We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tatty, friendly hotel in central Ieper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Tom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Old Tom
Grote Markt 8, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tatty, friendly hotel in central Ieper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My brother and his family's 46th birthday present to me was a four-day pilgrimage to the Ypres Salient, to explore where our grandfather fought in the First World War as a Captain in the Royal Scots Fusiliers in the Third Battle of Ypres (wounded three times, our Grandad survived the war, and died in 1986 aged 92 just in case you were wondering!). My brother and I spent three nights in a twin room in The Old Tom.

My first impressions were that the single wooden staircase was steep (there is no lift nor any other exit route in case of fire), the bannister very wobbly, and the paintwork chipped. Our room, on the third floor right at the top of the hotel, smelt strongly of drains, so initially I wasn't impressed. But after we had flushed the loo a couple of times and opened a window the smell went, and I started to fall in love with this tatty hotel.

The staff were utterly charming and helpful, and although they were Flemish-speaking, all were very happy to speak to us in English. The population in this area are notoriously unfriendly to French-speakers, but we witnessed someone ordering a drink in French and being treated with politeness and replied-to in French.

Our room was basic and clean, and the en-suite bathroom was modern and hygeni (once the smell had gone), and the hotel's free wi-fi was strong and very quick.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, bread rolls, cheese and cold meat, which was great, and later in the day when the hotel turned into a restaurant /bar (I'm guessing that this is their main income) the food was simply wonderful, and the house-wine was so good that initially we thought that they had made a mistake and a given us a thirty euro bottle, instead of a ten euro one.

Virtually every visiter to Ieper goes at least once to the daily 8pm Last Post sounded beneath the vast Menin Gate, and you may like to know that the buglers (who are mostly local firemen and policenmen) often go for a drink or a meal with their wives afterwards, and it is the Old Tom that they go to. So if you want to meet them then this is where you go - they were having a birthday party when we were there, and they kindly invited us to join them.

My overall impression - if you are a group of chaps visiting battlefields then this hotel is perfect; my feeling is that if you have ladies with you then you might like to try somewhere smarter and more expensive. But I loved it and will stay there again next time I visit.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Although this is my first trip to Europe, this hotel is what I imagined European hotels would be. We were greeted by a friendly gentleman at the desk (the owner?) who gave us a couple of keys to have a look at the rooms prior to checking in. We lugged our suitcases up 3 flights of narrow stairs down a dark hallway into a smallish room. It was great! The beds were comfortable and the washroom was modern and fine. Our room looked out over the square and the fact that we were on the third floor gave us a great view of the area.
The main floor was a restaurant where we had our included breakfast the next morning. Excellent coffee, bread cheese and meat. We used some of the bread to make a sandwich as we were hitting the road immediately after breakfast.
I would definately stay here again should I ever find myself in the Ypres area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishopbriggs, glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Dont know how many times we have stayed at Old Tom, Filip and staff are so friendly and welcoming, they are all so helpful ensuring our holiday is comfortable..
Old Tom is in the best location in the town, handy for everything.
Clean rooms, more than sufficient for our stay and certainly value for money.
We used the resturant on several occasions and their food is good value and obviously freshly made. (Try their waffles, strawberries and cream................heaven!!!)
Deffinatley be back next year, thanks Filip and family
Fraser and Morag :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Visited Old Tom as a result of a recomendation from a previous visitor. Wasn't disappointed. The location is excellent, right in the town square of Ypres. The staff were very welcoming and spoke superb English. Food was good and ranged from 8 to 28 euro's for a main course. Drinks were reasonably priced to. I arrived on a motorcycle and Filip (owner?) offered me secure parking in a garage approximately 5 mins walk from the hotel. Overall very satisfied and will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Clean but basic rooms. Ask for a room overlooking the town square. With in walking distance of Menin gate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

A large group (arriving late after a long journey!) received a warm welcome and a good hearty meal for a very fair price in this cosy restaurant. Service was excellent and several of us returned for dinner on subsequent days.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Exceptional location right in the heart of the city center, convenient to everything. The hotel is above a restaurant and restaurant staff are also the hotel staff. This is a no frills place, but it's plenty comfortable and you couldn't ask for a better location. It's only a three minute walk to the Menin Gate for the traditional Last Outpost in honor of those that fought and died in the fields of Ypres during the first world war. The restaurant downstairs is excellent and offers a variety of choices on its menu.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Old Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Tom

Address: Grote Markt 8, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Tom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Old Tom to your Saves list