We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Tahiti, quiet location on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Tahiti, quiet location on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going to Moorea and we really liked the style of the hotel. Our suite was nice and I loved the sound of the waves, very relaxing. The hotel is located further away from airport, however it's in quiet location on black sand beach and the waves are so amazing. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, receptionist was very kind and willing to help with everything and providing information about the island etc. It was our first stay in Radisson hotel and I would definitely stay in any other Radisson hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    285
    186
    88
    56
See reviews for
87
520
33
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

What a fantastic hotel at Papeete! The service, amenities, suites/rooms and food from the restaurants were the best I have ever experienced in all my holidays at Papeete. This was our first visit to the Radisson Plaza Resort Hotel and will definitely not be our last! I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel - you will love it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed 3 days. Hotel itself is a little generic in terms of "big hotel chains," although the rooms were nice--with a large balcony. Reception staff were excellent--very helpful in making arrangements. Restaurant staff were pleasant, by and large. Pool is great to swim and relax in. Whatever was malfunctioning was fixed within 10 minutes (safe, sliding doors). Location is OK, not great--about a 15 minute ride from town with little else around. The beach is black sand with strong currents, and is a favorite of locals for picnics and surfboarding. Food is very expensive, and the hotel has you captive ($65 buffets, w/o drinks). On the other hand, unlimited internet service is free (with your own device/laptop). Nice shops on premises for gifts. If choosing between here and Le Meridien, we found Le Meridien is better (despite reviews on Trip Advisor).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This place is great. The rooms are fantastic- modern and clean with balcony, the setting is nice, and it was really affordable in comparison to other places in Papeete. The pool and outdoor area was lovely.

However the downside is the location. Our flight arrived late so the only option was to taxi to the hotel which is a while out of Papeete city. The taxi was expensive 4500 XPF. There are also no supermarkets or restaurants close by so you have no choice but to buy food and drink from the hotel which becomes expensive. Thankfully we suspected this so bought food, drink items with us. You can get a free shuttle into the city and back but there only one or two a day last one late arvo (about 4pm). Otheriwse again it is expesnive and public transport is unreliable. They did have a live band the bar at night which was fun.

The staff were helpful and friendly. We had an issue with a plug and they got someone to fix it straight away.

While it was a great place to relax I would recommend staying closer to the airport/city if you arrive on a late flight and heading straight to the islands. If you want to see Papeete, again stay closer. If you do stay at the Radisson, and dont want to pay hotel prices for ALL meals, stop at a market first for some food supplies/snacks or use free shuttle service.

This place is great, its location just lets it down a bit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon and enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The pool has a beautiful view of the ocean and the beach was nice and calm. Our room had more than enough space and the bathroom was hip/unique.

If you are like us and used the hotel primarily to sleep and the occasional dip in the pool or beach then this hotel should do the trick. It's not as close as other hotels to the heart of the city but we were able to rent a car and get around easily. Parking at the hotel was always available.

All in all the hotel provided a comfortable room, friendly staff and a nice place to catch some sun

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This hotel has my recommendation after our two night stay upon arrival in Tahiti. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the airport or downtown Papeete and port area so you do have to use a taxi or take the twice daily shuttle provided at the hotel (we didn't use the shuttle as we were boarding a cruise and had one day on the ship right in the main port and shopping area of Papeete).
Every staff member that we had contact with was very friendly, helpful and a pleasure to interact with. We arrived late at night so did not have an opportunity to get a good picture of the hotel, resort, room location until the next morning. I was delighted to awaken early morning, sit out on our balcony to the sound of the surf just below, and watch the clouds/mist move from Moorea which we had a great view of. What a way to wake up to our first morning in French Polynesia! Coffee/tea supplies are provided in the room so we were able to enjoy the start of the day in a relaxed way. The room is modernly furnished and very clean. My only complaint would be the design of the bathroom which opens off directly beside the bed via a very large opening in the wall. The bathroom door is a large sliding glass door, so if someone is up to the bathroom during the night, it is impossible to either close the door quietly or turn the bathroom light on without light spilling onto the bed area even if the bathroom door is closed. We had internet access via cable in our room (we brought our own cable and laptop). I did hear some other guests mention that reception had provided them with a cable. WIFI is available in the lobby area.
We elected not to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant as, like other restaurants on Tahiti, the price is high. Instead we walked down the road 15 minutes to a couple of corner stores and picked up fresh baguettes, cold cuts and fresh fruit and juice. This was our breakfast for the two mornings and also great for midday snacks. There is a mini bar fridge in the room which has space to accommodate items that require refrigeration.
Daytime was spent lazily at the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the equally lovely black sand beach. Beach is shared by hotel patrons as well as locals, never crowded and fun to watch the local kids in the surf. Plenty of loungers at the pool with good selection of sun or shade locations. Options to join in water aerobic classes if you wish. Beach towels are provided however they were out of the towels when we first arrived pool side as they were awaiting the delivery of clean ones. As soon as the clean towels arrived, the pool/towel attendant delivered the towels to people who were awaiting them. Great service! Lunch, snacks and dinner prices seemed more reasonable than breakfast. We had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant which is open air and overlooks both the pool and beach. Great to watch the sunset and Moorea disappear into the night while we were dining. Fresh baked rolls are provided with the meals, food was good and again the service was so friendly and helpful. All staff are smiling and so polite. There is a tour desk in the reception area and the girl at the desk is very informative and helpful for tour arrangements. Reception staff are very helpful (our luggage had been left behind by the airline and the reception staff followed up by attempting progress report calls to the airline and promptly delivered our luggage to our room when it arrived the day after we did). There are some nice lounging chairs in the open air lobby as well. There are a couple of shops located at the hotel; one is local handicrafts and the other is more high end boutique.
A wonderful location to start our trip...I would stay here again upon return to Tahiti.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We found this place to be a great place to stay. Decent beach, everyone we came in contact with from the staff was fantastic and bent over backwards to help us in anyway they could. The breakfast buffet is very pricey so skip that but otherwise the food we had was pretty good yet a bit expensive but, everything on Tahiti seemes to be pricey. If your at the airport try and get someone to share a taxi as it was 4500 XPF.
A couple of tips I can give you, if you open the balcony door the ac shuts off so you have to close the door and take the remote outside with you and turn it off and back on. Do this and when you come back in the room will be nice and cool. Also, the business center has a pretty good internet connection and several computers and you can get wi-fi down in the lobby. We didn't have much luck connectting in the room even with their cable. However, the staff asked if we would like someone to come to the room and help get it up and running but, I told them it was ok, I could just use it in the BC or the lobby.
To close, if I knew you and you asked me should you stay here, my answer would be absolutely. We stayed 2 nights before a cruise and 1 night after.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti

Address: Lafayette Beach, PK 7, Arue 98 701, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Arue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Unwind at this Oceanfront Resort in Tahiti.Make your escape to the tranquil Radisson Plaza Resort in Tahiti, which offers outstanding comfort and spectacular waterfront views in the lush, tropical surroundings of the 900-metre-long (half-mile long) Lafayette Beach. With its stunning oceanfront location on historic Matavai Bay, this destination resort offers easy access to a wealth of activities and attractions. Make your reservation at the Radisson Plaza and indulge in warm island hospitality and unparalleled resort services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Hotel Arue
Radisson Plaza Hotel Tahiti
Radisson Tahiti
Tahiti Radisson
Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti Arue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.