We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellewaerde

Bellewaerde
Meenseweg 497, Ieper (Ypres) 8902, Belgium
+32 57 46 86 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 Attractions in Ieper (Ypres)
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy the fun together! Bellewaerde is a great day out for the whole family, full of fun, adventure, and spectacular discoveries in an awesome natural setting. You won't find such sublime family attractions anywhere else - you'll be roaring with pleasure. And Bellewaerde is even more than this: you'll meet hundreds of animals at close range in an authentic environment. Ready for a day that you'll never forget? Welcome to Bellewaerde!
Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is out 2nd visit. If in Belgium this is a must. We got our tickets on line before we left. So no queing to enter. Plenty for all ages. Animals, Rides and even a 4d cinema. We had 2 kids with us, a 14 year old and a 19 year old. Even though it was busy it was not crowded. No long queues for any of the rides. The new ride Hurrican was the only ride they really had to wait for. The train through the lion and tiger enclosure was differant. Drinks a bit expensive, if able buy the ones that can be refilled, Slush puppies are refilled at a smaller charge, coffee is refilled free if recipet is kept. Animals are well looked after. It is kept clean and tidy. Rides are well maintained. All staff looked happy in their work. We spent all day here not just the normal 3 -4 hours that kids normally spend. Well worth the money. Happy tired kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    87
    20
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“huge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow, the park was so big we didn't manage to get round the whole thing but what a superb day out. So much for all age groups, rider for all ages, animals to see and lots of cafes and shops. Queues for rides quite long but to be fair we went in august during holiday. Would love to go back if we get the chance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great day out and spotlessly clean !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

visited on a boiling hot day with a party of families (kids 3-7) and had a blast. The whole park is very family friendly, the zoo delightful and everywhere was spotless. Makes some of the UK attractions look positively shabby.
Recommended

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My first visit to a theme park and I wasn't disappointed! From a 54 year old's perspective, I was born too soon..... The entry fee seemed expensive, but when you compare the cost of an individual ride at a show ground, it works out not bad at all. We went on a Monday and despite the fact the car park looked busy, the park itself is so big that there were minimal queues and lots of open grassed areas to sit around (weather was glorious, which helped). Lots to see and do besides the rides - lions, tigers, elephants, zebras, giraffes etc and a free show. The gardens throughout the park were spectacular - would love to go back again to see their marvellous floral displays. Fun for all the family and well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfect for my 7 year old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My son went to Bellewaerde with his class on a field trip and got a buy 2, get one free coupon and could not stop talking about going back. So, we headed up there one Friday morning in July. Figured it would be less crowded. Weather was perfect, mid-80s, sunny, hot, clear.

Arrived at 0950 just before they opened. Uh oh, huge crowd at the gate! But parking was easy (paid about 5eur or so), and the crowd flowed in pretty fast and then just disappeared into the park. Plenty of room for everyone, turned out to be just enough people to make it interesting but not too many that the lines were bad.

We went on most of the rides. They have an excellent map and height system; red for too short (usually under 120 or 100cm), yellow for ride with adult, green for OK. Almost all the rides are OK for 120cm. This info is well displayed on their website if you have concerns.

Park is laid out into several zones, with rides, food, souvenirs in each. Probably takes 10-15 minutes to walk from one end to the other.

Animals are in good sized enclosures and look well cared for. Kind of like a zoo overlaid onto an amusement park. The tiger-lion train ride is pretty cool! Also don't miss the tucked-away safari trucks that extend into the enclosure, you can get some good pictures from there.

Since it was a rare hot sunny Belgium day, we really enjoyed the water rides. We got absolutely soaked on the big Niagara log ride - the ride is pretty great with a huge splash at the end, and even more fun is standing on the bridge over the splash site. There's an open part where crazy young people stand and get hammered with 1,000 gallons of water from the splash, which is fun to watch. And a glass barrier you can stand behind and watch the 1,000 gallons hit right in front of your face. We spent a good half hour there!

The inner tube water slide is also lots of fun. Watched it for a while, people seemed to be getting just a little wet. Somehow we got MORE wet than the Niagara. The log plume in Westernland is the least wetting ride, but still you catch some.

I'd guess on a typical Belgian day (cold, cloudy, and damp) you could ride these all day with no line.

Was also fun to watch everyone after the ride with soaking wet shirts and shorts! Probably a good idea to take them off first and leave at the station.

Note - good bag system - most folks had a backpack and just tossed it to the side at the start of all the rides, each ride seems to have a place for this, and everyone is pretty cool about it.

Little kids area has a GIANT climbing playground, and a dozen pretty good little-guy rides, too. My 7 year old still enjoyed that, looked great for the 3 to 8 yr set, you could spend your whole day there.

Overall, a great day! My son was exhausted and ecstatic. I discovered I'm getting too old for spinning rides. But I'd go back.

Probably worth checking out the season pass package; if I understand it well, for about the price of 2-3 visits you can get a season pass. If I lived a bit closer I'd think hard about that; great place to spend a sunny summer day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellewaerde also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
De Panne, West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bellewaerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellewaerde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.