We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill 60

Hill 60
Zwarteleenstraat 36-40, Ieper (Ypres) B-8902, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Attractions in Ieper (Ypres)
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrific place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Wandering amongst the shell holes and pillboxes is absolutely surreal. A small study of the events which occurred around Hill 60 is highly recommended before visiting, as there is little information on site. As an earlier reviewer noted: understanding what happened here will significantly enhance your visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hill 60”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a fantastic sight and such an important of the war efforts. Wander among the pill boxes and fortifications and let your mind wonder to the amount of explosives that shaped this landscape. Dont miss it

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Stunning crater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hill 60 and the Caterpillar are a must visit site. The Caterpillar, whilst not as large as Lochnagar, is a sight to behold and slightly unnerving for being so tranquil today. Ensure to understand what happened there, before visiting; it will make the visit all the more poignant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Incredible place: I'm glad we went with a guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Hill 60 and other nearby sites in the fields of Flanders are incredible. I strongly recommend that everyone visit them (unless you are physically unable to walk on uneven terrain).

We took a guided tour with Roger at Salient Tours. I strongly recommend that you find a good guide, as we would not have understood this site but for Roger's explanations, photos, stories, etc.

I've written a separate review for Salient Tours, but I wanted to leave this review here. Whether with Salient Tours or another good tour company, find someone who can paint the full picture of what happened here. The sites themselves are too large, complex, changed over time, etc., and thus to difficult to understand without a good guide.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hill Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place seems to have been abandoned. The café was closed and people were left to wander around with very little information. However it is easy to see the horror of the war here with shell craters everywhere. could have done with a little area with a guide brochure as some of it is on private land. I preferred Hill 62 where the display is great and you can clearly imagine the difficulty with which the Soldiers had to cope

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill 60 also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hill 60? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill 60, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.