We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top quality S***hole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Industrielaan 19, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOW RATE GUARANTEED
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A top quality S***hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived at the "Best Western", we were hit by an extremely putrid smell that had come from their skip-bin. This bin was only just the beginning.

It's always a good sign when you HAVE TO PAY FOR A TV REMOTE! The room orientation was all over the place and it was impossible to find exactly where the rooms were. In our room, there was urine stains in the bed sheets, uncleaned toilets, excretion stains ON THE WALL and no space to put our bags!

When we went Down to dinner, the first course was revolting, and very difficult to swallow. Before the main course, my friends and I were having a lovely time laughing and enjoying ourselves. During this, a waitress came to bring out our food and I accidentally bumped the plate and I lifted my shoulder when I laughed. Even after I apologised, she literally threw a plates onto the table and walked off. WHAT THE F***!!

Without a doubt, this is the CHEAPEST hotel in Ypres, second only to the local PRISON!! I will never be staying here or recommending this hotel to ANYONE!

If you like terrible food, terrible service, terrible rooms and a terrible stay and enjoy ruining your holiday, The Best Western Flanders Lodge is the place for you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    39
    12
    19
See reviews for
21
35
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We where a group of 10 and used the Best Western Flanders Lodge as our base for a 5 day Battlefield tour of Ypres, Vimy Ridge, Azincourt and Waterloo.

We booked the hotel about 6 months ago and I called the Hotel a few days before we where due to arrive to let them know that we would be arriving late. when we did arrive it was about 22:00hrs and we where met by a member of staff who was very helpful. However, he did tell us that the rooms that we had been given where doubles, even though we had booked twin rooms, he soon sorted it out and we where given 5 twin rooms. (Rooms 2,4,6,8, and 10)

We all found the rooms good, comfortable and very clean, the showers was very good along with very comfortable beds. Not easy to please 10 serving and ex-servicemen. The Bar was good and friendly and Marc the Barman was very helpful, it was a nice place to end the day with a cold beer and good banter with other guests.

Breakfast was a mix of continental and British style (I think this is due to the amount of guests that are British that stay here. your room number is placed on the breakfast table so when you walk in look for your table number and don't sit at another table unless you want to feel the Roth of the staff.

They do food in the hotel during the evening and there is a Restaurant within the hotel and has a good choice of food, you can also eat in the bar, there is a small bar menu, we ate in Ypres on an evening and there are a large amount of bars and restaurants to choose from, but do have a look around before you pick the one you want. some reviewers on here say its about a 20 min walk to and from the centre of Ypres, well it could be if you take your time... we found it only took us around 10 mins. yes there is only 1 taxi owner in Ypres but there are others from outside of the area and will cost. but if you are happy to wait for that 1 Ypres taxi... then it will only cost around 10 euros and the taxi takes 6 people.

Over all we found the Best Western Flanders Lodge a great hotel, the staff where very friendly and most helpful, you will see some reviews on here that give the hotel a bad review, well all I can say take them with a pinch of salt...... you can not please every one.... we had a great stay and would defo use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. I agree that it is a walk to the centre of Ypres but the hotel is very convenient for tour of battlefield sights.

Rooms confortable but dark - had a major problem getting into the room with card, even after having the card re-programmed at reception. I also had a problem with a member of the catering staff.

The hotel staff were largely pleasant and helpful, especially the female receptionist but the female waitress in the dining room needs an urgent course in customer relations, in fact she needs to learn the very basic skills of respectful communication.

Unfortunately I, unknowingly, sat at the wrong table for breakfast on the last morning and suffered verbal abuse and total humilation by this staff member in front of approx. 40 other dining room occupants, some of them travelling companions. She did not make a quiet request to move but screamed and shouted so that everyone in the dining room stopped and stared. The tirade of abuse only ended when I left my seat, my breakfast and the dining room.
I did make a complaint at reception and the young receptionist was very sympathetic but was unable to locate the Manager to deal with the problem. I left the hotel feeling very upset and would not feel comfortable returning to this hotel as long as this waitress is employed there.

Room Tip: Stay away from the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A convenient stay for visiting the WW1 sites, but it's a walk to the centre of Ypres. The staff are very helpful and can speak english :). The breakfast offers a cooked, a selection of cheeses, meats and pastries, though the coffee is from a machine. Dinner was very good with an interesting menu. A good friendly bar too :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to break our journey returning to UK from Austria. Very helpful receptionist. Rooms were very clean and thereis tea and coffee making facilities but they are different very lodgelike with wooden panelling and very sloping ceiling. The panelling is very dark wood and so makes rooms a bit dark. The beds were very large and very comfortable. Large ensuite bathroom with bath and over shower. Plenty of light in there.
The breakfast was all self service with a great variety of choice. We ate in the hotel the second night not wanting to treck back into Ypres centre twice in one day - the food was excellent though service a little slow. Very nice bar area for pre dinner beers.
The location of Flanders Lodge is excellent if you are just stopping enroute and don't want to go into Ypres centre. It is a good 30 minute walk into the centre with the first 15mins on a road with no footpath, just grass verges. There is however a bus number 95 which stops outside hotel and right in the centre of Ypres and it runs every half hour and only costs 2 euros.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here 1st Sept and found hotel clean excellent breakfast but this hotel is a 20 minute walk to Ypres. There was only one taxi so difficult to get transport to and from hotel. The location of hotel is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.On our first night there we couldn't get anything to eat in hotel as the chef was off sick. LOL Bit of a disappointment with location as the road back to hotel is a main road and quite dangerous especially walking in dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and found it homely, friendly and well positioned for battlefield tour. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were wonderful, and really made us feel welcome. The rooms were a little dark and the hotel is undergoing structural extensions but nevertheless it did not detract from a lovely stay.
There are 3 things you need from a hotel - a clean bed, good food and friendly, helpful staff - we got all 3. So going back there very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge

Address: Industrielaan 19, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flanders Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Best Western Ypres
Ypres Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.