We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an important site with an appropriate marker...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Julien Memorial

Saint Julien Memorial
Saint Julien, Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Such an important site with an appropriate marker...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The saint julien memorial is outside of Ieper, but easily found with a good map of the surrounding area. We rented bikes, which was a great way to find this memorial, and many others. The soldier's face shows the mood of anyone contemplating the reasons for, and the outcomes of,the Great War. Knowing that this is the site of the First gas attacks gives it such historical meaning. The "why?" of human fighting becomes an even bigger question after seeing this. Another must-see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Quiet and Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As a Canadian, the chance to be able to visit a Canadian memorial while overseas is a privilege. The St. Julien "brooding soldier" was a beautiful memorial, and the grounds equally so. A former dressing station and home to one of the many cemeteries in the area, this is a quiet place to sit and reflect, or a quick stop while touring the history of the Salient. Either way, moving and well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“The Brooding Soldier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Despite the title and the name of the memorial, I can't say that I saw this soldier as "brooding" as to me this conjures images of resignation. To me, the soldier on this loveliest and most moving of Ypres Salient's memorials is active and watchful, mourning and honouring at the same time. This is a strong memorial, a touching memorial, a thoughtful memorial. You can tell from the face that the lose was deep and dear, something very personal. Here again, as so many of the memorials in Ypres Salient, the sword is integrated with the Christian cross -- an artistic gesture I truly admire, but a symbolism that is missing on me. While I had been struck all day by the bold memorials with so many names, the absence of names here is striking. Dedicated to the soldiers of my beloved Canada, the monument is fully universal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Moving monument that is surrounded by a peaceful garden. It commemorates those that died during gas attacks. Worth a visit and a moment of silence.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I found my uncle grave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

St. Julien dressing station is small well kept cemetery four miles
From Ypres .
Like all cemetery's well kept in and around Ypres ,witch I found very moving.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Julien Memorial also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Saint Julien Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Julien Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.