We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battlefields tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salient Tours

Salient Tours
Menenstraat 5, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
0032 057 214 657
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 activities in Ieper (Ypres)
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We can be found in the British Grenadier Bookshop on the Menenstraat which is the short road between the main square and the Menin Gate Memorial.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Battlefields tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Did the morning tour, lasted four hours. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Went to a number of sites including Essex Farm cemetery and Tyne Cot. 38 euros per person was just a little steep i felt.That aside was very glad we took the tour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a tale of 2 half's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I went on both north and south tours with Ypres Salient tour operator. The morning tour was with a local guide call Karl (I think) who was first rate, his knowledge was outstanding and delivery faultless. He gave a continuous commentry on everything we saw and didn’t see even between stops The afternoon tour was with the Canadian owner Steve who gave us the impression he didn’t want to be their. His knowledge was fine but delivery was boring. We only exited the mini bus 3 times and most of the journey was in silence, the afternoon tour wasn’t worth 60 Euro’s We where so disappointed as the morning tour was so good and we had rushed our visit to Hoodge creator to attend the tour

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCanadian2001, Owner at Salient Tours, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for your review. However, I think it is unwarranted. Firstly, each guide has his or her own way of doing a tour. Some talk continuously and some don't. I do not feel it is my job to 'entertain' you but to inform you of what happened here and give you some perspective on those events based on my years of research on the subject of WW1. This I did. Secondly, you got out of the van three times because there are three main locations visited on this tour which is only 2.5hrs.There was a brief fourth stop where you had the opportunity to get out of the van, at the Christmas truce football field, but you chose not to. The first stop you were out of the van for at least 45 minutes (Caterpillar crater), the second stop for about 40 minutes (German trenches) and the third location, the church at Messines, for about 15-20 minutes. Add in driving time to that and there is a full afternoon's tour. As for your comment about me not wanting to be there. Not true. I very much enjoy taking people around the battlefields and the afternoon tour is my favourite tour to do since it is so full of mostly unknown aspects of the war and strange little facts about some of history's most famous people. Many people know many things about the war, but this tour covers things that most people know nothing about and I enjoy being able to tell them these things. I am sorry you somehow got the wrong end of the stick on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A truly moving experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We did the four hour morning tour with our guide, a local man named Carl. He had a wealth of knowledge on the subject, and we found it incredibly moving and harrowing in equal measure. The sheer scale of loss is emphasised at the cemetery Tyne Cot, beautifully and respectfully maintained by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, and the monumental wall that lists the soldiers who were lost but not buried, yet were too many in number to fit on the Menin Gate. That in itself contains the names of some 54,000 soldiers lost but not buried. Simply staggering. We also got to see a farm where relics from the war are still being uncovered 90 plus years later. We got to see a German cemetery, and the contrast was quite shocking. One communal grave contained the remains of 24,000 soldiers. We learnt an awful lot in the four hours of the tour, and it has whetted our appetite to know more. I would urge anyone who is travelling to Ypres to book a tour with this company. They know the places to go, the human stories behind the facts, and it is vital to have that expertise as a lone trip would really only scratch the surface. Thank you Carl for a day we will remember for a long time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Salient Tours, which jumps-off from the Grenadier Bookshop right up the road from Menin Gate (which is a great place to visit by itself), was fabulous. Bob, our tour guide, had an encyclopedic knowledge of WW1, the battles, tactics, men who fought and obviously the sites. Bob did just a great job taking us through the various sites and their significant in the Standard Tour (4 hours); his commentary and observations were fascinating. He definitely enjoys what he does and has a reverence for the men who fought and died in Flanders. Thanks Bob.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We braved the inclement weather to go on this tour with our guide, Roger. He was very knowledgeable and answered many questions from the group. He also had pictures and maps which helped us to envisage some of the terrible events of the war. We visited several locations, including the huge Tyne Cot Cemetery as well as the very interesting and little-known German Langemark cemetery dating to before World War II. We were also able to see some of the unexploded shells, weapons and other artefacts which are still being found in the Flanders soil today. Our interest in the area was just general, but you can ask the guides to tailor your tour if you wish. They will also try to find the exact locations of relatives' graves if you want to visit them specifically.

The transport for the tour itself was very comfortable and it was good to be able to go out into the Flanders countryside to see where it all happened. All in all an interesting experience and recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salient Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Been to Salient Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salient Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salient Tours to your Saves list