We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albion Hotel to your Saves list
Albion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St.-Jacobsstreet 28, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Slough
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Ideally situated in the lovely city of Ieper, this hotel was excellent. Spotlessly clean, good size rooms, with a fine breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our party all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel!! I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    118
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
196
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights . Of all the hotels we stayed in on our Battlefield tour Ypres to Bayeux this was the best . Clean spacious rooms , excellent breakfast , quiet but just 2 blocks from the town square . Staff very helpful .. Will go back and stay again .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed for two nights in August and Christiane and her staff were very warm, welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We had our 18 month old daughter with us and the room was ready with a cot, and a high chair was available at breakfast time. My parents were in the next room and as we were the only two rooms through the fire door (110 and 111 I think) we were able to keep the doors open when we were in during the day so our daughter could run freely, which was an added bonus. Breakfast was more than adequate and I have it on good authority from my husband and dad that the beers were more than enjoyable in the lounge/bar during the evening. Will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

An entry in the hotel's Visitors' Book reads: "the best small hotel in Europe" and this really says it all. The Albion is small, quiet, intimate and welcoming. The location is brilliant - a few minutes walk to the Menin Gate and the town square which fairly bustles with an amazing array of cafes and restaurants.Our room was excepionally spacious with a large bathroom...not what you expect in what looks such a small building. This was our second stay at the Albion and we were able to request the same room. The bed was large and very comfortable; the room was not air-conditioned but the large windows could be opened to take advantage of any breeze; and there was no traffic noise (although on our first night we were woken with a start by a fireworks display on the town square!). What is really memorable for us about the Albion is the friendliness of the staff and the proprietor. And when finding that we had to leave well before breakfast to catch a train, she ensured that a packed breakfast was ready for us as we snuck out the front door.
If you're looking for a hotel with a reception desk that is manned 24 hours a day or a bar that hums until the wee small hours, then the Albion is not for you. But if you want a quiet, comfortable stay, with a very adequate breakfast, and great service, you will not find better in this location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

First impressions are good; the hotel looks very well maintained, both inside and outside. The hotel has a good sized bar/lounge area, which doubles as the breakfast restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

A smallish - medium size family hotel in which reception is not always manned - though this cause no inconvenience.

The room and bedding were clean, although we felt the room styling to be a little dated with orange coloured walls and non flat screen TV, - although for use as a base to see the various battlefield sights, this was of no real importance to us (but is merely mentioned to give a true reflection of our stay).

The hotel is located in a backstreet location, but nevertheless is only a 2 minute walk from the town square, with its restaurants, and also from the famous Menin Gate. We felt the location ideal, because though so close to the Square, shops, museums and restaurants etc, it was peaceful and quiet at night. Additionally, there is ample car parking adjacent to the Albion.

Breakfast was good, - typical continental style, by buffet - eat as much as you like. We did find the bar atmosphere a little subdued however, both on the Saturday evening of our stay, and also at breakfast.. Again however. this was peaceful and relaxed.

Overall, I would summarise this as a friendly, clean, centrally located family hotel of, in our opinion 2 - 3 star standard. Happily recommended.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

An ideal hotel for visits to Ypres and the Flanders Battlefields. The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. Our rooms were a good size and were very clean and comfortable with lovely views of the church. As we had our windows open, there was some noise from the road at night so visitors who want plenty of fresh air might prefer a room at the back. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel is very well-placed close to the centre of the town and just a short walk from the Menen Gate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We have just returned from our fifth stay at the Albion. As ever we were made very welcome by Christiane and her delightful staff.

The hotel provides all that anyone could reasonably want as part of an enjoyable stay in Ieper and as a base to visit the Ypres Salient.

Have already booked for 2010!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: St.-Jacobsstreet 28, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.