We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful staff & a hearty breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ieper Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ieper Centrum to your Saves list
Novotel Ieper Centrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Jacobstraat 15 | Ieper, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, very helpful staff & a hearty breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had 3 nights in this hotel as part of a 'Great Escapes' short break. We were visiting the WW1 sites & this hotel is in a prime location, next to Passchendale & a manageable drive to the Somme. In particular it is round the corner from the Menin Gate. The staff told me where the free parking was & answered any questions I had. The staff at breakfast were very courteous & the food was excellent & freshly cooked. Overall excellent value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and posting your review concerning that stay.

It is great to see that you have enjoyed it and we definitly hope to be able to welcome you again with us!

Kind regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    410
    78
    23
    7
See reviews for
215
275
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Velox
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were a group of 6 couples visiting the Salient and other tourist locations over Easter Weekend. On arrival all our registration forms and rooms were ready so a quick signature, pick up your keys and unpack. We booked some time ago and pre-paid a set rate including a very good breakfast. The key with Novotel is you know waht to expect, Ieper Novotel also provides underground parking which is essential in Ieper. Its greatest asset is the location - 200 metres from the main square with its truly magnificent architecture, Saturday market, and copious supply of good places to eat and drink after a long day walking the battlefield.
The rooms are well equipped and a very good size. A good location for Ieper, the Salient and day trips to the coast, Brugge and Ghent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and therefore hope to see you again with us in the near future!

Warm regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

VERY central hotel, spacious room, comfy bed, hot shower and good mirrors for doing your make-up! Aesthetically, not pretty (eg woodchip style wallpaper) but clean and everything worked perfectly. Mini fridge (stocked upon request) was also very useful. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive thoughts concerning your latest stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good points:

Decent sized clean rooms, with plenty of room for a family of four in a standard room.
Very central (2 min walk to main square and Menin Gate)
Free wifi at a good speed.
Cheap off-street parking around the corner at church (far cheaper than the hotel's €11 offering and only charged between 9h and 18h) - to check out the parking look on google street view at the square around the church just south of the hotel.

Downside:

Only real downside is that breakfast isn't great value at €20 per head. If you're not on an inclusive package head to the bakery between the hotel and the main square (open every day except Monday).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review concerning your recent stay at our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We would also like to give you 1 tip: When making your booking, if you are booking well in advance, you will find very beneficial rates including our full hot and cold breakfast buffet.

Thank you again for posting your review and we hope to see you again with us in the future!

Best regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during March. The hotel was clean and delivered all that was expected.
The down side was that most of the members of staff can at best be described as functional, no warmth, perhaps this is all that one can expect in this type of hotel?
Breakfast was good and plentiful but, the bar was very expensive with a gin and tonic over €9, this meant we had to go out to a bar for the evening when it would have been nice to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

We are glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay, but do find it very disappointing to read that you have found our staff just functional with no warmth. Our staff always gets 'top marks' and lots of positive remarks when it comes to this subject. So reading this is a little bit disappointing.

We do hope in the future to prove to you that our staff puts service and help with a smile first, during a next visit to our hotel.

Warm regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Novotels are Novotels and this one is no different, you know what you are going to get. My room was very quiet, spacious and warm so no complaints there. Location is the big bonus; just a hop skip and a jump from the Menin Gate, market square and Museum and only 15 mins walk from the station.
My only complaint is that this hotel works with a lot of groups so reception and public areas can be very busy and loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed it and hope to welcome you again with us in the future.

Best regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for central Ieper and has the benefit of its own car park.

The staff were pleasant and dealt with most enquiries / questions asked by the people that I saw.

The breakfast was plentiful, though why a hotel like this and others in this group still uses reconstituted eggs, I'll never know.

The rooms were of a corporate Novotel standard and were adequate for the short time I was staying there- although the rooms were very hot and so I had to open the window despite the -0 temps.

Ideal for individual visits to the town and the surrounding battlefields and also for groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts concerning your latest visit at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you again with us in the future.

Best regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ieper Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ieper Centrum

Address: Sint Jacobstraat 15 | Ieper, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#3 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#5 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Ieper Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ieper Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the heart of the city centre. The medieval Cloth Hall and its belfry, the In Flanders Fields Museum and the famous Menin Gate are within walking distance. The hotel has 122 spacious air conditioned rooms, Foodsquare bar brasserie with terrace and 7 conference rooms for all your meetings and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Ypres with your partner or family. Guests also enjoy the convenience of a private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Ieper Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ieper Centrum Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Novotel Hotel Ypres
Novotel Hotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ypres
Ypres Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ieper Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.