We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Belgium meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Fino

Bistro Fino
Tempelstraat 6, Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
057 360 387
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: run by a beer sommelier and a wine sommelier
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Quality Belgium meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food at Bistro Fino was so much better than the restaurants around the Market Square and only a 5 minute walk. While the menu was only available in Belgium the waiter / Maitre d' was more than happy to explain all dishes in detail to me in English. What I really enjoyed was being able to try some authentic Belgium cuisine that wasn't just "for tourists" as I had tried on the 2 previous nights. The food was freshly prepared, flavorsome and serving size perfect. The wine and beer list was well priced and the recommendations made were good. Service was attentive without being pushy. I enjoyed the overall experience so much I returned the following evening and I was remembered and welcomed back - I wish I had discovered it the first night rather than trying a couple of the tourist traps on Market Square where the food was average and service non-existent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Belgian cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Forget chicken and chips or Flemish stew this restaurant prepares fabulous classic dishes using local ingredients. There is an excellent of beers and wine from the area. Yes Belgium does grow wine. There is a warm welcome when ever you go. The puddings are a delight as well as the chocolates with the coffee. We had stayed in the hostel above the restaurant last year and we were determined to have a meal this year. Our expectations were not let down at all - a fantastic meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

First night in Ypres we were looking for a good restaurant and found well reviewed restaurants all full. Fortunately, we spotted this and tried it.
The food was truly exceptional and the service really attentive and friendly. Will go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Creative dining in the center of Ieper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A bit away from the more touristic restaurants at the Grote Markt, this place offers you very good food for an incredible price. We had the saturdayevening-surprise dinner: four courses all included for 50 euro is a bargain. The atmosphere was really cozy and the food was suprisingly good. We choose to pair the food with their beer suggestions. Incredible!
To be short: a very nice experience for a very small price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wervik
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

had dinner overthere last saturday with some friends.
nice, clean and modern interior
service ok
price ok
food not bad but nothing special

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Fino also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro Fino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Fino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.