We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akerreta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Akerreta to your Saves list
Hotel Akerreta
Calle Transfiguracion, 11, 31698 Akerreta, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akerreta
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Views all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early October 2012 while we were doing a few lengths of the Camino: the situation is quite superb, the public rooms are widespread with an interesting architectural heritage and our bedroom was great too with fantastic views across the valley. Probably the food let it down: it just wasn't very interesting and a little overpriced for what was on offer compared to other places. But nonetheless a great place to stay and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here on our Camino, which is right on the doorstep, and is a location used in the film The Way. Joseph was a wonderful host. The evening meal was delicious and beautifully presented. The bedrooms are stunning as are the main lounges. This truelly is a very relaxing place to stay. If you are doing the Camino, book ahead. Then sit and enjoy the stunning views.
Many thanks to Joseph for his kind hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Myself and friends stayed here on our Camino adventure, it was a wonderful resting place, we had a beautiful mea and the peace and tranquility was amazing. Would highly recommened, and do book it in advance...Buen Camino

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel but had to cancel, which I did according to the hotel's stated policies. First they said that they would not charge me if the web site I used to book the room would agree. Then when the website said they would, the hotel staff changed their story and still insisted on charging my credit card for two nights, even though they had only taken the room off the market for one days time. I don't know how the hotel room is, but know that the manager with whom I dealt was not an honest person.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! My husband and I indulged ourselves in a night here on the camino de santiago and it was everything we could possibly have asked for! The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. When we checked in, we chose what we wanted to have for dinner. They even had corn pasta which was great for me as I am celiac. Our room was huge, with a massive comfy double bed and glorious views from our geranium-covered balcony. We apparently had the room Martin Sheen stays in in The Way. We had drinks on the terrace and watched the sun set over the hills, before heading into the restaurant for a simple but delicious meal. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Akerreta for two nights just recently. It is a beautifully renovated 17th century Basque house, on the famous 'Camino'. We had the most beautiful room with balcony overlooking the stunning countryside, in fact the very balcony where Martin Sheen was seen in the film 'The Way'. Everything about the hotel is stunning and the patio outside is the perfect place to unwind at the end of the day. The owners are charming and friendly people. If you ever have the chance to visit this area, you should treat yourself to a little bit of heaven in Hotel Akerreta!!!
Ann Marie and Owen (Ireland)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for a night while doing the camino, while it's early in the trip to treat yourself, it is well worth staying here. It's is a little outside Larrasoaña. It is full of character, it was built in the middle of the 17th century. There are no lifts, and the stairs can be a challenge after a few days of walking but it's worth it. The couple who run the place, are lovely, very friendly. The food is excellent and there is a comfortable bar area to rest your weary feet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Akerreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akerreta

Address: Calle Transfiguracion, 11, 31698 Akerreta, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Akerreta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akerreta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Akerreta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akerreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.