We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly - great kai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyper

Cyper
Grote Markt 5 | 8900 Ieper, Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
057217339
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 85 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Raurimu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly - great kai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After a long day travelling the Flanders battlefields, this was the perfect stop for dinner before the daily Last post ceremony at the Menin Gate just up the road about 100 metres...the service was fast, the food was great: between the four of us we have vol au vent, salmon, chicken roast and steak, sharing a big bowl of frites...all the meals were filling and delicious and covered a broad enough range that I'd be confident stating that all the food at Cyper would be as good.

Both the young ladies that served us spoke good English and were cheekily entertaining (or entertainingy cheeky), their banter only adding to our experience.

The location is only 100 metres from both the Menin Gate and the Flanders Fields Museum in the Cathedral - both must-visits in Ieper...

Less than 80 euros for four great meals + drinks with entertaining service...unbeatable. I hope to come back to Ieper next year and will definitely be dining at Cyper again...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quimper, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An excellent introduction to Flanders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed dinner here and were pleasantly surprise as the owner speaks perfect French and told us a lot about the Flemish. The food was excellent, especially the meat cuts, (steak for my wife and tartare for myself). Serice was friendly and mostly efficient - it was evident that the enthusiastic young lady was new on the job. Main dish and desert for both, a glass of wine as an apéritif and a carafe with the meal resulted in a reasonable bill of less than 65€

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mussels and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Has mussels and chips here, possible the best I've ever had in Belgium. Friendly staff, nice environment like it so much went back the following day just for a lunch time drink and waffle.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well situated, good quality food,drink and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Cyper is Ideally situated for the Menin Gate in Ieper square and offers an extensive food and drinks menu at reasonable prices and is good quality. It has both inside and outdoor seating, has very good service and no complaints with the food and drink quality- I went there pre menin gate and it is a popular venue at that time and that creates a decent ambience. There are a number of similar establishments close by but the overall experience here makes it well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyper also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cyper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.