We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alert” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Poppies B&B

The Poppies B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poppies B&B
Save
You added The Poppies B&B to your Saves list
G. De Suersstraat 6, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 48 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If planning to sys here over next 2 years be aware it is currently a building site. Walls knocked down whilst here. Dust everywhere. No fire escape for guitar part of week. Drain fractured/ no need to say more about that. Facilities reduced for social area. Builders arriving from 7am.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanVanderstraete, Owner at The Poppies B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
As the owner I’m not sure if this review is about our place, and here is why:

- “A building site”:
The "building site" is the new property we have acquired next-door. The Poppies Hotel is clean as it always is. A building site next-door does not mean the Poppies Hotel is one.
- “Walls knocked whilst there”:
Not a single wall has been taken down whilst this group was staying there. The only thing we removed was an old small chimney that was not used since decades in a far corner of the hotel. We did these works whilst the group was away during the day. The only thing we were doing when the group got back was cleaning the corridor. Safety was not at risk for a single moment. We also clearly notify our guests of this in the information booklet we handover on arrival so people were 100% aware of what was going on.
- “Dust everywhere”:
The little dust produced by these chimney works was removed immediately. We talk about a period of 30 minutes before nothing was left of this intervention. "Everywhere" should also be reduced to a "small corridor area of 5 meters".
- “No fire escape”:
Safety of our guests is one of our biggest concerns. Fire safety is always top priority number 1 and is always intact.
Fire escapes are always accessible off course!
- “Drain fractured”:
The drain fracture was immediately fixed by our own technical staff. We are very sorry this happened but things go broke and when they do, we always repair it immediately. So to avoid any misunderstanding: The drain was fixed immediately .
- “Facilities reduced for social area”:
The extra facilities this group always benefited from in the past were always a privilege and not part of the standard facilities that every single group enjoys and appreciates. Social facilities were not reduced, only social privileges were reduced.
- “Builders arriving from 7AM”:
Our workers all are working in the property next-door and not in Poppies Hotel where the group was staying. Only when there are repairs to do in the hotel the workers come to The Poppies to fix problems.

Conclusion:
We never have incited our guests to write positive reviews about our hotels because we don't want to bother them with this but I think we will be forced to do so in order to avoid that people are misled.
Immediately after this group left, another UK-group arrived and checked out this morning. Not a single remark, none, apart from the fact that they had a great stay and want to come back next year.
What more can I say…
Thank you,
Stefaan Vanderstraete
General Manager Poppies School Hotel – Ypres
01/06/2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the poppies sister Hotel -The Salient which is very similar to the Poppies, we stayed in the poppies a few years ago but had a larger group this year so moved to the Salient. The Salient and the poppies are excellent - they are exactly what groups need. If you want a 5 star luxury hotel, then these are not for you -if you want friendly owners, classic Belgian buildings with the decor and ambiance that is wonderful then they are for you. Rooms are basic but perfect for groups - all ensuite, all perfect for groups. the wifi is free, there is internet access and games rooms and a cheap mini bar for the staff. The ability to use a microphone that can be heard in all rooms is great - makes communication so easy, the hotels are 2 mins walk from the square and they have keycode access so no danger of losing a key. The meals are outstanding - they are in local high class restaurants with every student loving them, they make really nice food and are quick in their service. The whole experience is excellent and every one wants to come back. A top set of hotels with everything that groups want.
Mark H

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanVanderstraete, Owner at The Poppies B&B, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
What a nice review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
:-)
Kind regards,
Stefaan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I havent felt the need to review yet on this website, however, having been on many school trips and visiting many below-par places, I have to say this falls short as one of the worst.

Upon first glance of the exterior and interior of the building - the perception is that it that this B&B rather nice. The lounge downstairs complements a 20th century approach and is relatively comfortable and spacious, accommodating many people. A sociable area is present with games, around 10 computers with internet and vending machines. A TV and nice lavatories are present on the ground floor. So far, excellent.

