We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Hortensia to your Saves list
B&B Hortensia
Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) B8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The Hortensia is very clean, comfortable, and in a good location. Andre, the owner, is very helpful, and good at recommending places to visit.. When I arrived, late in the evening, he offered a cup of tea, which was needed after a long journey from the UK. The room was very comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom (with a good shower) and a TV with some British TV channels (BBC 1, BBC 2, and ITV). The breakfasts were very good, with cereals, jams, fresh breads and rolls. I would recommend the Hortensia for anyone wanting simple B&B accommodation in Ieper.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Right next to the battlements of Ypres (where my great grandfather was posted during the 3rd battle of Paschendale in Oct 1917) the b&b is very conveniently located to explore the region. A 20 min walk into the centre of Ypres, with plenty free on street parking available.

Rooms were spotless and very clean, a functional place, if a little sparse. Good breakfast, a great idea to have individual toasters at each table.

Andre was helpful and very pleasant, a good host.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

ticks all boxes for a wonderful stay....have stayed here on many occasions, Andre could'nt be more friendly and helpful and he is also an excellent source for local knowledge. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast in typically continental (after all we are in Belgium!) with plenty to choose from. In comparison to alternative acommodation in Ypres, the Hotel Hortensia is unbeatable! Great stay and greaty value!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Two thumbs up for this place. Andre, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful - readily volunteering information about the area. We had a twin room on the upper floor (no lift/elevator so be prepared to carry bags) which was clean and roomy. I suspect it gets warm up there but it rained the night we stayed, which kept the temperature comfortable. Investing in a ceiling fan to cool the room down might be a good idea, but again, we had no problems. Breakfast was simple and typical of what you'd find on the continent (cereals, yogurt, breads, cheese etc.). Location-wise, Hortensia in on the fringe of Ypres but within a 15 minute walk of the Grote Market where museums, cafes and shopping are plentiful. Very lovely town, Ypres and the Hortensia gives you a taste of the local life. [Try the pizza at Poppys in town!] I would have preferred to check in earlier but the typical check-in time at Hortensia is after 5pm, FYI. All in all, a pleasant experience and I'd certainly return if the opportunity was there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

For a one night stay to visit war cemeteries and the Menin Gate this would be hard to beat. Very clean and well priced. Host welcomed us with a cup of tea when we arrived in the rain. Upstairs room fine, although floor creaked slightly. Bathroom good; breakfast fine. André is an interesting man, who speaks excellent English. DIscount if you pay in cash (€64 for twin room).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I found Hortensia by internet search and booked via email with Andre. This is alway a tricky way of doing it as you never know what you will find but i must say we were delighted.
3 of us arrived on our motorcycles and were able to park them in Andre's garage for the duration of our stay.

My room was clean and comfortable (all that i had hoped for), and at a good price.

I found Andre to be pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast could do with a little variety but that's splitting hairs really.

Would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location and garage for our motorbikes.
  • Disliked — Could do with a little more variety at breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

As soon as we walked in we were told to close doors and turn off lights, not a good start. We were offered a cup of tea as we were soaking wet, the B&B was immaculately clean although we hit another problem NO HEATING when it was turned on it was so low you could hardly feel it.

Andre was a bit of a Jeckyll and Hyde. On the one hand very helpful and on the other following you around making sure you would not dirty his floors even at one point following us around with a sweeping brush which made us feel very uncomfortable.

The last straw was being accused of stealing one of his broken umberellas.

I don't think we'll be going back.

  • Liked — CLEAN, TIDY, LOCATION
  • Disliked — NO HEATING OVER FUSSY OWNER
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) B8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Hortensia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.