We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Markt 22

Markt 22
Grote Markt 22, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
057.20.99.97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 81 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went here after listening to the Last Post on a Monday night - one advantage this place has over many others is that it is actually open on a Monday - to find some very nice food. We both enjoyed our meal, but the restaurant closes earlier than we expected (9:30), so we did not have time for dessert. I should point out that they did give us the option of having coffee or dessert, but given the restaurant had emptied, we felt we should be leaving. Oh the whole, a nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ate here on the Saturday of our stay really nice, good food , nice people. It is nicely situated on the main square would be lovely to sit out when weather gets better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My hotel recommended it - accurately - as affordable chic.

A great, affordable meal - with helpful, friendly staff.

It's located right on the central Grote Market in Iper. It has inside, outside covered and outside uncovered areas and (to an old marketer) is a very interesting - and obviously successful - combination of cafe, bistro, restaurant and bar...superbly designed in blue, grey and black. Evidently abput half their custom is local, the other half is visitors like myself. I was so impressed I almost asked if they would franchaise their model in Sydney!!!!

More expensive than the (more tourist-oriented) places next door - but they have a better selection of food and a better ambience.

Highly recommended (and thanks to Hotel Ambroisa for the suggestion to dine there).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Markt 22 is a small restaurant with a friendly, attentive staff ... and excellent food! The Flemish beef stew is thick and plentiful and comes with a delightful salad. We also had Glühwein (mulled wine) and it was a perfect way to warm up on a cold night. The cozy decor adds to the ambiance and ... make sure you ask for Bobby! He's a regular at Markt 22 and a very friendly, well-mannered Cocker Spaniel. We wanted to eat before the Last Post at the Menin Gate and this was perfect. I would suggest reservations during the tourist season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent place all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent food, atmosphere and staff.....this is the place to go to have a great night.

The food was perfect and the waiters were top notch. Def be going back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markt 22 also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Markt 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markt 22, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.