We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Ruyffelaer

De Ruyffelaer
(Gustave) De Stuersstraat 11, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
+32 57 36 60 06
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Local hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not a huge menu, but real local fare, produced and served like somebody cared. I've eaten at this restaurant for two nights, excellent quality, served by the owner, nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely wants you to enjoy your meal. It's different not the run of the mill restaurant and what a relief, not a chip in sight.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    39
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, friendly staff and comfortable surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went here to eat after the Menin Gate ceremony so it needed to be good! The surroundings are very comfortable. Although not very large it was crammed full of with interesting things and seemed to be popular with locals. The host was very kind and took the time to chat with us although he was clearly busy. We both had the wild menu which consisted of wild boar pate, venison casserole and nougatine ice cream. All was beautifully cooked and presented and even the side salad was a fantastic mix of ingredients and I will try that again. Definitely a restaurant to visit again but may need to book as I think we were lucky to get a table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A warm hearty meal on a cold night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had just attended the last post at Menin Gate and returned to the restaurant which we had booked earlier in the day. The restaurant has great character thanks to to the antiques and bric-a-brac which decorated it. The host was a lovely gentle man who provided good service. The food was true Flemish country food with the best mashed potato we have ever tasted. Nice wine and beers to accompany the meal. A great experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Flemish atmoshere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Only 2 mins walk from our excellent B& b ( Cocoon), sadly only open Fri , Sat & Sun. We went after the Last Post, and at this time of year the restaurant was very quiet. Very cosy establishment, good food & service at reasonable prces. I had a rabbit dish & my husband had pig's chheks. Both delicious, good presentation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great welcome and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here, experiencing true local cuisine. Portions are large and beautifully presented. We were just sorry that they were closed on Monday evening or we would have returned, no question. The welcome we received was especially noticed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Ruyffelaer also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Ruyffelaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Ruyffelaer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.