the restaurant for everyone to enjoy. The lunch food and service was very good and the price was reasonable. The swimming pool looked very inviting but we didn't have the chance to use it.

Our frame of reference was le Meridien Resort on the other side of the airport where we paid 500 USD a night and we were not very happy. We paid about 250 USD here and got much better service. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Tahiti is an overpriced island and everything was expensive but at least at the Radisson, we felt like it was really good value. We couldn't have found a better place for this price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

It is unfortunate that you were not able to stay longer as it would’ve been a pleasure to have you with us a few more days. We appreciate your comments regarding the service and amenities on offer and we will continue to provide such services to our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews and all aspects of your review have been taken into account. We hope to welcome you back into our resort in the near future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am a Carlson Club member so booking this hotel felt like a no-brainer. The hotel is nice and the staff is very pleasant and accomodating. We were only staying on Tahiti for 2 nights so this hotel is further from the airport than I had anticipated.

The food was good and the pool was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We appreciate your review and are pleased that your experience within our resort was pleasant. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back into our hotel in the near future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best tip I can give fellow travellers when staying at the Radisson Tahiti is don't eat off the American Buffet breakfast each morning. I think is was 3150 CPF per person. Ask for the a la carte menu (which is available but you seem to have to ask for it). We were able to get 2 breakfasts and coffee off the a la carte menu for about the same price as one American Buffet breakfast. The breakfasts were so big that on the second morning we just ordered one breakfast between the two of us. We mentioned to the waitress that we were sharing and so they split it across two plates. Each half portion was still big and we had more than enough to eat. We saved further $$ by going back to our room to have a breakfast coffee instead of paying for it at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive review. We aim to provide a broad selection of dining options therefore we have both American Breakfast and Parisian Breakfast as well as a à la carte options. Thank you for addressing the issue as a future aim will be to improve the distinction between menus and dining options.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Address: Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Arue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Unwind at this Oceanfront Resort in Tahiti.Make your escape to the tranquil Radisson Plaza Resort in Tahiti, which offers outstanding comfort and spectacular waterfront views in the lush, tropical surroundings of the 900-metre-long (half-mile long) Lafayette Beach. With its stunning oceanfront location on historic Matavai Bay, this destination resort offers easy access to a wealth of activities and attractions. Make your reservation at the Radisson Plaza and indulge in warm island hospitality and unparalleled resort services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel Arue
Radisson Plaza Hotel Tahiti
Radisson Tahiti
Tahiti Radisson
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Arue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.