We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to a nbr 1 ranking in Ypres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella

Capella
Kiekenmarkt 7, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
057366132
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eastbourne East Sussex England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lives up to a nbr 1 ranking in Ypres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Chose to eat at Capella due to the number 1 ranking on Trip Advisor, Food and service firest class in a discreet fashionable setting. Situated off the tourist trail but easy to find just below the old fish market. Only slight criticism is that the menu is not vast. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
irelad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of the nicest meals I have ever eaten and very reasonably priced in beautiful restaurant. A very special evening!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food from a lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I had a great meal here at Capella - which was recommended to us by Carine at the Main Street Hotel. The food was fresh, delicious and reasonably priced. The service was excellent and the restaurant had a much nicer feel than the tourist type restaurants located near the church/town center. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The food is average. No surprises. But if your looking for cosy and friendly restaurant. This is the place to be in Ieper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I had dinner in this very nice small restaurant based on other tripadvisor reviews. It turned out to be a very good choice and we had a wonderful meal in a very nice and friendly atmosphere.The restaurant is in the city center but a bit tucked away so not overrun. However, it´s necessary to book a table as the restaurant is not that big and it´s quite popular. We went for one of the set menus (carpaccio with fois gras, fried scampi on top of Saint Jacques musles and trio of ice. Served with well chosen accompanying wines. Everything served was perfect and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The bill came to 120 EUR for two and it was absolutely value for money. Can only recommend this very nice restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capella also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Capella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.