We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontline Tours

Frontline Tours
Grote Markt 1, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
0032474367608
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to join us in the comfort of our air-conditioned Mercedes minibus, for an interesting, informative and unforgettable journey through Flanders Fields and its amazing history.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked for the 2 hour tour with Lionel in the mini bus with 6 other people we didn't know. Lionel gave the group the option of where we could visit and the group democratically chose to visit the trenches from WW1 and a smaller graveyard.

Lionel is a real character and brought the whole experience to life with his stories and pictures. It was very moving and I learned such a lot that I had not known. Had the day not been so hot we would have stayed on the bus for another 2 hours, an option given to everyone.

The trenches were fascinating,you got a real feel of how it must have been for the young men; the absolute horrors of the war.

Highly recommended, not to be missed tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“bringing history to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited Ieper (Ypres) last week for the day. Unplanned we decided to take a 2 hour tour with Frontline and Lionel. this was the best move of the holiday. Took us to Essex Farm and Tyne Cot and brought the whole experience to life. He is a real storyteller and draws you in to the real horrors of the First World War. The 2 hours flew by and we would have stayed on for more if we hadn't been short on time. If you want to get the most out of you day dont' hesitate to join the tour for a memorable afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lionel is a man who knows his subject and displays that knowledge with great passion and feeling.The two hours we spent with him opened my eyes to aspects of the battlefields and war graves around Ypres. I completely recommend Lionel as an expert guide for those interested in this area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks Lionel for a very informative 2 hour tour. Friendly, relaxed and wish we could have done more. Would recommend :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lionel, the guide, is a real storyteller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This guided tour (2, 4 or 8 hours) is what made our trip to Ypres superbe!!! A must do!!! Lionel the guide (Dutch & English, French I don't know). He has a lot of historical knowledge, a lot of passion but most of all he can bring it with stories. My daughter of 9 was completely captured, she dit not move or speak during 2 hours and thought he could have continued even a little bit longer!!! He adapts the tour to your profile and interests.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontline Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Frontline Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontline Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.