We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Foreign Field WW1 Tours

A Foreign Field WW1 Tours
St Godelievestraat 8, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
+32 471 66 13 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Activities in Ieper (Ypres)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique door to door Battlefield tours no minibuses full of tourists just you and me! Tour the battlefields of Flanders with a British tour guide, my Gt grandfather was a WW1 Tommy who served in the Lancashire Fusiliers his brother was in the Welch Regiment and killed in 1915 on 'The Bluff' and is listed on the Menin Gate.Originally working as an Artist creating drawings, prints & paintings with the theme of the Great War my passion has now carried me in to showing visitors the scenes of sacrifice that surround us here in Ypres.Tours includePasschendaele, Tyne Cot, Messines Ridge, The Brooding Soldier Memorial, Hooge Crater, Menin Gate, and many more sites of interest.....The shadow of the First World War still looms over our lives with a little imagination and standing on the scenes of the utmost bravery & carnage we can bring the tales of these men and women back to life.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We bumped into Soren by chance and were lucky enough to spend the day with him. We took my mother in law and her sister who both had a day to remember. Soren's knowledge of WW1 is immense and his passion for the subject really bought everything to life for us. He also gave one of his paintings. A really nice guy who goes out of his way to make sure you have a memorable tour. Thanks Soren, we will definitely be back one day....Kay & Steve, Alma & Minerva

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

we spent a day with Soren, touring the main sites of historic interest in and around Ypres. We were keen to learn more about the military and social history aspects of WW1, and this tour more than fulfilled our hopes. Soren's passion for his subject shines through. His knowledge is vast and he presents information in an accessible and continuously fascinating series of narratives. He is flexible in his approach, shows great respect at all times for his subject, and will research specific items you're interested in, and also recommend further sites of relevance to you. He went at a good pace for us - lots to see and learn, but time to stop and talk, and have a coffee as well when needed. He gave brilliant value for money and we both enjoyed the tour greatly. Soren is both tour guide and artist. As an artist his work has an authentic style and feel of the WW1 period, as well as illustrating WW1subjects as material. We bought 2 prints as a unique momento of our tour. i would certainly book another tour with Soren in the future, and would feel confident in recommending his excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Søren was brilliant, passionate tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Met Søren selling prints after the last post at Menin Gate. Great tour, great rate, extremely passionate about every aspect of WW1.
Enjoyed it thoroughly! Cheers!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had been recommended Soren by a guide who could not accommodate us. Quite simply Soren was outstanding.
Why?
Pre tour communication on what we wanted.
Sorting of route
Buying tickets in advance to maximise time
On time and ready to go.
From meeting at 9.15 to departing 8hours later was full of history, stories, anecdotes and facts.
Sorting breaks and food to maximise time.
Wanting to please and deliver.
Connection with the cemeteries and respect for those who died
Could we ask for more - NO
If you want to contact Soren for my personal reference I will give you my comments - but they are here above.

I thoroughly recommend him to you.

Peter n

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour of WW1 sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a wonderful afternoon touring the WW1 sites around Ieper with Soren last week. Soren knows his history well and is excited to share his knowledge, but what makes him really special is how thoughtful, flexible and generous he is. This was evident from the time we first communicated by email. He was always prompt in his responses and flexible with his plans. He suggested some off -the-beaten path sites for the tour and he gave us information about other things we might want to do in Ieper outside of the tour. When he learned we were staying at the Hotel Regina, he emailed me a little WW2 history on the hotel. When he learned that the American ambassador to Belgium would be at the Menin Gate the evening before our tour, he emailed us to make sure we did not miss the ceremony. We had only one day in Ieper. In the morning we visited the In Flanders Fields Museum where we saw artifacts from WW1 and watched audiovisual presentations to get some background information. After lunch we met Soren for a 4 hour tour of the WW1 sites around Ieper. He drove us from site to site in his car. He had maps to help us understand the battle lines, and he told stories about the soldiers to help us understand the personal side. The tour was everything we had hoped for. Thank you Soren for a very special day!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Foreign Field WW1 Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to A Foreign Field WW1 Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Foreign Field WW1 Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.