We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaido's Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaido's Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Gaido's Seaside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3802 Seawall Blvd, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Galveston Island
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4th of July 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed at Gaido's a few times over the last few years and it is one of our favorite places. We love going out on the deck in the evening and watch the waves hit the beach. This year was the best time ever though. 4th of July there was awesome! Also we was able to stay in one of their new renovated rooms, it was beautiful! Thank you Gaido's for a great family vacation. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, General Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Tamara,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed spending your 4th of July with us. We hope you come back to see us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
75
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you want a great vacation spot go here. Our family enjoyed one of our best vacation ever barely had to leave hotel pool and hottub . Seaside walks . Safe environment . Will go back from now on . From time we arrived to check out . Received great service

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, General Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Jimmie,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed spending your 4th of July with us. We hope you come back to see us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything was good for a last minute stay, the rooms were outdated but that was not a problem for us, everything was very clean, the, i think it was the manager, because they only had a room with one bed and we needed with two, the guy took a little rollingbed or i dont know how you call it, that was very nice of him, and the other young lady at the lobby was pretty nice too. The breakfast was good for us, the only thing we didnt like was that one of the ladies who were serving the breakfast, was a bit' rude to my mom, even tho' she whas very polite to them like its suppose to be.
Overall, our stay was pretty nice there. And will be back for another weekend there
P.S: The restaurant there, (Nick's) was pretty good too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, General Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We have addressed your concerns to our owner in hopes that this will not be a problem for any future visits you might have with us. Regardless, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My first experience was 2 years ago after my wife suggested a short trip to the beach with our then 5 year old. Everything was quite surprisngly decent for as old as the hotel is. We stayed there again this year for our 4th of July trip and still quite surprised with how decent it is. Rooms are what you expect from a hotel as old as this. If you are wanting 5 star amenities then you should stay at a 5 star hotel. But if you are lookimg for a mom and pop run seaside Inn this place is really not bad at all. The rooms are slowly getting updated but nice. We had a fridge in iur roo. 2 years ago but did n8t have one this go round, we planned for it but made due with an ice chest and ice. Ice machines were "out of order" which I would assume that due to location have been shut off so random people dont fill there ice chests with free ice so we improvised by finding and ice machine near the Academy that fills ice chests for $4. 2nd floor beachside is great for those who like to sit on the porch in the mornings or evenings. I could have done without the pool bar bands and crowded pool area. The bands are usually done around 1130p or 12a, which is late in my book for an outside music venue, especially being that close to sleeping rooms. Unfortunately due to the type of crowd at the pool we did not use it much. But then again we did not come to Galveston for the pools. I would certainly reccomend this location for 4th of July though. Parade goes right down the Blvd. Fireworks are set off on thr jetty right in fro t of hotel, and we did not have to deal with the traffic or people. I imagine we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, General Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Christopher,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed spending your 4th of July with us. We hope you come back to see us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

While the beach front view was great, the price is a bit steep for what you get. The rooms are outdated, carpet on the walls, beds old and lumpy, pillows lumpy too, carpets dirty and bathrooms from the 1980s. Lobby is quite a walk for most rooms. When we got to our room, I opened the window and it was so dirty we couldn't even see the beach view. Only 4 towels per room and I knew I needed more so I walked down to the lobby to address the window and get more towels. It seemed like it was an inconvenience when I asked them to clean the window. They said they had just cleaned them the day before but I doubt it as they were filthy. I asked for more towels and was refused because of their towel exchange policy. I couldn't get more until I bring the dirty ones down to the lobby. Such an inconvenience and not at all in the best interest of the customer. I also asked for a rollaway bed and they charged an extra $15. Breakfast was good but area is too small and crowded and we had to eat outside where the seagulls were flocking around for food. The women assisting with the food seems a bit rude in their speaking and I heard one customer ask for 6 burritos for her and her family and the lady said she couldn't give her more than 5. I think overall I got a feeling they were stingy with a lot of things. No refrigerators or microwaves in rooms either. For about $25 more I could have stayed at a much nicer place. Don't think I'll return here. Definitely needs a renovation in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience while staying with us. You will be happy to know that our rooms are being renovated as we speak. We have addressed your concerns to the upper management so this never happens again.

If you decide to come back again be sure to ask about our new Queen Rooms that come with a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron, ironing board and iPhone clock radio.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Almost left after walking into the lobby - cluttered and dirty. Glad I didn't though! All employees were nice. Rooms need updating, but they're clean. Too much light seeped from behind curtain, but the beds were comfy. Pool area was nice. The location is perfect! Everything is easily accessible without a car. As a woman traveling alone with kids, I felt safe. I would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms facing Gulf will have to endure music from Nick's bar on weekend nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gaido family I empathize with you on how outdated our rooms and hotel lobby are which is why we are in the process of renovating all our rooms. We hope to have them all renovated by the end of 2015. As for our lobby we have informed the owner who has taken your concern into consideration. We hope this does not discourage you from staying with us again.

P.S. The next time you stay with us be sure to ask about our new Queen Rooms.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I have been staying at Gaido's Seaside Inn for right at 13 years. We have use them for our annual vacation and our cruise stay.
While the pool renovation is beautiful - it certainly has changed the feel. This hotel, while outdated, used to be family friendly. Now - not so much. The rooms are still the same as they have been for the last 13 years, only MORE run down. Plumbing is definitely NOT good. While the breakfast has always been mediocre, the addition of hot items is nice.
Where the issue lies is the partying taking place, the loud music late into the night, the drunks being a little to drunk around children in the pool area. Because of this, we made our trip to the pool (in mid afternoon, mind you), very short.
We also learned earler this year that Gaidos no longer offered the one night stays for cruisers. Not too cool - but we made due at Hotel Galvez.

Room Tip: Don't pay more for beach front, as the noise from the band or DJ will bother you. Non renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you felt we were not family friendly when you visited us this last time. We will do our best to make sure that does not happen again.

In regards to our rooms, we are currently in the process of renovating every room on property starting with the ones in the courtyard area. As for the pool we have asked the owner of Nick's to have the DJ play the music a little quiter but unfortunately we have very little control over their music since it is Nick's who hires the bands and DJ. Not us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaido's Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaido's Seaside Inn

Address: 3802 Seawall Blvd, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaido's Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right across from the beach our two story family owned hotel has attracted visitors from all walks of life. We have a knowledgeable and "Texas friendly" staff. Every one of them committed to pleasing you. Many of the islands attractions and dining are only a short distance away from our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaido's Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaido`s Seaside Hotel Galveston
Gaidos Seaside Inn Galveston
Gaidos Seaside Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaido's Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;