We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ariane to your Saves list
Hotel Ariane
Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) B-8900 , Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hotel ranks among the best I have stayed in. Welcome was warm. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfasts were varied, fresh and delicious. Staff were very good and helpful. Location was good for the town - 10 mins stroll to the Menin Gate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    145
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
154
295
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now and each time we have a very comfortable stay.we use the hotel as a base and also use the Flanders Battlefield Tour company it is also a short walk
to the Cloth hall and the Menin Gate. We hope to come back in 4 years

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

this hotel is a great base food great rooms comfortable and clean . I really can recommend this hotel and such a emotive place to visit too....very easy to get the western front from this hotel..........

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Europe and this is up there at the top, very friendly staff and is family run, they go out of there way to help you , good size rooms and very clean everything you need as well as a safe, Ideal parking outside and everything is in walking distance, great breakfast , good choice for dinner and a nice bar, please give it a visit your love it like we did.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Clean, modern, helpful staff and central base to visit all we needed to over our weeks break.
Highly recommended.
The hotel was easily within walking distance to the menin gate, it also offered a beautiful garden and drinks patio which was used regular to taste the Belgium beers!
Bathroom was extremely clean with walk in shower (no bath) and food during our stay was excellent.
Check in and out was extremely smooth with welcoming drinks upon arrival.
Hotel was maybe a little expensive but ultimately in life you get what you pay for.
Ideal hotel to use whist we were on our battlefields trip and would recommend anyone to book hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Have stayed a number of times over the years whilst visiting the Western Front, always made to feel very welcome. Staff are lovely and many have been there for years, rooms are very nice, food is good and bar area nice to relax in, car parking and a ten minute walk to the square and the Menin Gate. Car parking is difficult during the afternoon as the locals all pop in for afternoon tea ! Ypres is also a nice little town to spend a few days and quite close to Calais.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the back, as the road and carpark in front are cobbled !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent the first week of August at the Ariane. I have stayed an two different hotels in Ieper which, although nice, absolutely cannot compare with this hotel. The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful, the rooms were spacious and comfy, and the dining a delicious experience. It's a pleasant short walk to the Menin Gate and the Cloth Hall. The hotel is full of pictures and displays honoring veterans of the Great War -- all are done tastefully, reflecting respect and appropriate remembrance. The Ariane is without doubt our home in Ieper!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) B-8900 , Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in a historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautifull town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and an immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truely has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.