We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting, beautiful landscapes, everyone who loves nature should visit- at least once;-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens

Moody Gardens
One Hope Blvd., Galveston Island, TX 77554
800-582-4673
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Work or play, this subtropical island destination is ideal for families and groups alike. Features a variety of unique attractions, a 4-diamond hotel, spa & convention center and an 18-hole seaside-links golf course.
Jennings
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting, beautiful landscapes, everyone who loves nature should visit- at least once;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The aquarium pyramid was my family's favorite. Me and my husband, and 9 & 11 year old daughters. There was an abundant amount of fish and mammels. Penguin's were awesome to interact with;-) The Rainforest pyramid was my favorite- I felt like I was on a tropical island. Lots of birds and exotic flowering plants! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day adventure!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    183
    107
    65
    51
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Nice exhibits; too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the Moody Gardens Hotel and visited the rain forest and aquarium. I have been to many zoos and aquariums and the first part that sticks out is the cost to see these attractions. Most top zoos, etc. take 3 hours to see. It only took me about an hour to see each of these attractions and the cost was too high. I believe the price needs to come down to about $15 per attraction and you get a bigger discount if you are a guest of the hotel. Other large chains like Universal and Disney give perks to their hotel guests and Moody should as well.

The rain forest is really neat. I love unusual plants and trees. My daughter had studied the different layers of the rain forest and was able to identify with the exhibits. We saw alot of unusual birds but the best part was a saki monkey hanging out over a tree of the pathway with a sloth and fruit bats nearby. We also liked the butterfly exhibit and later seeing the chrysalis section. This area is humid because it's a large glass greenhouse so plan your visit accordingly with the weather.

The aquarium is very nice as well. A great variety of exhibits and a few wow factors. The seal exhibit is one of the best I have ever seen. The penguin exhibit was also great. The shark tunnel was fun to walk through.

I would recommend both of these exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
“Palm Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The beach was very clean. There were people of all ages. It was a very fun experience for my 3 year old grandson!! But the FOOD was terrible!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A few neat things”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm from SC and have visited a lot of aquariums in my life time. This aquarium did not live up to my expectations. I was very disappointed in it. There are a few unique animals, but I have seen a lot better displays. If the price was not so expensive I probably would have given it a better review, but I feel if I'm going to pay so much then it better be worth the trip. If you have never been to an aquarium before then you would enjoy it because there is nothing else to compare it to. If you have been to some nice aquariums, my advise is to save your money for something else.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lots to do -- educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was quite impressed by Moody Gardens. There was so much to do – you could literally spend most of the weekend on their property visiting the exhibits, educational films, Palm Beach, etc. I will say, if you aren’t into educational adventures, I would recommend going elsewhere.
There is a lot of walking and reading, so I wouldn’t recommend if you have really young ones. Even with a wheelchair, there were a lot of ramps to navigate that were quite tiring.
I would recommend going anytime other than the summer. While most is air conditioned, the heat coupled with the walking/pushing/toting/etc is too much. Not to mention because it is on the Gulf, it is quite humid.
The staff was pleasant. The grounds were well-maintained. Everything was accessible, though in some cases the wheelchair couldn’t experience the full effects (4D film – the seat vibrates/moves/shoots air; RideFilm – no way to get on the ride, would have to watch the film from stationary position behind the ride; taking pictures with the face cut-outs – there were stairs, not ramps to get to cut-outs).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Moody Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moody Gardens to your Saves list