However, that is where the good ends. We had a briefing on what was required, which sounded like we had to do everything ourselves, and that any breakages would mean extortionate prices to pay to the owner e.g 750 euros for setting fire alarm with deodorant. We received the key for I believe room 11 (the one on the top floor furthest left). Upon entering the room, an eruption of laughter began to what may as well have been a prison/concentration camp room. We nicknamed it 'little Venezuela', which was rather fitting to its 3rd world qualities. The room was around the same size as your average prison room, and had to accommodate 4 people. There was literally about 1 metre squared of free space once luggage had been placed (even under the bed!). The flooring was predominately wood and caused splinters on my feet. There were no cupboards, shelves or any storage facilities for our luggage. There was one window in the room which opened about 2cm, I dont understand why, but as a guess I would assume it is to stop people escaping. This meant at times the room was very warm and rather stuffy due to the central heating as well as the powerful light. When night fell however, it then appeared that the heating was turned off, and due to the hard materials used in the room, it was freezing. Not something i would expect at a hotel, even at the quoted 22.5 euros a night.

Aside from the structure of the room, was what we came to the hotel for - the beds. There were two bunk beds made with metal and wood. There was a blue ragged blanket item left on the bed, as well as obviously a mattress. The pillows/mattress were not comfortable at all, giving me shoulder/back pain and the bed was also very creaky during the night. There was also a lot of graffiti below the top bunk, in view if you look up from the bottom bunk bed. Sexual obscenities written in pen as well as phone numbers were placed here. Chewing gum was also visible. Perhaps it is harsh to criticise the hotel owner for this, but further thought would have enivisinaged quite a simple solution to prevent this, as it does not exactly set a good impression.

The worst part of the room was the very small toilet room. An individual room in itself, which is something I do not approve of. The interior of the room was nothing short of dreadful, with mould as well as a hole being being present in the corner of this room. The door was situated next to the toilet - so your head was pressed against the door. The toilet door also had no lock. A recipe for disaster. The toilet was very plastic and cheap, and visiting it was a horrendous experience. I assume they did not want their guests to adopt good hygiene as a sink to wash your hands was in a seperate room, the shower room, and soap was too much of a commodity to be given for free.

The shower room may as well have been the best part of the room, as there was a functioning shower as well as many shelves, so we could place all our toiletries. That is not to say it didnt have it flaws, the walls seemed to have white paint splashed on them, and there seemed to be a rather unnecessary free amount of space next to the shower, I seem to recall some mould being present as well. All in all however - this room was generally O.K.

Perhaps we got unlucky in recieving this room, but the general concencus in the tour group was one of dismay of this so called B&B. If you want any comfort whatsoever in your visit to the beautiful town of Ypres I cannot recommend it. The location of this hotel and bar area is excellent but the in room facilties are so bad, you could expect to see it in the hotel inspector. Serious room renovantions need to be made. Im glad we only stayed 2 nights, it made the youth hostel in France seem like the ritz!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor, I believe are the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ieper (Ypres) hotels

Gosport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went there on a school trip to Belgium. I stayed in room 5, which wasn't labelled so had trouble finding it, and the room was tiny. There was 6 of us in the room but we had no place to store our luggage. In the shower the door didnt shut properly, neither did the water go down the plug so it nearly flooded. The matteress wasnt the best but i slept well. However only one pillow was provided and we only had blankets as duvets. I managed to go through 5 blankets and all of which were covered in hairs from other people, so they musn't of been washed for a while. Breakfast was terrible, the bread didnt toast properly on the toaster and the cereals that were there were disgusting. Facilities though were good, there was a games room which was fun.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 are not labelled. They are to the right of the arrow shopwing from 3-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poppies B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poppies B&B

Address: G. De Suersstraat 6, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at The Poppies, Low Budget Hotel. Located next to the market square of Ypres, it's the ideal destination for battlefield visitors. It takes less than 3 minutes walking to arrive at the market square. In two minutes more you attend the Last Post at the Menin Gate ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poppies B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.