We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, welcoming and reliable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albion Hotel to your Saves list
Albion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St.-Jacobsstreet 28, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly, welcoming and reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

I had the opportunity to stay at the Albion after it was recommended by some australian friends. They were absolutely correct. I was on a very quick trip from Paris to visit my great uncle's war grave. Christianne personally showed me to the room, gave me some useful tourist tips, and a map of the area. The room was large and well equipped. There was free parking around the hotel. All advice given was helpful and made the trip so much easier. The breakfast was plentiful and set in a lovely dining room. All other staff were friendly and helpful too.
The personal but unobtrusive service made it a delightful place to stay within easy walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    118
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
196
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

The Albion Hotel is exactly as described by the owners - how often does that happen? It started well with an email booking being so personal and friendly that I was pretty sure there actually was a hotel as stated. We were very warmly greeted and shown around. We went to the lovely lounge, where we did indeed appreciate the baroque music while we drank our wine and couldn'd help exploring the bookcases. There we found the greatest coincidence of the entire trip when my husband picked out a book and immediately found his uncle - killed at Passchendael - with a chapter to himself in this book. Incredible!
The bedrooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean and morning breakfast in the lovely lounge was a real feast. Of course, we were walking distance to the Menin Gate and easy distance of Tyne Cot and the other WW1 sites. Had we had time, we would have spend far more time looking at Ypres itself - next time!

  • Liked — personal contact with owner
  • Disliked — No tea making facilities though we didn't ask as we had our own
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We have stayed at the Albion Hotel countless times. Its welcome, comfort, ambience, price and breakfast are second to none. It is ideally located close to the Menin Gate and Market Place and a mere hour maximum from the Channel Tunnel. We will continue to visit Ypres and continue to use the Albion Hotel

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

I was the Tour guide on a Battlefield Tour to The Western Front and my party of 28 stayed at The Albion hotel for the night of Monday 24 September 2007. We planned to cover aspects of the three Battles of Ypres in WW 1. It was a good base enabling us to walk to and from the Menin Gate ceremony and to go to key areas of the Ypres Salient.

The hotel was excellent with very comfortable rooms and a good service. It is unfortunate that the hotel does not do dinner but the breakfast was of a very high standard giving us all a good start to a very busy second day which ended up on the Somme and staying Arras.

Christiane, the Hotel Manager, was most helpful,friendly and a good hostess throughout - from booking to overseeing all our needs. Her staff were friendly and helpful and the packed lunch provided for our second day of the tour was outstanding - one of the best of that sort of lunch I personally have ever had.

I would not hesitate to take a party to The Albion again nor to go there privately with my wife. The hotel set a high standard for the next two nights..........which were not met in Arras.

Brigadier Johnny Walker
formerly of The Duke of Wellington's Regiment, British Army

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

We only stayed for one night., but it was refreshing to stay in a privately run family (non chain) Hotel with a quiet and peaceful ambiance. The staff was lovely, very friendly and helpful. We got a great Restaurant Bar recommendation, where we got a great meal.

Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean with a bathroom that was positively palatial.

Breakfast was plentiful, but I thought slightly dull. As I usually enjoy the continental buffet breakfast.

The only slight negative for us, was that the bar closed at 11.00pm. This is indicated on the infomation, but seems a tad early.

  • Liked — The personal service by the owner
  • Disliked — The bar closing at 11.00pm
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

The Albion Hotel is a real treasure in Ypres. It is conveniently located and easily accessible to the heart of the town. Free parking was available. We were given a spacious, clean, comfortable room with a very spacious bathroom with all modern conveniences. While there was no air conditioning, a fan was provided in the room.
The lounge is very well appointed and a comfortable venue for a late evening drink. The continental breakfast served in the lounge was extensive, fresh and delicious.
Staff were friendly, helpful and gracious.
We were delighted with our experience at this hotel and would highly recommend it.
Debbie & Mike
Milton, ON Canada

  • Liked — Value for money paid
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Our purpose was to visit the Menin Gate and see our Grandfathers name inscribed on the wall. Reached the Albion late on the Friday night tired and hungry. We were greeted warmly by Christiane who booked us in and offered us the information we needed to fullfill our intentions. Despite the late hour she even booked us a table in a nearby Restaurant, which was fabulous.
The Hotel rooms were very clean and mine in particular, spacious.
Breakfast was a real continental feast. The Hotel and Staff are a credit to the industry.
We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: St.-Jacobsstreet 28, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.