We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel, room we had was fantastic, a nice place to spend a few days in Tahiti.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Splendia.com
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Arue
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel, room we had was fantastic, a nice place to spend a few days in Tahiti.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The room (2501) was fantastic, the restaurant was okay, a little expensive but I think that is normal for food in Tahiti.

It is very upmarket, and the staff are all friendly. Breakfast was excellent, and don't miss the cocktails in happy hour! Makes them very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for this kind review and appreciate the time taken to write it.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

Greatest 2013 Tahitian wishes to you and your close ones.

Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    222
    147
    83
    48
See reviews for
67
409
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First of all, this is a wonderful, lovely hotel set beside a black sand beach. This is such a contrast to regular beaches that is almost strange to walk along it, but spectatcular. The hotel sits in a delightful tropical garden with palms and other trees, right on the beach. I think all the rooms look out onto the sea, but anyway, make sure you get one of them! The waves lull one to sleep. The pool is also lovely (I'm using that word a lot!). The gym is great, plenty of equipment and the sauna and steam is great.
We found the whole resort to be in good condition, We found the whole resort to be in good condition, very clean, comfy beds, friendly and efficient staff. It's also very good value, we recently stayed in a run down Rydges in Melbourne for an extra $100 per night.

The lady in the shop arranged a car hire for us from Avis; they come to the hotel and collect you. We did a wonderful drive around the whole island and visited the surf break of Teahapou. We kept the car overnight and the next morning drove up to the Belvedere restaurant, way up on the peak overlooking Papeete, fantasique! We dropped the car and Avis said they would drive us back to the hotel at any time so we could go shopping! Which they did, no charge.

I think that this resort would suit most people, there is plenty for kids to do, including a kids club, the pool and beach are great, there is great surfing around the point at a popular, long beach break. The restaurant is reasonably priced for Tahiti and drinks are half price at happy hour. We stopped on our drive at a supermarket and stocked up on goodies, even wine. We bought a can of peaches but didn't have a can opener (clever,eh?) but I asked the kitchen to open it and they brought it back beautifully presented in a bowl on a tray! The hotel also put on a great Tahitian dance troupe for free one night.

Why to stay in Papeete. We arrived on a cruise ship after visiting 4 other Tahiti islands. I'm sure most of us like to get away from civilisation - just not too far. Well, Papeete has 170,000 people and the next largest is Moorea with 17,000. The other islands have hardly anyone there. Although beautiful there is usually only a resort hotel or local bungalows to stay in. Many of the large resorts are now closed due to a cyclone a couple of years ago, the GFC and other problems. On these islands there is no shopping except for trinkets and black pearls. Even the local shops have only the basics; lots of tinned food! I assume you can do activities arranged by the hotel or lie on the beach; these are your options. Otherwise there are miles of deserted roads to wander along. That's probably enough for some but if you want to be near a larger town with shopping, French fashions, restaurants, car hire and all the things in a small city then Papeete is the only choice. Moorea is only 30 minutes away and ferries run all day so you can still visit a less developed place. Having said that, 10 minutes either side of papeete is uncrowded with huge peaks and valleys for 4wd tours and possesses the only golf course in the islands - very nice it is too! That's just something to consider when planning your trip to Tahiti. Car hire is reasonable, about AUD$90 per day.

The Radisson is about 20 minutes out of Papeete but offers a free shuttle mornings and afternoons into the city. So for us this offered the best of both; a tranquil resort hotel next to a wonderful beach and the ability to zip into a nice, small city to wander about for a while and try all the different foods, drinks and sights.

Plus!! Free wi-fi!! they supply a cable for free in the room, fast internet.
We would love to stay here again

Room Tip: You can buy your own supplies and keep them in the room fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ia Orana,

Your advise was read and much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review and I am sure that the tips given will be most helpful for our future guests.

The Radisson Tahiti team wishes you our warmest 2013 Tahitian wishes to you and your close ones. It will be a pleasure to see you again one day.

Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a Waterfront Suite mid November. The pool is quite large and the room is nicely kept, although our bath towels continuously disappeared despite us not wanting them changed. The free wifi in the lobby is a great utility and the business centre is handy, if not a bit outdated.
The restaurant was ok, but like most food in Tahiti, very expensive. Cocktails were about $20 AUD each so I would recommend purchasing bits and pieces from the supermarket in the city centre to supplement.
The bed was very comfortable and the curtains were great block out quality, so we slept very well here.
Front desk staff were all excellent and friendly, they helped up with taxi bookings and advised us on the Ferry and Shuttle times, which was a nice touch and much appreciated.
Nice views of the sunset to the west of the resort and a black sand beach make this a comfortable, clean stay for a short visit to Papeete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for the time you spent writing this positive review, it has been a pleasure to read you and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay amongst us.

