We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with the Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens

Moody Gardens
One Hope Blvd., Galveston Island, TX 77554
+1 800-582-4673
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by vivid colors and wildlife from across the globe, you're immediately engaged at the Rainforest and Aquarium Pyramids. Moments later, you're transported via state-of-the-art imagery and sound at the MG3D Theater with the world's first Giant Screen 6P Laser Projector on the largest screen in Texas. Then, the thrill of the Ropes Course and Zip Line, Speed Exhibition and Colonel Paddlewheel Boat awaits. And whether it's morning golf, a spa afternoon, a Palm Beach playdate, or a dreamy overnight hotel stay, take this moment and make it your own as you immerse yourself in some real quality time.
Conroe, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun with the Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Moddy Gardens provided some great instruction for the children on nature and fish. However, the greatest attraction for my twin 3-year-old grandsons was watching the fish. Moody Gardens has a glass wall under the water where guests can view fish. One of the attendants was feeding the fish and my Grandsons were thrilled to see fish up so close in their natural habitat. They watched the fish for over and hour. As the attendant fed the fish, they ca,e right up to the glass wall and the boys would giggle and talk. It was so fun. We also viewed a movie about the South Pacific that was great for the older children. I like it too. The prices are a little high, so plan on taking money if you want to see the movie or eat. There is a charge to get into the Gardens which is high for children because the little ones were a little bored with the zoo-like birds and butterflies. But the price was worth it to watch the fish. If you have never been to Galveston, be sure to go Moody Gardens. For adults it is interesting and educational. It is also great for teen-agers. The tiny children may be a little bored, except for the fish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    262
    145
    76
    63
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vidor, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Only went to the aquarium on this visit-a lot more expensive than when we went a number of years ago but it was still awesome. Anyone that loves to see water dwelling creatures in their "natural" habitat will love this place. Especially during feeding times. Great for kids of all ages.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Palm Beach at Moody Gardens”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I'm a Texas native that's heard about Moody Gardens in Galveston for several years and I finally visited today. Our family went to the Palm Beach at Moody Gardens for $120 (on a Monday in July). I'm sure when it first open, it was a pleasant enough outing for the family, but it's obvious that the money they are making is not going into maintenance and refurbishing. The park looked old and dirty. The changing rooms were small and filthy. There were clearly not enough toilets (two were out of order), showers, or changing stalls for all the guests needing them. Flimsy curtains to changing stalls and showers were ripped and mildewed and hooks for our bags were missing. It was bad enough that I complained to the management. I think it could still be a nice water park and beach, but whoever is managing it is too busy taking people's money to focus on maintenance. I will NOT be going there ever again. Sadly, it was NOT worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Aquarium, A Good Two Hour Distraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The aquarium has lots to look at. We enjoyed the different loops that focused a different eco area. We did find navigating the inter locking loops a bit confusing at first. I enjoyed the penguins they put on quite a show for the crowds.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Small aquarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were staying at the Moody Gardens hotel, and with two small children in tow, we purchased tickets just for the Aquarium. We arrived before it opened and so there was no line for purchasing tickets. We then walked around the area until the 10 a.m. opening time. There was plenty to see with gardens and a play area for the small children in our group.

Is the aquarium huge like one might encounter in San Francisco or New Orleans? No, so don't expect a huge experience. What will you see? Small tanks with a variety of animals: penguins, sea lions, turtles, varieties of fish, sharks, eels, sea horses, etc.

The toddlers I toured with were enchanted and we were there over two hours, so that's a fairly good long time for them to be entertained.

I think if you are staying in the hotel (located just across the parking lot) then you will not want to pass on one of the pyramid buildings. My three-year-old grandson was also enchanted with the Rainforest with its butterflies.

Would I drive to Galveston to see the Aquarium. Probably not, but on a trip to Galveston for the beach, this is a cool break from the heat, beach and sand.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Moody Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.