We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not all that much to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill 60

Hill 60
Zwarteleenstraat 36-40, Ieper (Ypres) B-8902, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Attractions in Ieper (Ypres)
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“not all that much to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A small museum with old battlefield finds with original trenches beyond the shop/museum area.
Unfortunately the whole shop area stank of cat urine
10 Euro each to visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Walking in great grandads footsteps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Hill 60 after having found out whilst doing the family history that his great grandad had been there with the 1 st Australian Tunnelling Co. As we arrived a coach full of Australians left and we had the hill to ourselves, we stood on top of the hill and imagined how it would have been to risk your life tunnelling below it almost 100 yrs ago. A very enigmatic thought provoking place which left me even prouder of our soldiers than I had been when arriving. We only had a short amount of time there and unfortunately the museum was closed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UHants UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hill 60, not Hill 62!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Reading the reviews it seems that some are either not aware that there is a difference between these two numbered 'Hills' or maybe tripadvser just lump them together! Hill 62 - Sanctuary Wood, with it's museum and 'trenches' is privately owned, whereas Hill 60 is owned and maintained by the CWGC and therefore as a War Grave there is no admission charge. There is little information at the site itself but with the aid of the Internet (or a good guide) it is not difficult to obtain details of the events that happened here. It is worth noting that five VC's were earned here, four on the same night. One by George Ruppell, a slight, modest man that I knew as a teenager. This 'Hill', which in fact is just a pile of dirt produced from building the railway in the 19th Century, was not only fought over in WW1 but also was the site of fierce fighting in the early days of WW2. It was due to the German Army being delayed here that many soldiers made it to Dunkirk and got away to continue the war against Hitler's Germany. During WW2 the bodies of two Resistance fighters were dumped by the side of the railway line after being murdered by the Gestapo. All this on a hill originally known locally as 'Lover's Knoll'!
One person has complained of noisy children playing on the Hill. I agree that at formal CWGC sites such as Tyne Cott this must be the case, however as I watch my Son and Son-in-Law exhibit the almost universal soldier's love of children, I don't think that the Lads - of whatever nationality - 'Sleeping Down Below' would object to the sound of children freely at play, it was in part what they fought and died for - if you will never get to hear your own children laughing, perhaps hearing someone else's is the next best thing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Impressive Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The crater is impressive. It gives one a small inkling of the impact of war. Don't miss both sides of the site which are divided by a railway.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incrediable Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had read about Hill 60 before we left Australia, to visit and understand the sacrifices on many and the sheer determination involved by all is worth remember. A special thankyou to Flander Battlefield Operator Jacques for his sensitivity and knowledge in interpreting the site and its past.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill 60 also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hill 60? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill 60, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.