We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-save up to 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is a rare black sand beach near Papeete, Tahiti. The rooms are very nice, and we were upgraded to two-level suite. The setting is exactly what you would expect on your first day in Tahiti, romantic, exotic, beautiful. The only problem is the food is terrible. Breakfast buffet was $39 each, and it was actually the best meal, because lunches and dinners were almost inedible. Our bill for two nights that included meals was more than $800, there are all kinds of taxes and fees added on and food for a day costs as much as the room. There's no mini bar in the hotel rooms, and drinking water must be purchased. Overall, this hotel was very nice place to stay while in Papeete waiting for our Paul Gauguin cruise.

Room Tip: Bring electrical adapter if you are from USA because there are none in the rooms. If you want to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Ia Orana,

I am sad to read of your disappointment in our restaurant service however relieved to note that you were charmed by our Resort surroundings and location.
I am following up with the Chef so as corrective actions will be taken.
I appreciate you writing me your observations as this is truly the only way I believe we may ensure correct quality control and delivery to our guests

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    275
    176
    89
    55
See reviews for
84
503
33
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Originally had planned a couple of nights at this property but a flight delay changed that to one.

The open air lobby of the Radisson is very inviting, lush, and tropical. We were warmly welcomed by Laetitia at the front desk who had our reservation, including Club Carlson Elite upgrade, awaiting us. After the previous day no-show, there was some question about our reservation but Club Carlson came through with flying colours to honour our existing rate.

We were escorted to our Duplex Suite on the top (5th) floor of building two. I think most, if not all, rooms in this property have ocean views and ours was no less spectacular but nice being higher up.

The suite consists of a lower level living/dining/work area and half bath while the bedroom with full bath is upstairs. There is a large balcony on the main level compete with a couple of chairs and a couple of chaise lounges. The upper level has a smaller balcony with no furniture.

The room cleanliness left plenty to be desired. It was necessary to wear footwear throughout the suite, which has hardwood floors, or risk having very dirty feet. The upstairs bathroom shower had very noticeable soap scum stains on the glass enclosure and the hair of previous guests was evident in the bath tub and on the bathroom floor. Appears to be an indication of very lazy housekeeping, particularly in not having cleaned the shower in quite some time.

Access to the black sand beach is restricted to a pathway near the pool. The pool itself is a pretty good size, is right next to the restaurant and pool bar, and provided a nice vantage point from which to sip a tropical drink and view the sunset.

If you like the sound of waves crashing on the beach as you drift off, this may be the hotel for you. It's almost too loud. :-) The king-size bed was very comfortable and made for a good night's sleep.

Location-wise, this resort is about fifteen or twenty minutes from downtown Papeete which is not ideal if you want to spend much time in town. (2000 XPF = ~$23 USD taxi) From the airport, the cab fare is per posted prices at 2860 XPF + 100 per piece of luggage. The hotel does supply a free shuttle into town most days, leaving at 8:30 and, I think, 2:00 and returning at noon and five o'clock respectively. Not used for luggage transport, though, just for shopping. Nice feature given the expense of cabs.

Notwithstanding the cleanliness issues, we would have liked to have spent just a little more time here to wander the beach and hang around the pool. All in all, quite a good, but short, stay.

Room Tip: Try to get into an Ocean View Deluxe Suite which are the largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for posting such a encouraging and a positive review on our Resort and wish to apologize for the regrettable situation with the housekeeping service.
I am happy to read that despite this you were able to enjoy your stay with us and planning to return, this time for a longer stay.

I look forward to greeting you on your next visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Very dirty hotel - thick dust under every item of furniture and even on shelves in the room. Horribly large smear on the full length mirror in the room - which should have been found on cleaning. Hotel did not have a nice feel about it at all - we only stayed one night on the way back from Moorea en route to Australia and I wouldn't have booked it except that it was misleading represented on the trip advisor map as 1/2 way between Papaetee and the airport which was completely untrue! Fortunately already knew not to eat here because of previous reviews, so cannot comment on the food (thankfully!) However, room was badly in need of refurbishment and totally not worthy of 4 star status. We stayed at a 3 star overnight Hotel on arrival which was much cleaner, more conveniently located and the room was considerably bigger. Only good thing was the bathroom was clean and we got an upgrade to a jacuzzi room which we used and was nice. Very isolated which is why they charge the earth for bad quality food. I would avoid this hotel at all costs. Only real benefit about staying here was the incredible sunset - nothing to do with the hotel!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Ia Orana,

I have read your comments with attention and was surprised by your remarks on, the need for refurbishments as we have an ongoing room upgrading program. However, I do understand your disappointment concerning the cleanliness of the room. All this is under investigation by our housekeeping department. Please accept my apologies for this most unusual incident.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at both the start and the end of a nice cruise on the MS Paul Gauguin. The hotel itself, although somewhat out of date and worn, is nice with roomy facilities and great views. However, the location of the hotel leaves a great deal to be desired, and is isolated from Papeete and everything else. It has great views, and a nice but poorly maintained swimming pool.

The location of this hotel is such that a resident is forced to eat in their restaurant or pay $50 or more for a round trip taxi into town. The hotel runs infrequent shuttles into town but these do not coincide with the appropriate times for the evening meal.