The entire Radisson Plaza Resort team look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tahiti.

Best Tahitian wishes to you and your loved ones for 2013.

Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel has a nice, clean and comfortable room. The staff are very prompt. That time, the fridge in our room does not work well and they replace it in no time. Receptionists are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant next to the pool offers a good breakfast and Tahitian dance show at the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, General Manager at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Ia Orana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I appreciate your effort and will share this with my team.

I am happy to read you appreciated your stay at the Radisson Plaza Resort and we look forward to maybe seeing you again one day.

Warmest Tahitian wishes to you and your close ones for 2013.

Mauru'uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our last night of the honeymoon before catching the flight back to Australia. Given it was our honeymoon we booked an ocean view jacuzzi room, and must say we were disappointed. First of all, the main benefits of the hotel were that it was reasonably priced (compared to other accommodation in Tahiti anyway), and that it was a little bit out of Papeete and so there were quieter surrounds. Also, the hotel did allow us to check in early which was appreciated.

However, it definitely had its negatives, for which we encountered three in our 18 hour visit. First, the ocean view jacuzzi has horizontal blinds that did not work (permanently shut), which meant that it was just a dimmed jacuzzi corner - and definitely without an ocean view. More generally, the hotel is very much in need of significant investment & renovation. Secondly, while the staff allowed us to check-in early, our towels were not delivered until almost 6pm - and required three follow-ups with concierge. Thirdly, the food, my wife had a hamburger for lunch, which was acceptable, and we both had a buffet dinner - which was average (it wasn't "terrible", but fussy eaters (like my wife) would not find the quality of the meat acceptable. We left very early in the morning to make our flight so didn't have breakfast.

As an inexpensive transit point the hotel is ok (note that it is on the opposite side of town to the airport so is a bit of a trip), however I wouldn't recommend it as a "destination" hotel unless you are after nothing more than the very basics. For most people who travel halfway around the world to come here don't make this your port-of-call.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Ia Orana,

We thank you for the time spent to write this comment about our Resort.

We understand and regret sincerely that you are disappointed on your stay with us. Also, we took your remarks in consideration and have transmited them to services concerned.

It seems that your room doesn't fit with your expectations from a destination resort.
For information, we provide lots of activities (cultural, soft sports) for free for our clients. We also provide a free shuttle to city centre of Papeete and have an Activity Desk well experimented in tours organization.

We wish you all the best and apologize for the inconvenience.

Kindest regards - Mauru'uru

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Raddison before our Bora Bora holiday. Nice hotel,but if you are staying longer get room far away from restaurant and swimming pool. Nice and spacious rooms with spa, we had 1404 with good view of ocean. Remember on this side of island beach is BLACK. Restaurant is serving good choice of meals,but if you are vegeterian plus GF than life is hard!!!.
Reception is very frendly and quick in booking your trips around island. Free shuttle to Papeete runs twice a day.
Book your trip around Tahiti with Dave - nice and very well prepared, takes about4-5 hours. For more adventures - 4x4 safari into interior valley. Recommended.

Room Tip: Far away from restaurant - block 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Warmest Tahitian greetings,

We thank you for the time spent to share your comment on our Resort.

We are glad that you appareciated so much our services. The Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti is a destination resort and we are making strong efforts to allow our clients to discover Tahiti and its culture.

We also provide free cultural activities. Just ask the program to our reception!

We wish you the best and hope to see you again.

Sunny regards - Mauru'uru

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, 1 on the way to Moorea and 1 on the way back. The staff are just wonderful, they upgraded us to the jacuzzi room both times and were so polite and helpful even at 1am and 5am. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we loved hearing the ocean while we were sleeping. The only small inconvenience we had was arriving so late we were starving but there's not a big selection on room service after 10pm, so bring plenty of change for the vending machine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahitiradisson2011, Directeur général at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Warmest Tahitian Greetings,

We thank you for your inspiring remarks ! We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us at the Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

We wish you great all the best for future trips, merci!

Sunny regard,

Mauru’uru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel Arue
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel
Radisson Plaza Hotel Tahiti
Radisson Tahiti
Tahiti Radisson
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Arue
Address: Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Arue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Arue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the infinite view over the Pacific Ocean from every room at Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, nestled in the famed Matavai Bay, surrounded by tropical gardens and facing a beautiful black-sand beach... This is truly an ideal retreat for a romantic escape in French Polynesia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.