We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ayurvedic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort to your Saves list
Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort
Kandamkulathy Athirappilly, Chalakudy 678581, India   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Ayurvedic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay for just one night itself was memorable as we were able to pack in a couple of treatments and soak in the beautiful surrounds of this resort. We will be back here for sure..kids loved the walking on the rocks and the swimming in the 'natures swimming pool' as the river flowed from the athirapilly falls..

Room Tip: Bathe in the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a lovely, scenic Resort.They have cottages with one and two bedrooms. Very clean and comfortable room.
The River beside the hotel is simply awesome.Over all the ambiance is good - calm and relaxing and yet classy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a short stay here but thoroughly enjoyed it. The location a bit interior though is easily accessible. The cottages are quite neat and comfortable. Due to the humid weather we felt an Ac cottage would have been better. So opt for Ac cottage stay. Food is very tasty. Though they offer you less variety the food offered is sufficiently tasty to fill your palate. In short a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently stayed in this resort with my family for 2 days. The resort is on the banks of Chalakudy River (is the name right?) and has limited individual cottages. The location is very isolated and you have to depend on the resort for everything. Cottages are clean and well maintained. Food is hopeless and for the amount they charge, what they offer is very less, both in quality and quantity. There is idly and puttu (both made from rice flour by steaming) with tea/coffee for breakfast. Dinner again is limited with chapatti, white rice, dal and veg.gravy (plus 1 chicken gravy for non vegetarians). Rs.200/- for this dinner is really too much. The major plus point is the river flows abutting the hotel and we enjoyed having a hearty dip there. Athirapally Falls & Vazhachal Falls are near by, but we had to shell out Rs.1000/- for the taxi service arranged by the resort (used by us for about 5 hours and within approx. 40 kms). I don't know anything about the ayurveda treatment given here, but, I had a consultation for my son with the resident ayurveda doctor in the resort and he has not charged any consultation fee. He prescribed some ayurveda medicines for my son, which we purchased in the pharmacy inside the resort. There is not even a tea shop loacted nearby, so it is totally isolated and you can go there only if you are taking a treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Ayursoukhyam is a nice property on the banks of a river. We visited it last week with family. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and overall the ambiance of the place was great. The best part for us was the river which is accessible from the property. We could have a long leisurely bath in the river, and my one year old daughter enjoyed it immensely.

Coming to the food - the food tasted good alright, but they sure do test your patience before serving anything! There is also no room service! We had to go all the way to the restaurant for a cup of morning tea, and had to wait approximately an hour and a half to get it!!

Judging by the name of the place don't be mislead into thinking that the place offers great ayurvedic massages. One of my cousins went for a head massage and warned us against going for one as it was very mediocre, and not worth the money at all.

On the whole, if the management steps up and brings about some improvement in the facilities in the room (more tv channels, sanitary and laundry bags etc.) and hires enough staff to handle the restaurant it would be a great value for money place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed in this resort for a night . The cottages are clean and comfortable. Very calm & quiet atmosphere.

People who want a peaceful holiday should definitly visit this place . Also good for Ayurvedic treatment .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

really a nice place to stay if you are looking for a quiet relaxing environment. and of course authentic ayurvedic treatment.. the service was really good and the hospitality was great.. the rates were also reasonable and a good value of money.. it is not a place if you want to booze and enjoy..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort

Address: Kandamkulathy Athirappilly, Chalakudy 678581, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chalakudy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chalakudy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Hotel Chalakudy
Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort Chalakudy, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.