The restaurant is in a pleasant location on the beach, with great views and little else. The food is marginal and the prices are ridiculous. On one Friday evening, we arrived in the restaurant to find that the only thing available for dinner was a Mongolean Barbeque. The cost for this meal was stated at $5500 francs (about $70 USD per person). We do not generally eat this type of food, and this meal was particularly terrible with overcooked meat and fish, and greasy overcooked vegetables. However, we took the meal because the alternative was the taxi ride or no food for the evening. We also selected a marginal wine for another $60. The bill came and I signed the chit, then later realized that I had been charged 22,100 francs ($276 USD) for the non-pleasure of eating there! I should have done a conversion-so my fault.

We had selected the hotel stay as part of the package from the ship, and they also provided a "day room" on the day of our return from the ship and departure from the airport. This was done because we were off of the ship (the MS Paul Gauguin is a great ship and a wonderful bargain) at noon and the flight to LA was at midnight. The day room was really just an excuse to force us to again eat and drink at the hotel. The room was only available after 1400 hrs, and was to be vacated at 1900 hours with the flight at midnight. Go figure!

If you wish to stay at a fairly pleasant hotel and pay extraordinary prices (higher than the high prices in the area) for food, with nothing to do but the pool (signs warn not to swim at the beach due to rip tides) then this is for you. Also sitting at looking at the view is something to do. Otherwise, we have heard that the Intercontinental hotel is a much better choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here and choose a better room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Ia Orana,

I feel your review is somewhat unfair and regret that our facilities didn’t give you satisfaction.

Our Resort opened (brand new) in mid 2004 and definitely not outdated with a regular renovation program in place.

No hotels in Tahiti offer regular shuttles into town however I do wish to confirm the Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti has 2 shuttles per day free and available to all guests. A bus stop is also located outside the gates until 5pm. This is a small island with a small population making it not very profitable for buses to run after business hours. This is not our fault!

2 theme evenings per week with 40 minutes shows are available to our clientele free.

Different Day uses choices are available to our clients at a reduce rate, please ensure next time you request your preferred hours to avoid too much wait time at airport..

I am sorry that you didn’t appreciate your experience among us and I present you my sincere apologies for this.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unfortunately the Radisson is suffering from the effect of a slow economy in Tahiti. The whole place is looking in need of some maintenance, the pool needs some chlorine, towels are old and toilet paper in short supply. In the weekends the whole place is opened up to all and sundry and being by the pool is like going to the public pool at home. Overall very disappointing.

Room Tip: As far away from the pool and dining area in the weekend as possible. The lift was broken when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Ia Orana,

In response to your review which I thank you for, I can assure you that the swimming pool is absolutely not opened to the general public and this specifically to protect our resident guests.

I apologize for the feeling of neglect that you seem to feel, please accept my deepest regrets for it.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the resort at the start and end of our Tahiti stay, before going out to Moorea. On our 1st stay, we arrived and had a lovely young Tahitian lady check us in. We had booked an ocean view room, however were upgraded to a business suite. This means we were on the 5th floor with a 2 storey room- sleeping upstairs and at the seafront side- this became important at our next stay.

The suite was clean, well maintained & enjoyed. The bedroom had a very comfy bed and had no crease down the middle even though the bases were singles together.

We had a nice meal that night- lots of varied veges and nice meat/seafood. Service was fine- white warm soft buns offered continuously at no charge was a nice touch.

On check out, the big island guy at reception was disinterested and not very good. Asked him to document our room request for higher floors when we returned in a week. His front desk skills could have done with some lessons from the lovely Tahitian lady who had checked us in.

Return visit 6 days later- A complete disaster and we wondered what had happened in a week....

Arrived in the afternoon, got the same island guy as last time, said our room was being checked if it was satisfactory by housekeeping lady, so we were fine to wait in reception. Over half an hour later of sitting in the heat in front of him, went up and asked another staff member how it was going- the room had been ready, but no one seemed to think to tell the people sitting with their suitcases, waiting for it.

Asked about our room request- island guy looked blank then told us we were on the 2nd floor- but it was a suite so we would like it another staff member told us.
This room was all on 1 level with the bedroom at the back of the resort, overlooking the carpark and massive bank. Thought it might be ok although nowhere as nice as other room we had had.

Alarm bells go off when we can hear people ? seemed like staff members talking and laughing loudly a lot of the evening right below us in the carpark and noticed roosters on the bank, crowing at 5pm.

Within 30mins of taking our shoes off in the room, the soles of our feet were black with dirt. Although there is a black sand beach, we hadn't been to it yet and obviously the room was filthy.

Then the shower blocked, so we had to keep turning it off to let it drain when we showered. Room tired, hole in floor under the laminate- had to keep away from it. Big brown stain on our duvet and single beds with big crease down the middle, so couldn't sleep close together.

The roosters started before 5am the next day and crowed continuously outside the block- we live rurally, so don't mind animal sounds but the Radisson need to get rid of the roosters- they were incredibly loud and were still going 8 hours later- they woke many guests. We got little sleep and there was a huge difference from the first room we had with the bedroom on the ocean front side-which was much quieter.

