We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a room makes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a difference a room makes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here on our first two nights in Tahiti. Arrived late and were given a room with a spa with a sea view (as booked) - however, it was Saturday night and the room was very close to the restaurant and pool where they had a wedding function going on; it was very loud so I asked to be moved further away. The front desk management claimed they had nothing except a 'suite' at the other end of the complex -sounded good to us but it was right next to the carpark and the service lift which became very noisy at about 5.00am. It was a bad start to our holiday but it was all put right for a second night by Natalie, the day manager, who without prompting checked up on how our stay was going - when I said 'not good' she moved us to a suite (room 2406, building 2, 4th floor, room 6). It was fantastic!! A beautiful view, a quiet, very well appointed,comfortable room. Thank you Natalie - you are very kind and considerate. Generally the hotel is quite good, the breakfast was substantial though just medium quality, the pool area is good and the location right on the beach front is great. It's a black sand beach, open to the ocean so no good for swimming if you aren't confident in the water and the waves. It's quite far from the town center - we tried walking to it but it was too hot and humid to go very far - there are a few little grocery shops and food places about 2km away. Relative to other hotels in the world, accommodation in Tahiti is not good value - it is overpriced for what you get. My ratings below are based on our second night - at least half of the rooms I'd rate lower.

Room Tip: Get a suite on a higher floor in building 2 - it's well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We apologise for the inconvience that occurred to due to the close proximity to the Wedding function; as we try to monitor noise levels for other guests whilst large functions are on. We are sorry that this assistance did not positively affect your stay with us. Thank you for comments regarding service and we will transfer your comments to Natalie. These positive reviews help us to maintain a high level of service and we hope that you may return to our resort in the future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    285
    186
    88
    56
See reviews for
87
520
33
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night here but wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed everything this resort could offer.

It's located on a long and wide black sand beach away from Papeete city center. The distance was not an issue because we had a rental car. We checked in late in the evening and got our ocean view room with a jacuzzi. We liked the elegant decor, comfortable bedding materials, free in-room wifi, and the beautiful view from our 4th floor balcony.

We checked out the next afternoon but our flight was not until midnight. We were allowed to use the spa to take a shower and hang around in the lounge to use wi-fi before heading to the airport. That was very nice of them. It was a Friday night so there was an island warrior dance performance at the restaurant for everyone to enjoy. The lunch food and service was very good and the price was reasonable. The swimming pool looked very inviting but we didn't have the chance to use it.

Our frame of reference was le Meridien Resort on the other side of the airport where we paid 500 USD a night and we were not very happy. We paid about 250 USD here and got much better service. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Tahiti is an overpriced island and everything was expensive but at least at the Radisson, we felt like it was really good value. We couldn't have found a better place for this price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

It is unfortunate that you were not able to stay longer as it would’ve been a pleasure to have you with us a few more days. We appreciate your comments regarding the service and amenities on offer and we will continue to provide such services to our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews and all aspects of your review have been taken into account. We hope to welcome you back into our resort in the near future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am a Carlson Club member so booking this hotel felt like a no-brainer. The hotel is nice and the staff is very pleasant and accomodating. We were only staying on Tahiti for 2 nights so this hotel is further from the airport than I had anticipated.

The food was good and the pool was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We appreciate your review and are pleased that your experience within our resort was pleasant. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back into our hotel in the near future.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best tip I can give fellow travellers when staying at the Radisson Tahiti is don't eat off the American Buffet breakfast each morning. I think is was 3150 CPF per person. Ask for the a la carte menu (which is available but you seem to have to ask for it). We were able to get 2 breakfasts and coffee off the a la carte menu for about the same price as one American Buffet breakfast. The breakfasts were so big that on the second morning we just ordered one breakfast between the two of us. We mentioned to the waitress that we were sharing and so they split it across two plates. Each half portion was still big and we had more than enough to eat. We saved further $$ by going back to our room to have a breakfast coffee instead of paying for it at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive review. We aim to provide a broad selection of dining options therefore we have both American Breakfast and Parisian Breakfast as well as a à la carte options. Thank you for addressing the issue as a future aim will be to improve the distinction between menus and dining options.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is on a beautiful black sand beach with a lovely pool and the hotel staff are very nice. HOWEVER, the property is quite run down. All the fixtures in the rooms have rust on them, the rooms are dated and worn and heavily used. The complex is a maze and hard to navigate. The other national brand resorts are far far nicer and have all the details you hope to find in Tahiti.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

I am disappointed to hear that our resort did not meet your expectations and that some aspects in your room weren’t up to standard. It is our priority to provide a fulfilling and comfortable stay for all guests and so it is disappointing to hear of these issues. We are aware that our rooms are of a high standard and we will address the issues that you have brought to our attention with both Maintenance and Housekeeping staff on site.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I had an enchanting stay at the Radisson. We arrived at night, and the hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We received an automatic upgrade to an ocean view suite, and we were thrilled. It was huge for us, and would be perfect for a family. It had it's own living room with pull out couch, two bathrooms, and a very comfortable king size bed. The best part was sitting on our balcony and hearing and smelling the ocean.

The next day we enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. I'm a vegetarian, and there is something for everyone. I will not get over those golden, crispy hash browns anytime soon! The dining area is under a thatched roof and overlooks the ocean and their pool - it couldn't get any better!

The Radisson has black sand beaches, which we had never seen before. I didn't think I would like them as much as white sand beaches, but the sand is so soft! It was like walking on black marshmallow fluff.

The pool is FABULOUS, we really enjoyed swimming and laying by the pool - don't forget your sunscreen!

We loved the open air tropical feel of this resort. Would definitely stay there again if in Papeete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We are pleased to learn of your wonderful stay with us and it is a pleasure to acknowledge the features of the resort that you enjoyed. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upplands Väsby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed one week and got a flying start for our trip. Arriving 5 am we could check in right away. The room was charmingly designed with dark wooden furniture and sea view. For swimming you can choose between the black sanded beach and the infinity pool - or just switch between them until you get tired and need a Pina Colada (half price during happy hour). The sweet smell of the flowering trees is everywhere and makes you happy, as well as the staff who is knowledgeable and always very friendly and helpful. There is everything you need at the hotel: restaurant, spa, gym, shop, different sports and activities, dance shows in the evening etc.
The dishes in the restaurant were not impressive though and the price for the breakfast (ca 30€/person/day) made us buy our own food that we enjoyed on our balcony.
Another little minus is the distance to the city centre. Taxi rate are high and it is definitely too far to walk. We recommend to hire a car right away if you want to see something of the island and the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ia Orana,

We appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay. The advice and aspects outlined in your review have been received and recognized by our staff. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again and we hope that these memories of both The Radisson Resort and Tahiti will be lasting memories for you.

Merci/Thank you/Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Address: Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Arue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Unwind at this Oceanfront Resort in Tahiti.Make your escape to the tranquil Radisson Plaza Resort in Tahiti, which offers outstanding comfort and spectacular waterfront views in the lush, tropical surroundings of the 900-metre-long (half-mile long) Lafayette Beach. With its stunning oceanfront location on historic Matavai Bay, this destination resort offers easy access to a wealth of activities and attractions. Make your reservation at the Radisson Plaza and indulge in warm island hospitality and unparalleled resort services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel Arue
Radisson Plaza Hotel Tahiti
Radisson Tahiti
Tahiti Radisson
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Arue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.