Went to the restaurant for dinner and had to ask 15 mins after sitting down for a menu & a drink- staff seemed to be plentiful & not many guests there- however no one seemed to know who they were looking after- so they did nothing.
We ordered the same meals as last visit- very disappointed as all the veges had shrunk to a couple and had an entire plate of celery instead- wish I had taken a photo of it!

Breakfast the next morning was worse- We had to prove we had breakfast included in our rate as they said we didn't have it- we did.

I'm not joking when I say guests could not work out what a lot of the dishes were in the warming containers. The hash browns for example were cinder black but somehow so soggy they fell apart when people tried to pick them up. The older Tahitian woman working on the egg station never used any utensils while dishing up choices to add to eggs, she put her fingers in the eggs while cooking and swirled it around then coughed into her hands- then hands straight back in the food. We left along with others without eating any.

A big safety issue is the walkways in the resort was where most of the anti-slip paint has worn off and hasn't been re-done and when it rained in the afternoons it became treacherously slippery- remembering everyone is wearing slip on shoes with little tread, it is an accident waiting to happen. In comparison, the Hilton in Moorea had exemplary maintenance & standard of resort in general.

Met another couple on our transfer to the airport who had had a worse time than us with rooms and service issues, one thing after another.

Very disappointed after our stay a week earlier & after staying at the Radisson in Denarau, Fiji, which was miles ahead of this resort in Tahiti. Although we appreciated the room upgrades, there are major problems at this resort which need urgent addressing- we would not go back again.

Room Tip: top floors with bedroom on the sea side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Ia Orana,

I have carefully read your review and like yourself very surprised at what you experienced. I can only apologize for the distress your second stay may have caused you. This has brought me to call on all heads of departments to get to the bottom of what could have been the cause for what you rightfully call chaotic moments.

This 1st trimester 2013, the islands of Tahiti experienced the heaviest rainfall registered since 8 years. I cannot help but wonder if this phenomenon played a part or is a cause of what you encountered.

I have taken into consideration your observations and reassure you action once a full investigation has been completed.

Please accept my most humblest of apologies and wish you on behalf of all my team the very best.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms are lovely and spacious and the decor really was well thought of. We absolutely loved our room, cleaned every day, the room attendant was a lovely sweet woman, who really took care of everything. We were never disappointed when we returned to our room.
As lovely as the rooms are, we were let down staff in the restaurant and the pool area. I can't remember the last time I had to walk up to the bar to ask for a waitress to come to the table to please take my order around the corner in the restaurant. The staff is gloriously uncoordinated and everybody is doing something but nobody knows what they are doing so they just all do nothing or something together? I recommend a new food& beverage manager. They are very unhappy to see guest and react very annoyed when you only ask what time it is. Ordering a cocktail during happy our was not a problem - but getting it delivered to your chair - 5m from the bar- took them almost the entire happy hour and I am not exaggerating. There never were enough towels at the pool house, and almost never an attendant to give you one even if there were towels. The food was delicious, but the most confusing concept we have ever seen. There was a bar menu which you could also enjoy in the restaurant, but not at the bar. At the bar there was a snack menu. The pool bar and restaurant are almost one communal area so with all the different menus it seemed very difficult to sort your food order. So you cannot order a cocktail in the restaurant but you can order it at the bar and take it with you to the restaurant. Not sure what the point is since it all goes onto your room card anyway.
Wifi is only available at the pool bar or in the reception areaTo make use of the internet in your room you were required to get a cable from reception - of which of course they do not have enough, so you were on a sort of waiting list.
There is no airport transfer. There is a free shuttle bus to the city center, at rather odd times, but no luggage is allowed and it only runs monday-friday.
We only stayed on Tahiti as a stop-over from New Zealand to Easter Island, and thus had opted for this hotel, as we had an amazing deal for only 99Euro a night, and enjoyed the room and lazing about at the pool. However, if you stay over the weekend I would recommend a place in town, as you are tight to the resort with its inefficient ridiculous service attitude, no supermarkets nearby, and sky high taxi prices over weekends and evenings. But if you just want to hang at the pool bar and enjoy happy hour and laze around and don't mind waiting for service - it is the best place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive review.

Your remarks concerning the restaurant have been transmitted to the chef for action.

I am glad that you appreciated our rooms and housekeeping service, we try !
Training is planned for general improvement in our servicesNo doubt you will notice this upon your return visit among us.

Merci/Thank you/Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Address: Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Arue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Unwind at this Oceanfront Resort in Tahiti.Make your escape to the tranquil Radisson Plaza Resort in Tahiti, which offers outstanding comfort and spectacular waterfront views in the lush, tropical surroundings of the 900-metre-long (half-mile long) Lafayette Beach. With its stunning oceanfront location on historic Matavai Bay, this destination resort offers easy access to a wealth of activities and attractions. Make your reservation at the Radisson Plaza and indulge in warm island hospitality and unparalleled resort services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel Arue
Radisson Plaza Hotel Tahiti
Radisson Tahiti
Tahiti Radisson
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Arue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.